Changing world

lovely
Child bride sits on love seat, a good place for her.

IMAGINE MY GLEE on seeing our high mountain lake through the window of the second-class (or was it third?) bus we took from the state capital to the Hacienda, the final leg of our return trip from Mexico City, on Friday.

I’m not a fan of Mexico City, but we must go there at least twice a year to air out and tidy up our tiny condo.

Things are changing. First off, we made some significant progress in wresting the deed from a government agency, and it appears now that all depends on a deed lawyer, who’s in private practice and, perhaps, a bit more efficient than the aforementioned government agency.

And our next-door neighbors, there on the fourth floor, appear quite interested in buying the place once we get the proper paperwork in hand. Perhaps in another year. I pray so.

If you want to get your bid in, the price is 500,000 pesos, fully furnished. That’s about $35,000 U.S. at the moment. Property tax is about 40 bucks a year. Staggering.

sink

Our world there is changing, but before I dive into that, here’s a photo of the condo’s sink area, which sits not inside, but outside, the little space that encloses the shower and john. That’s me snapping the shot.

But now, the changes. We’ll start with the photos just below. Right beside our condo complex is this uncompleted junk of a construction. It was there when my wife purchased the condo in the mid-1990s, and it’s never been anything but an eyesore, reducing our property values.

We have no clue what it was intended to be, but it was abandoned in mid-construction God knows how long ago. When we arrived on Monday we discovered it is being renovated and will become a “cultural center,” whatever that means. A sign says there will also be yoga and exercise classes.

The eyesore will be no more. We don’t know why the building sits on concrete pillars, but we suspect it was to park tractor-trailers below. The area used to be industrial, but that’s changing rapidly, and we’re going upscale.

old
The unfinished end.
new
The almost finished other end.

And there are other changes as well. When our tenants left in 2006, and we painted and furnished the condo in January of 2007, we brought books for the bookshelves. We purchased a DVD player for renting movies at the nearby Blockbuster.

Now, the books are decorations. We read Kindles.* The DVD player is unused. Evenings we watch movies on Netflix on the Samsung Tablet via wi-fi from our neighbor’s apartment.

In 2007, there was a dinky, dingy shopping center a long walk away. Now it’s a huge, modern complex with a snazzy Walmart, cineplex, food court, banks, restaurants, you name it.

* * * *

Speaking of that cineplex, we saw a movie on Thursday afternoon. Two of the current biggies were available: Fifty Shades of Grey and American Sniper. Which to choose?

Since I can bind my wife with rope for sessions with whips, feather dusters, oils and leather straps whenever the urge strikes me, but I cannot shoot Mohammedan terrorists, their enablers and dupes,** the choice was clear. We bought tickets to American Sniper.

Kyle

Great movie. It left me teary at the end. I admire Chris Kyle immensely, though clearly he was a little off-balance. No matter. He was a superlative soldier, and my hat is off to him. We need more of his caliber.

Especially in the White House.

* * * *

* Did you know that there are Mexican versions of eBooks?

** Alas.

6 thoughts on “Changing world”

  1. Hi there,

    My first thought when I started reading this post was, “I thought they sold that place.” Now I see why you haven’t.

    Funny how some things don’t get much use. My husband has a Kindle but I still love my paperbacks. We have a DVD player but never, not once, have we used it in the 3 1/2 years we’ve lived here. We did try one time when our pastor lent Steve a DVD, but it will only work with Japanese ones.

    Still hoping I can manage a trip to Mexico next winter, after we go to Hawaii for the holidays. Guess I’d better start saving up. I love Nagoya and even the winter doesn’t bother me, except for the wind, it is vicious.

    Take care,

    Teresa

    Like

    1. Teresa: Oh, that we had sold that place, and I would never have to return to Mexico City again, but … we have not. We have made progress, however.

      I understand your love of real books. I used to have that feeling. But after you get accustomed to the incredible convenience of a Kindle, you’ll wonder why you did not switch years ago. Trust me on that.

      Like

  2. You could have had a child and gotten him through elementary school in less time than it has taken to get that pinche deed. Now, I’m sure that if you finally get it, it will be a sign of the apocalypse.

    Be careful of what you wish for. By the way, weren’t you asking $400K pesos the last time you wrote about it? If so, it seems like the place is appreciating at a decent clip. Maybe you should just hang on to it, especially with the new amenities coming into the neighborhood.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where my annual property taxes are a meaningful chunk of what you’re asking for that apartment.

    Like

    1. Kim: My wife wants to hold onto it. I do not, and being a man in Mexico, I rule! (Settle down, ladies.) But her wish to hold onto it is due to the general Mexican belief that property trumps all. Money in the bank is like fairy dust. It can vanish with a change of presidential administration. It’s a cultural thing. I would be on her side, kinda, were it not necessary to go over there a couple times a year to maintain it. I really loathe going there. Yes, I know, your reaction is 180 degrees in the other direction. I used to like it too, but I guess I’m just getting old and grumpy, plus I’ve been there A LOT, and the novelty has worn off. The horrendous traffic, however, is the same or worse. When we do sell it and use it to buy property here or maybe in the state capital, she will have property again, and she’ll feel okay about it. I know.

      We could rent it, but that’s a real dice throw with “these people.” Plus we’re a long way off, making it difficult to keep an eye out. The woman who lives directly above wants to rent it for her daughter, husband and kid. Who knows? We may go that route. Anything would be better than my having to go over there on a regular basis.

      Did I ask 400,000 pesos before? I do not recall. You may be right, but property values there are increasing at a smart pace. The area really is improving. It was mostly industrial even back in 2007 when we smarted the place up and began spending time there. Today, it’s chi-chi.

      Yes, I can imagine what you pay in property tax. I would shoot myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It would be great if the neighbors bought the place from you. I admit, I am still tempted. But I do not get to Mexico City often enough to justify the incredibly reasonable asking price.

    Like

Comments are closed.