Election day

voteI WENT TO the voting place on the neighborhood plaza Sunday morning and cast my Mexican votes. It’s really fun to be able to vote in two countries, something I’ve been eligible to do for a decade now.

There won’t be another presidential election for three years, but we got to choose a mayor, a governor and some representatives. I voted the straight PAN party ticket with one exception, our mayor.

I vote PAN due to its officially being the conservative party. I left the plantation, however, in the mayoral vote and went with the PRI, the party of dinosaurs that ruled Mexico for seven decades till 2000.

I did that detour because an old-timer here, a Mexican guy who’s worked in various city administrations for years and who’s a friend of a relative, gave me this advice: They all take advantage, but some do so less than others while doing some positive things at the same time.

In other words, just like in the United States.

He spoke kindly of candidates of both the PRI and the left-wing PRD. I chose the PRI, of course. No left-wingers for this boy.

Here’s how it works. The polling place is just up the street on the neighborhood plaza. You go in, show your official, government-issued, voter identification card with color photo to a fellow with a big book where all the registered voters are listed alongside another mugshot.

This system is a no-brainer even though you find collectivists above the Rio Bravo who don’t think proving your citizenship or even your true name is just and fair because it discriminates against po’ folks who don’t have a car or enough to eat or something like that.

After your identity is verified, you are handed ballots like those in the photo above, which I took while hunched inside the voting booth. There is a pencil in the booth, and you make a big X over the candidates of your choice. You then fold the ballots, leave the booth, and drop them into cardboard boxes. Then your thumb gets inked.

There are no hanging Chads or dangling Josés.

Representatives of the major parties are present at all or most polling places to keep an eye on one other. At the end of the day, the boxes are opened and counted, and the results sent to a central station where totals from all polling places in the area are counted for a larger total.

And so on and so on across the nation.

When each polling place closes and its votes are counted, the results are taped to a wall outside for all in the neighborhood to see. It’s a good and wise system that works very well.

GRINGO POLL CAPTAIN?

Each polling station has a boss who oversees the process for the entire day. Three years ago, I was asked to be that person. Aside from not wanting to sit there all day, I thought that having a Gringo captain of a Mexican polling station was a lousy idea, so I declined.

It would be unseemly. They still remember that we stole Texas, plus diversity and multiculturalism are not embraced in Mexico.

I know my place.

THAT VOTER ID

Yes, you must have a voter identification card in Mexico. It also serves as a national ID card. In the United States, the Democratic Party opposes such atrocious impositions. Here is a fun take on that:

card* * * *

The Moon has a new look, again. I change now and then because it’s free, easy and fast. I’ve been doing it so often lately — a couple times a year — that I don’t even make an issue of it anymore. I always think the last change will be it, but like a shapely lady in a closet full of clothes, I waffle.

I like this look, but I always like the new looks. It’s clean. The column down the right side has vanished, the one with the quotes and other stuff. I have erased all but two of the quotes, and most of the other items and links are there when you click on Menu at the top right.

* * * *

UPDATE: Both my candidates for mayor and governor lost, it appears. Another fun report on this situation can be found at Better than bacon.

8 thoughts on “Election day”

  1. I liked the old web page with photos/images and the quotes! Displayed personality of the owner. This one is too clean! (I do like the drop down menu.) Oh well. Nothing is permanent. All things change with time. Nevertheless, I will keep reading your posts since that is what is most interesting. The rest was only wall paper, but it was nice wall paper!.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eric: Knowing myself, it will change again in the not-too-distant future, and the quotes likely will return. I have no choice in the matter on this particular theme. They are where they are, and I do not get a vote. I do like clean, however.

      Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: We are stuck on the horns of the proverbial dilemma then. I like the tone. It was as close as I could come to the yellowish tone of the previous theme. Maybe another look at colors might be a possibility.

      Like

  2. Wow! This new blog theme is minimalism at its best. I like it. No fooling around, just the words for the day. Looks like the PRI continues to rule in most elections. I like the matter of fact of putting an X over your candidate; now that’s how it should be everywhere. No confusion.

    Like

    1. Angeline: A previous commenter, Ms. Shoes, says she likes the design but not so much the color. I searched the alternatives for quite a spell and found nothing I liked as much or even equally, so the color will stay for now. Everyone has druthers.

      The sole bone I have to pick with this theme is that I would like the body type to be a bit smaller. It’s adjustable, but this is as small as I can make it. To my mind, it borders on Dick, Jane and the dog Spot. I’m referring to the body type of the post, not here in the comments where the type is smaller.

      Interestingly, I have played with a number of WordPress themes over the years. Many are free. Some you must purchase, which I’ve done a couple of times. Every time I run into a theme glitch, it’s one of the paid ones, never one of the freebies.

      And yes, the PRI seems to be staging a pretty strong comeback down here. The two PAN presidencies could have done much better. Fox didn’t do much of anything notable aside from demonstrating that another party could win. It was the dawn of our democracy. And Calderón, whom I liked, really stirred up a hornets’ nest when he decided to get tough with the narcos. He’s gone now, and the narco problem has calmed down significantly.

      Also yes, our uncomplicated, relatively low-tech election process works well, something the Gringos could emulate. That and our healthcare system.

      Like

Comments are closed.