Arch and post

house

SITTING ON THE floor of the living room this morning, camera in hand, nothing better to do at the moment, I took this shot, an angle I’d never considered before.

What inspired me was the absence of something, a vine from a hanging pot, something that had lived in that corner, dangling from a ceiling beam for over a decade, covering — due to supports — much of that brick archway in one direction and down to the carved-wood post in another.

Yesterday, weary of watering it every weekend, and often having to duck under it, I cut the whole shebang down. I wonder how long it will be before my wife notices. It’s funny how the absence of things can go unseen.

It’s much better now, a cleaner look.

About a week after we moved into the Hacienda in 2003, we invited a bunch of folks over for a housewarming fiesta. One invitee brought a friend, an architect, who was visiting from above the Rio Bravo. The architect took a look at that brick archway and said it would be very difficult to find anyone in the United States capable of constructing such a thing these days.

It was done by hand, using no power tools.

The carved wood base was hand done at a nearby village that focuses on such work. It was my wife’s idea, as was the archway separating the kitchen-dining room from the living room.

She has good ideas.*

* * * *

* The best of which was marrying me.

(Note: The potted, raggedy plant is visible in this old shot.)

17 thoughts on “Arch and post”

  1. Great angle! Funny how something like that pops out after a change. While I love plants, I’ve gone minimalist and don’t like them hanging around inside my house; they gather dust, and then there’s the watering thing. You’ll have to let us know how long it takes your wife to notice.

    Like

    1. Angeline: We started out with quite a few plants inside, but you’re right. They are a problem. We now have just one, and it’s manageable. Plants are better outdoors.

      My wife was downtown jawing with her sister late yesterday when I removed the vine, which was much more obvious than it appears in that linked photo. It will be interesting to see how long it takes her to notice.

      Like

  2. I got to see hand-built arches in the endless construction at the orphanage I used to visit in Honduras. I had the same thought as your visiting architect.

    Your house is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ray. We love it here. And we were our own architects and our own interior designers. And I never weary of bragging on the place, as anyone who’s followed along with me here for a spell already knows.

      Like

  3. I love the arches of Mexico. We have several in our place as well as two cupolas which I still look up at and marvel at how they might have been accomplished. Great pic, btw.

    Like

    1. Charles: I remember your cupolas because I’ve seen a photo of your own Hacienda. Very nice. And I like this photo here too. I’ve been thinking of buying a new camera, but then I ask myself why. What I now use is an old, small Kodak Easyshare, very low end with a measly 3X zoom. It does do 14 megapixels. And to my uneducated eye, the photos turn out very well. Cropping is important, something I do on Fotor. I’ve been reading about other cameras online, and how people get excited about this piddling detail and that piddling detail, all precious stuff that I think not one person in 1,000 actually notices or cares about if they do happen to notice.

      I believe 99 percent of it is just camera buffs talking to one another.

      Like

    1. But Carole, it is not named after me. It has no name. It’s not even in my name. The deed has my lovely wife’s name, and no one else’s. Bottom line: I am homeless, just one level above vagrancy.

      Like

      1. You’ve named it the Hacienda on a number of previous occasions! So that, to me, is the equivalent of being named for you, in absentia, upon your absence 🙂

        Like

        1. Carole: Hacienda is like saying estate. It’s not a specific name. Or like saying palace. Yes, I tend toward grandiosity when referring to my humble home. It a noun instead of a proper name.

          Like

  4. Well, it is a lovely house; I can testify to that. And I’ve gone 180° on houseplants. As a young man, I had tons of them. Now I think plants are something best kept outdoors.

    So was your wife agreeable to the removal of the plant? Or is she plotting a repotting?

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where, apparently, the winter has not killed every living thing outdoors as things like crocuses are starting to pop up.

    Like

    1. Kim: We are of one mind. When we moved in here, we put quite a few plants inside. Gradually, they have all been removed save one.They are happier outdoors, and we are happier with them outdoors. And yes, my child bride agrees that it’s better without the one mentioned here. As for your winter, I don’t see how you people put up with living in that sort of environment. Except for one miserable winter in the Air Force in Illinois, in 1962-63, I’ve never lived in snow in my life.

      Like

Comments are closed.