The shifting sun

sun

THE SUN SHIFTS with the seasons, of course, but I’d never actually noticed it doing so until I moved to Mexico.

I’m usually up before dawn, reading the news and gossip on the computer, and facing a large, second-floor window that looks out to the mountains. It’s the sort of setting that makes the seasons’ shifting sun hard to miss.

I attribute my never noticing this first-hand before to my decades of working evenings and sleeping late. By 10 a.m. or so, the sun is simply in the sky, and where it was born at dawn each day isn’t an issue.

This morning, I slept a bit later than usual, and when I walked through the living room en route to the coffeemaker in the kitchen, something I usually do in the dark, this is what I saw — sun on the staircase wall. I delayed my morning coffee long enough to get my camera for the photo. For you, I make sacrifices.

It’s late March, and we dodged the bullet. It’s a rare winter when it does not often freeze overnight in January and February, and once it even did so in early March after skipping January and February, fooling me into thinking we’d dodged a bullet that year too, but we had not. I think now that we have. Not one freeze.

¡Qué bueno!

The tenants staying in our downtown casita asked the other day which month is best for visiting here, February or March. That would be March, of course, I told them, unless you want to risk freezing your keister most nights.

But our sweetest month of all is November, and the sun arrives through a different door.

13 thoughts on “The shifting sun”

    1. Carlos: We grin and bear it with the assistance of thermal underwear and coats in the house. There is no perfect world, I fear. But after spending the first 55 years of my life sweating eight months of the year and paying mind-boggling AC bills, I’ll take this environment any day.

      The good part is that, although it often freezes overnight in January and February, it always (always!) warms up rapidly during the day to the beautiful 70s.

      Like

  1. I’m just delighted that last Tuesday, midmorning, that it stopped raining after nearly steady rains since the previous Friday afternoon.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: According to the weather station some of our local Gringos installed, it might rain tomorrow too. My wife read somewhere recently that we are going to have rain off and on this Springtime, making it atypical. Why this is happening, heaven knows. I’m okay with it because it will cool the normally stuffy Springtime afternoons and evenings.

      The collectivists will say it’s global warming. I think it’s just serendipity of the Goddess.

      Like

    1. Angeline: Thanks for noticing. Normally, at that hour, I’m upstairs with my news and gossip, and also watching the sun rise over yon mountaintop. Sometimes I walk out to the upstairs terraza for a moment to enjoy it even more. It’s good to live here.

      Like

  2. Who is in the bigger picture on the wall? And the butterfly picture? Nice composition.

    I like the eclectic blue of the photo.

    Like

    1. Andean: The blue tone is pure accident, and a good one. The large portrait is a painting on wood that we bought from an excellent artist hereabouts named Cordero. He often sells in the main plaza on Sundays. He says the woman is someone he knows. At the very bottom left is an oil painting we purchased in Havana. It’s two kids in the Cuban countryside. Can’t see it too well in this photo.

      Like

    2. Whoops, just noticed I did not answer your question about the butterfly picture. Actually, it’s not a butterfly and it’s not a picture. It’s a metal, sculpture thingy of a young, bare-butt girl with wings. A sprite, a spirit, or something of that sort. Purchased on the highway outside Tequisquiapan about five years ago.

      Like

      1. I like the sculpture. Who suggested the purchase?

        I noticed the plant by the rail, the big leaf green one, probably ’cause I have one.

        Like

  3. Yes, November is nice. It’s nice to stay in lodging accommodations that provide electric mattress pads and small propane heaters. The heater is just enough to warm the room and, because the walls are thick, we rarely need it during daylight hours.

    Like

    1. Carole: People tend to think that Springtime is the best season to visit here. Actually, it’s the worst. It’s the only time it can get uncomfortably warm, even though that depends on the building you’re in and the hour of the day, usually late afternoon to early evening. Sometimes here at the Hacienda we get chased out of upstairs due to stuffiness. It’s always cooler downstairs. Alas, both the television and the computer are upstairs.

      Like

Comments are closed.