Kitchens, Commies, etc.

kitchen

WHEN THE pastry workshop was completed in February, we thought all was done, but it decidedly was not. There was the matter of the stove.

We had purchased what seemed to be a serviceable stove made by Whirlpool, but it was anything but serviceable. The oven would not hold a constant temperature. Finally, after numerous visits by Whirlpool “technicians,” a woeful misnomer in this case, the store where we bought it — Coppel — took it back and refunded most of the money.

Bizarrely, we learned the oven has no thermostat. How can an oven have no thermostat? Apparently, this is becoming more common, which explains the new models that have no temps on the dial, just temperature ranges, or they simply say 1, 2, 3, 4.

An oven with no thermostat is like a car with no steering wheel.

So off we went to Liverpool in the state capital, spent almost three times the cash, and two weeks later we had a lovely appliance called i/o Mabe, which is the high-end line of the popular Mabe brand. It has many bells and whistles, and my wife is happy.

The i/o Mabe has a thermostat.

* * * *

New website

I have combined and edited the three-part series from some days back called Newspaper Days, made it one website, and added it to the Bookmark list in the right-side column. FYI.

* * * *

Election approaches

On June 7, we Mexicans go to the polls, the midterms. One of the many sweet aspects to being a Mexican citizen is that I can vote, canceling out the time and trouble at least one Mexican leftist takes to mark his ballot. This is swell. I wish I could cancel out even more than one.

There are 10 official political parties in Mexico, which is both good and bad. The bad is that we risk becoming like Italy. The good is that it’s fun to have options.

I read the official websites of most of them, skipping only the Workers Party because you don’t have to be a rocket scientist to know where a party stands when its emblem is a yellow star in a Red circle and the Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI) because I am already familiar with it. The oligarchic PRI ran Mexico for about 70 years, stifling opposition.

pan-logoI am a PAN man, the National Action Party. This is the long-time conservative party, and I only deviate from it (to the PRI) in special cases. I voted for PRI’s presidential candidate, Enrique Peña Nieto, three years ago because the PAN candidate stood no chance, and I did not want the leftist PRD candidate to win.

Our political parties contain some odd birds. The Encuentro Social are evangelicals. The Humanistas are, of course, Humanists. Perhaps the strangest of all is the Green Party, which is actually an arm of the PRI. The international Green movement excommunicated our Greens some years back because our Greens supported the death penalty for kidnappers.

Our Greens have backtracked on that, now advocating life prison terms for kidnappers instead of execution. I prefer execution. Color me old Mexican Green in this detail.

The Greens will promise absolutely anything. Free schooling. Free medicine. If it sounds good, they promise it. It’s outrageous. They have chutzpah.

A relatively new party is the Morena, the brown people’s party. Morena means brown-skinned in Mexico. It is the invention of the perpetual loser, Andrés Manuel López Obrador, commonly known as AMLO. He is a demagogue who has bounced about in different parties, and now has formed a new one, a blatant racial call since 90 percent of Mexicans are brown

May he continue his losing streak.

* * * *

Drawing Mohammed

Let us now turn to the Mohammed cartoon contest, which I supported. It was appalling to see so many talking heads, even on the right, including my man Bill O’Reilly of Fox News, going wishy-washy on Pamela Gellar’s courageous contest in Garland, Texas.

David Frum, writing in The Atlantic magazine said this:

mohammed“When vigilantes try to enforce the tenets of a faith by violence, then it becomes a civic obligation to stand up to them.” 

And Charles C.W. Cooke, writing in the National Review:

“There can be only two possible outcomes to this fight: Either Americans will eventually learn that they should not provoke radical Muslims, and thus that self-censorship is the order of the day, or radical Muslims will learn not to be provoked. Whether they have intended to or not, those who have proposed that Pamela Geller and her ilk should voluntarily refrain from provoking Islam’s discontents have run the risk of tacitly endorsing the former outcome.”

Let us continue to provoke them. And shooting them dead when appropriate.

17 thoughts on “Kitchens, Commies, etc.”

