Good and green

summerSUMMER STARTS on June 21, so we’re still in Springtime or, as my Mexican paisanos call it, Primavera.

We step outside each morning with long pants and a light jacket. It will be about 60 degrees. It’ll soar to the mid-70s at midday. Invariably I think of folks I left behind in the sweat pits of Houston and New Orleans.

We sleep at night with only half of one window open to avoid having to pile blankets atop us. We have no air-conditioning, of course, because that would be downright silly. Not much heating either.

Most of the greenery in the photo was planted by me a decade back, and they were just little tykes. When I planted little tykes in Houston, they usually stayed that way or died. I’ve yet to figure that out.

There is some horticultural magic in the Mexican air. You expect that on the tropical coasts, but it seems less likely here on the cool mountaintop 7,000 feet above sea level.

Most spring and summer mornings are similar. I eat a bagel and Philly cheese. I sweep the terraza and pick up the cursed peaches that have fallen overnight from their tree. I wipe dew or rain off the glass table and web chairs that sit on the yard patio, and I hoist the umbrella like a flag.

I take a deep breath, smile and walk back inside to wash the Philly cheese off the ceramic plates we purchased years ago in Dolores Hidalgo. Maybe do a little laundry. Take a shower, get dressed.

Life doesn’t change much. Nor do I want it to.

* * * *

While the above is a typical morning, I detoured a bit today.

At 8 a.m., I was parked outside the little lab downtown as the young nurse opened for business. It was time for the twice-yearly peek into my blood vessels and veins, to see how the old coot is getting along.

I check my cholesterol, blood sugar and triglycerides.

No appointment is necessary, no doctor’s permission. Just show up, fork over 18 bucks (would have been 10 if I’d waited for the sale next week), step into the adjoining room, roll up my sleeve and wince.

The results will be available this afternoon. I’m feeling fine, but you can put in a positive word with the Goddess on my behalf. It won’t hurt.

11 thoughts on “Good and green”

  1. Beautiful greenery a decade later. I’m certain you smile with joy each and every morning to be greeted by such beauty that you lent a hand for its placement..

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Felipe, you’re most welcome, and things are joyous up here in Canada right now… 🙂

        Laura ~

        Like

  2. Plant-wise, Houston’s probably tougher than it appears. Mostly extremely hot, it also gets a freeze or two in the winter, so plants there have to be tough. But where you are is temperate, with maybe a light frost occasionally, but mostly just right. Add to that volcanic soil, and you have the magic ingredients for a terrific garden.

    And as an aside, weather-wise winter here can be awful (as I documented on my blog), but our spring, normally wet and chilly, has been dry and warm with days in the 70’s and evenings in the 50’s and 60’s. And summer, though warmer, isn’t really all that hot. In my view, it’s very pleasant. And it gives me a good chuckle to hear people complain about how “hot and humid” it is. (Usually heard if it’s 85°F with 70% humidity, occasionally a smidgen worse.)

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, Ma
    Where we need to plot an escape for the coming winter.

    Like

    1. Señor Cotton: Since your summers there on the miserable coast are, well, miserable, I contend that you are not growing so much as evolving. Something akin to a werewolf on a moonlit night.

      Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: The weather definitely turned weird this spring. The occasional, uncharacteristic, rain, and the lower temps, which were very nice. I think the usual rainy season has begun, but it’s hard to know that for sure. Could be the tropical storm activity in the Pacific. In any event, rain is upon us. It just has not quite yet turned into a daily activity, but it will.

      Anything that dodges heat is fine by me.

      Like

Comments are closed.