My secret

lakeWHEN FOLKS think about living in Mexico, they commonly imagine beaches and constant sunshine. They rarely think about where I live here high in the mountains in the nation’s middle.

There is plenty of sunshine, but there are lots of clouds and rain too, especially during June through October. And there is the huge lake which defines our part of the world. Alas, the lake is shrinking. People my age and even younger remember when it was significantly larger.

After we voted Sunday morning, we headed to a nearby village for lunch, and then we decided to take a drive, just for the sake of it. There is a two-laner that circles the lake, but at one point there’s an offshoot road that runs three or four winding miles, closer to the water — and high.

I had lived here for years before discovering this offshoot, and it was a bear to drive because it was dirt and potholes in the dry season and mud and puddles during the rainy months. But, Lordy, what a view! Not precisely the Big Sur Highway in California, but you get my drift.

And then it got paved. Even though it’s smooth now and offers stunning vistas, it is rarely traveled, another plus.

What a lovely place to live.

I stopped the Honda and snapped this photo. What you see down there is a community of the indigenous people of our part of Mexico. The women are notable for ankle-length, pleated skirts and very long, plaited pigtails.

The guys just look like guys.

We don’t live that far away. And I can travel this twisty stretch of mountain-hugging highway whenever I wish, and I’ll find almost nobody impeding me ahead or tailing behind. It’s my secret, this place.

21 thoughts on “My secret”

  1. We in Michoacan are lucky to live where we live. When I’m driving to Patzcuaro, the first sighting of the lake from the highway is magical. And so, too, is that moment when the valley of Guayangero reveals itself on the way back home.

    Like

  2. Climb ev’ry mountain
    Search high and low
    Follow ev’ry by-way
    Every path you know

    Climb ev’ry mountain
    Ford ev’ry stream
    Follow ev’ry rainbow
    ‘Till you find your dream

    Like

      1. Nice place. We have been to a place that closely resembles it, but that was a few years ago. A rustic, but large (and expensive) hotel has now been built in that vicinity. I have no need to stay there, as it’s less than 30 minutes from home. We have some excellent vistas from home, but not of the lake.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

    1. Señor Cotton: I do not believe my secret road is the one you are thinking of. I recall the somewhat hidden road that enticed you. This is not it. So you have another reason to visit. I will reveal my secret road, which is better than the one in your mind.

      Like

  3. All you need now is a motorcycle…

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we are on the cusp of getting rid of our own due to severe non-ridership.

    Like

      1. There are lots of roads in Mexico that have “motorcycle” written all over them. The road that I took north out of Guadalajara toward Zacatecas was one. Twisty, deserted, and with plenty of rises and drops along with beautiful scenery, it would have been a dream on a bike. And there are plenty of roads around you that fit the same description.

        Go on! Get a bike and enjoy yourself before you’re too old.

        Like

    1. Patzman: Yes, it does. So you know where it is. Always surprises me that it has so little traffic, especially on Sundays when you’d think more people would be doing what we were doing. But they don’t, which is fine by me.

      Like

Comments are closed.