Jalapeño cornbread

cornbread

THE PASTRY WORKSHOP is off and running, as they say. It debuted Monday with jalapeño cornbread, something I first enjoyed in Texas in the late 1990s at a popular gumbo restaurant just behind the Houston House Apartments where I lived a miserable year after my second wife tossed me into the street.

But let’s not wander down the sad alley.

While in Houston 10 years ago, en route to Atlanta, my Mexican bride and I lunched at the gumbo joint, the name of which escapes me, and the gumbo was accompanied by yummy* jalapeño cornbread. A Georgia Cracker by birth, I’ve eaten lots of cornbread in many guises, but never before with jalapeños, a Mexican twist.

When we returned to our mountaintop Hacienda, my wife began making jalapeño cornbread, and we have it every night to accompany the big salads I prepare to eat upstairs in the recliners while we watch Netflix.

The proper flour is not common here, but we find it in the state capital in a natural food store.

Unlike all her other tasty goods, she does not make jalapeño cornbread to sell. It’s just for us, and a friend who lives down the road gets some on occasion too.

Now and then I make gumbo which is a stupendous addition to jalapeño cornbread, or perhaps it’s the other way around. No matter. It’s a great way to live, and I pray it continues for a long, long time.

* * * *

* Some years ago I was criticized for using the word yummy. But here it is again. Do forgive.

32 thoughts on “Jalapeño cornbread”

  1. Luby’s Cafeteria, which you may remember from your days in Houston, always offers jalapeno cornbread. Hubs usually gets that with his meal. I am not much of a bread person. Today we’ll acknowledge martes gordo by going to Bourbon Street Seafood restaurant in SAT for hard-to-find-in-restaurants-locally shrimp creole. Hope it’s up to expectations.

    Like

    1. Carole: I’m a big fan (or was) of Luby’s, but for the catfish more than anything. If they have (or had) jalapeno cornbread in the 1990s, I have forgotten it.

      Good luck with the shrimp creole. Boy, would I love some shrimp creole, yet another thing you won’t find anywhere near my Hacienda. Plenty of tacos, however. Never a shortage of tacos.

      Like

      1. Can recommend! Bread pudding with bourbon sauce for dessert (we split one) and that means almost certain death for the rest of today 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Does your young wife share her cornbread recipe??😀. I enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and opinions with us.

    Like

    1. Jeanette: She’s not here at the moment, so I cannot ask her, but she got it off the first bag of yellow corn flour she brought back from Texas. I will, as they say, get back to you.

      And thanks for the nice words. Feel free to return.

      Like

    2. 1 cup of corn meal.
      1 cup of regular flour.
      2 to 4 tablespoons of sugar.
      4 teaspoons of baking powder.
      1/2 teaspoon salt.
      1 cup of milk.
      1 egg.
      1/4 cup of oil.
      Lots of chopped, canned chile jalapeño.
      1 teaspoon of chili powder.
      1 small can of corn kernels.
      ——-
      Preheat oven to 390 degrees F. (200 c.) Sift the dry ingredients. Mix other ingredients in a bowl (oil, egg, milk). Add the dry ingredients to the mixture of wet stuff. Toss in the jalapeños and corn and mix a bit. Put the mixture into 12 greased muffin molds. Bake from 12 to 18 minutes. Test with toothpick. Usually 12 minutes is enough.

      Like

      1. Yum! I make a similar recipe, except I add a cup of shredded cheddar cheese. In a hotel in Austin right now. Can’t wait to get back to Mexico. I feel more and more as if the USA is a foreign country to me and Mexico is my home.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I think you are right. I feel like a foreigner here. Popular culture in the USA is more shallow, more coarse and crude than I remember. Regular sitcoms are vulgar — no one with children or grandchildren should have a TV connected to cable. The one bright spot is Austin’s Half Price Book store, where I can pick up all the history and Spanish language books that no one else wants to read.

            Like

            1. Bonnie: Half Price Books was one of my favorite destinations in Texas, but now that I have fully converted to Kindle, which is more convenient, I don’t need the bookstore anymore. But it was fun.

              Not having entered the U.S. for six years, I can only wonder how it would seem to me now. Not likely to find out anytime soon. Perhaps never.

              Like

            2. Bonnie: Interesting that you used the word “vulgar,” which is pretty much considered passé nowadays, old-fashioned and fuddy-duddy. I do not consider it so. Vulgarity does reign. Vulgarity appeals most to the young, and I think the American culture has become quite youth-oriented. Adolescent is a better description. Childish even.

              Like

      2. How small is a “small” can of corn? I use a standard sized can, such as the golden corn kernels sold at Costco.

        A jalapeño cornbread trick I learned while working in a Piccadilly Cafeteria long ago was to add some of the jalapeño picking liquid to the batter.

        Saludos, Don Cuevas

        Like

  3. This space looks wonderful!
    A popular PBS show NOB is The Great British Bakeoff.
    It’s a competition, but the participants are actually friends, respectful, and help one another. The judges offer constructive and kind comments, not the typical competition show. In Chicago it’s on Sunday evenings and they’ve secured the show for next season. Perhaps your wife would enjoy it.
    Love her new space.
    Perry

    Like

    1. Perry: Thanks for the show suggestion, but unless it’s on Netflix or our basic cable system, and it isn’t, she cannot watch it. Amazing that there is a show of that sort in which everybody is not snarling at each other and throwing pots and pans. Imagine that.

      Yep, the new space is downright snazzy.

      Like

  4. Happy FAT TUESDAY, Felipe!!! The jalepeno cornbread sounds wonderful.

    I just returned from eight days in Mexico. It brought back many memories!

    Like

    1. Mike: I hope the eight days were all positive. I recall when you first moved to Mexico, some things struck you less than favorably, and with reason. As for Fat Tuesday, I can hear the locos out on the streets right now. And music. Lots of music.

      Like

  5. All this great cooking, man, are you getting a little porky? You’ve always cut a dashing profile. Hope you still do, Senor Guapo!

    Like

    1. Mark: I remain as svelte, dashing and guapo as ever. Exactly why is a mystery. Well, maybe not. There are the elements of a steel will and an iron determination. Actually, I weigh what I weighed when I was 21.

      Still awaiting your next visit. Feel free to bring company … as long as the company does not have fur, of course. Or cigarettes. Or underage.

      Like

  6. We too love jalapeño cornbread, although I cheat and use a small can of a spicy salsa that we like, but then I also put whole corn in mine.

    Now just don’t start saying stuff is uber yummy, unless you get to try my jalapeño cornbread, then you most certainly may!

    Like

Comments are closed.