  1. I am in the Midwest, repairing a house that a family of pigs lived in for a number of years. I have never seen so much filth in my life. We have to rebuild the entire house – they even broke the toilets. Today we hired a lawn company to mow the lawn. We chatted with the owner of the company, who told us that he travels to Jalisco every spring and arranges for work visas for his crew, and pays them $13 per hour. This is on top of the $2000 per worker he has to pay the US Government to get them into the country for the season. But, they are such hard, and good, workers that it is worth it to import workers from Mexico for his business. In the meantime, a friend in Mexico has a son who needs a job and who lives 15 minutes from our house. I told her I would hire him to do some of the handyman repairs and painting. He responded and seemed interested, Now we cannot get him to answer our calls or emails. Americans think they are too good to do manual labor – even those who have no training or skills. When the lawn guys arrived, we ran out the door shouting Buenos dias! and vivimos in Jalisco tambien!, which probably looked odd to our neighbors, but felt like a family reunion to us.

    Like

    1. Bonnie: The caricature of the “lazy Mexican” could not be further from the truth. I am assuming that the friend and son in Mexico you mention are Gringos. As for having to import Mexicans to do manual labor, I see that as just another indication of the spoiled-rotten culture now current in the United States. Lamentable.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very glad to hear your Bride now has an oven with a thermostat. I also have no idea how manufacturers can sell stoves without them. Obviously the designers don’t bake. I had a Mabe, too, just an apartment-size, with no thermostat, but I always use my convection oven anyway. I always laughed at the name Mabe, as in “Mabe it won’t burn the cookies this time”

    Like

    1. Bliss: Someone told me during our ongoing battle with the Whirlpool stove that the reason so many stoves do not have thermostats is that Mexicans rarely bake. God knows who dreamed that up even though it’s true that baking is not a big thing for most Mexicans. And I do not know if this no-thermostat thing is a Mexican phenomenon or not. I doubt it. Two of the biggest, as you likely know, stove brands in Mexico are Mabe and Acros. People swear by them. The stove in the Hacienda kitchen, 12 years old now, is a relatively basic version of Acros, and it does have a thermostat, and has always served us excellently.

      Neither of us had any idea that stoves nowadays sometimes come without thermostats. Incredible.

      Like

      1. Odd are that they don’t know ovens can cook things other than cakes and cookies. 🙂 Like roasts!

        Like

  3. Mabe is a portmanteau of the surnames of its founders: Mabardi and Berrondo. ioMabe is its deluxe line. You picked wisely this time.

    As for PAN, I’m over it for now and back to supporting the only party that delivers: PRI. This morning, I had six SMSs on my cel, all from PAN. And I responded, telling the senders that their spam was one sure way not to elicit my support.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: Didn’t know that about Mabe. Thanks. And I learned a new word: portmanteau. Of course, I’ll never use it, but I’m an inch smarter than I was yesterday.

      PRI remains my backup party. They do get things done. Not always good things, but they do deliver. I just feel better with PAN. How you got on PAN’s phone list I do not know. I am not on it, and they never bug me, nor does PRI nor any other party. Anyone who bugs me on my cel gets blocked, so no big deal.

      Like

    1. Andrés: Oh, yes, almost from the get-go. She would give it lots of body English in combination with longer baking times — sometimes much longer, sometimes lots of cussing — and at times she’d revert to the oven in the Hacienda. It was a big bother, but now everything is working smoothly with the new stove, which is very nice.

      Like

        1. Andean: Well, dang! I believe I’ve made this error at least once before. Apologies. But one of you must change his/her name. I insist.

          Looking at it from my end, however, I see no photo of either of you on comments, and your names start with the same syllable. I encourage you — and all commenters — to put your photo on the free Gravatar. It’s fun, and it will help this old boy keep some of you straight. This applies especially to you, Andean, because I have it on good authority that you are quite lovely. Thanks in advance.

          Like

    1. No, Señor Davies, I did not know that. Thanks. Talk about interesting bedfellows. Looks like they really want to shoehorn the PRI out of some positions and, as you likely know, in Mexico anything is possible. Kind of like Bernie Sanders and the Tea Party cutting a deal in the United States.

      Like

  4. Right. And when the security guard, the elderly lady in her wheel chair and the young family strolling by the Muhammad cartoon convention are blown to bits those are just casualties for Democracy?

    Like

Comments are closed.