The Godfather

I PUT ON my best white shirt, my only white shirt, which came with me from Houston years ago, an Eddie Bauer, and I hoped no one would notice the small iron-on patch low and inside the left sleeve.

There were blue jeans down below and a tweed sport coat, also from my previous Texas life, in an attempt to be “dressed up.” It was the best I could do, or perhaps was willing to do.

I even donned my Dockers loafers instead of my usual Jeep boots. I was looking good, and I was going to a graduation.

The graduate was my favorite nephew whom I used to call the Little Vaquero due to a cowboy hat he wore briefly, his deceased daddy’s idea more than the boy’s. Daddy’s gone now, entombed below the Basilica floor where nobody can see the bullet hole — R.I.P. and good riddance.

godfather-marlon-brando-tony-rubinoI was the boy’s Godfather for this event. He was graduating from Grammar School, and will be entering Junior High toward the end of summer. About the only responsibility I had was to show up (no problem) and to bring a gift, and I brought two, one being his favorite, cash.

Godfather and Godmother are titles tossed about willy-nilly in Mexico. Usually, it’s an “honor” bestowed so money can be extracted from you. See above, cash. This particular gig is a one-day deal. Other Godfather roles are lifelong. I’ve been invited to that show too, more than once, but I have a permanent escape. I’m not Catholic, which is a deal-breaker.

The event was held at a theater downtown, and later the party, such as it was — just us, the kid, mama and a girlfriend of hers, a local dentist — took place here at the Hacienda. We had bowls of green pozole, which is my preferred method of celebrating most anything.

cuteIt’s amazing that the boy will be 13 in eight more months. I remember when he was brought home, a big-eared but beautiful baby. Here’s a photo I took not much later of the little bugger. Time passes, and I am passing through it.

As we all are.

11 thoughts on “The Godfather”

  1. You are correct, young sir. Time marches on. I passed the 71 mark yesterday, as usual, a tad before you. We Canuckians are a brave bunch, feel free to follow, though the shallow end seems to be full of pitfalls, dementia, and other ailments seem to be prevalent. The Young Vaquero will help keep your wondering mind sharp. I have finally found a use for the family twerps. They seem to move fairly quickly, they ask a multitude of questions, and keeping up is truly an exercise of massive proportions. They’re noisy also. I don’t like that much. That serves the purpose of “Papa need nap time. See you later.”

    I too am a godfather of Mexican chillans, four to be exact. Money is extracted solely for education purposes, with proof of results demanded, of course.

    Soldier on, my tall elegant amigo. I am leading the way.

    Like

      1. Thank you, and yes they keep coming for sure. One day they will stop, not looking forward to that for sure. In the last two months or so, I have lost 7 friends, some to passing, some to dementia. I took it hard. I am an early riser. I like the beginning of new days, sunrises and such, and I think, damn, they missed this. It made me aware of my own immortality, a sense of one day it is all going to end. All I can say is, live life to fullest every day, do the things that make you happy, make people laugh and, and buy the damn motorcycle. I ride every day, unimportant life issues seem to vanish in the wind. Bob.

        P.S.: Enjoy all the pretty girls on your plaza walks.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember first meeting the Vaquerito when I met you, in January 2007. He was a little tyke then. And I remember re-meeting him last year when I did my big road trip. Twelve, huh? He seems young for his age, though I suppose he was only eleven at the time.

    Hopefully he grows up to be as interesting and iconoclastic as his gringo godfather. Have you attempted to teach him English? That would be one particularly useful skill.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we enjoy having young people about. Too bad the nieces and nephews all live in San Francisco.

    Like

    1. Kim: The lad is short for his age, and that gives the impression that he’s younger than he actually is. He already takes English in his school and makes a perfect grade in that class even though he cannot say one sentence in English.

      His home life is so “out there” that I’m quite interested in seeing how he turns out in the long run. I keep my fingers crossed.

      Like

Comments are closed.