The pink bedspread

NEIGHBORS

THE VIEW OUT the back window, the upstairs bathroom window, changes often, and it’s always interesting. I have photographed and presented the scene before, of course. Here’s today’s version, the one with the pink bedspread hanging out to dry.

We too hang our clothes on a line to dry, so in that respect we’re like the neighbors. One day perhaps we’ll buy a dryer to go along with our washer, but I doubt it. It would be a gas dryer because when we constructed the Hacienda we had the guys install a gas line for that purpose.

Let’s see. What can we talk about today? Well, it’s been raining quite a bit, which is totally out of character for March, normally a bone-dry month. Last week, it rained 72 hours nonstop if you don’t count occasional, 15-minute pauses to regroup. But now it’s blue, cool and beautiful.

We have vacationers, a Canadian threesome, through the end of the month in our downtown Casita. And the Casita’s neighbors, going uphill, also Canadians, are here for another week or so. They don’t live here, just visit a couple times a year from their sailboat where they hang out off the British Columbian coast.

I noticed this morning on a Yahoo forum that focuses on our area that other Casita neighbors, down the hill a bit, have put their place on the market for $139,000 U.S., including all furnishings, not a bad price.* If you decide to take advantage of this great opportunity, tell them that Felipe sent you. I’ll get a prize.

At first, I figured they were moving back above the Rio Bravo, but no. The owner told me they are moving to the Gringo-infested Lake Chapala area where there’s more stuff going on. Seems they lived there before and are missing it. Since I favor fewer Gringos around here, their departure is a plus, which is not to say they’re not nice people because they are. I just favor fewer Gringos as a general rule.

I don’t want my mountaintop to be like San Miguel de Allende.

But they likely will sell to other Gringos, making it a wash. Mexicans might buy the place, but due to the current exchange rate, it would set them back over 2 million pesos. I’m betting on more Gringos, which I favor in our little housing development for the sole reason that Mexicans can be very noisy.

Yes, I am sorta contradicting myself, but I don’t care.

So that’s what we’ve talked about today. It decided itself. The neighbors out back with the pink bedspread, and then we moved on to the tenants at our downtown Casita, the Canadians next door, and then the other couple selling their property. It’s nice to have neighbors and tenants. Gives one something to ramble on about.

* * * *

* We paid just under 1 million pesos for our Casita five years ago, which was about $77,000 U.S. due to the exchange rate at that time. Pretty sweet deal.

17 thoughts on “The pink bedspread”

  1. Wow, that is a heck of a deal on the casita. The nice thing about being in charge of all editorial decisions is that you can contradict yourself whenever it suits you. I like the clothes line over the dryer. Glad you’re not caving on that.

    Like

    1. Ms. Bachelorette: By heck of a deal on the casita, I imagine you’re referring to ours, not the one currently on sale. However, even the price on our neighbor’s place is good, I think, especially considering that it comes with all the nice furniture. Our casita is identical to the one on sale except for the furnishings.

      Yes, I’ve never felt much need for a clothes dryer. We try to keep utility bills at a minimum, and the clothes line works fine. For the first few years there was no roof over it, and it rains here every single day from June through October. You can imagine. Clothes hung out there for days waiting for a ray of sun. Finally, we had a plastic roof put over most of the clothes line, and that has improved things a lot.

      Like

  2. Stop disparaging Chapala! Soon, all the snowbirds will go home and the place will be even closer to paradise. I am on the beach in Barra de Navidad at the moment and this place feels like a “Six Flags Over Texas” version of a Mexican village – and after two days we have done just about everything there is to do here. I have already been to the same restaurant twice. Comala however, is wonderful – two ancient ruin sites, active volcano, museums, ex-haciendas, botaneros (where you pay for the drinks and all the tapas are free), lakes, coffee plantations. We – and one Canadian couple – were the only gringos in town. I could move to Comala.

    Like

    1. Bonnie: You are Chapala’s saving grace, but you cannot deny that it is Gringo-invested. I have been there. The infestation is serious. Same for San Miguel de Allende. I go to those places — infrequently — and feel that I need a giant can of Raid. I was in Barra de Navidad about 10 years ago, my only visit. Don’t recall much about it, so I’ll take your word. Truth is, I don’t grasp why anyone would want to live in one of those bug-bitten, heat-stricken beach areas. Of course, as you know, most of them head back over the border in the summer, a sensible move.

      I’ve never been to Comala. Maybe one day. I take your recommendation to heart.

      Like

    1. Don Cuevas: Here we face a difference of opinion. Bonnie likes it. You do not. Since I don’t imbibe the demon rum in any of its forms, I will never be able to break the tie. I do like nibbles, however.

      Like

      1. It’s been years since we were in Comala. In el DF, anyway, the botanas bars charge ridiculously high prices for the drinks, to cover the cost of the “free” nibbles.

        There is no free lunch, except maybe at a timeshare presentation.

        I prefer a good tapas bar, say, in Madrid.

        We did, however, enjoy Colima, and a waterfall to the west of it.

        DC

        Like

        1. You need to return, Don. Comala is a Magic Pueblo – since 2002. The people are friendly and welcoming. The price of our wine at the botanero was reasonable, 55pesos per glass, which is what we pay in the “fine dining” places in Chapala. We stayed at a B&B in Comala owned by a nationally certified guide. It was reasonably priced and included a full Mexican breakfast (Casa Alvarada) – about $50/night. We are going back in April for a night time tour of the volcano – apparently you can see a spectacular view of the lava at night. This village is not a gringo hang out – but it should be – because of the history and the natural beauty. We have a great tapas bar in Ajijic – Tabarka – whose owner/chef is from Spain. The botanero had a different/working class feel to it. It was like being the special guest at a Mexican family reunion.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Many years ago I fractured my spine and spent many months in suspended animation, where one step forward was a worthwhile investment but the pain reminded me that life is worth more when lived to the fullest! I can’t say I have strayed too far from that path, but although enchanted by Mexico, she hides herself in exquisite robes often obscured by the mists of time. Many of you have managed to slip through the looking glass but I am not there yet but I have fun watching your antics!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.