Catholic steeples and peoples

church

I LIVE AMONG steeples, and all of them are Catholic. Oh, there are other religions, usually referred to as “Christian” because most Mexicans, deep in their hearts, bizarrely do not regard Catholicism as a Christian religion.

It’s just Catholicism, period, the one accurate Voice of God.

Other religions are Christian, or cristianos  in español. Perhaps in the big cities of Guadalajara, Monterrey and Mexico City people recognize Methodists, Baptists and so on, but here on the mountaintop we just have “the” religion of Catholicism and cristianos  who sometimes behave like Holy Rollers because they are really joyful.

Catholics are not joyful. They are somber, especially when walking on their knees over rocks to demonstrate their seriousness and love of God, Jesus and the Virgin Mary.

The cristianos sometimes parade in the streets, all shucking and jiving. Catholics never shuck and jive.

We also have Jehovah’s Witnesses who enjoy ringing doorbells and annoying people. My child bride’s evil stepmother and a number of her half-siblings have gone over to the dark side of Jehovah’s Witnessing.

I enjoy watching Catholicism even though I’m no believer, especially now with Pope Francis who appears to be an ignoramus. The Catholics excel at religious architecture and, as I was driving up a downtown hill today, I noticed this view. So I got out of the car and snapped it.

The Baptists, Methodists and certainly not the Jehovah’s Witnesses lack the Catholics’ architectural spirit.

29 thoughts on “Catholic steeples and peoples”

    1. Ms. Shoes: My first two marriages, the ones that ended in divorce, were both officiated by Unitarian ministers. My third marriage, the successful one, was officiated by a Mexican judge. What does that tell you?

      I don’t know either.

      You know what they say about Unitarians? They are people who’ve quit believing in God but don’t want to stop going to church on Sunday mornings.

      Like

  1. My ex, “F,” used to refer to them as Los Testiculos de Jehova, as it’s a bit of a play on words in Spanish.

    My only objection to them is the fact that they come by and ring my bell on Sunday mornings. Shouldn’t they be in church?

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we don’t like to answer the door if no one is expected.

    Like

    1. Kim: So we have that in common. We don’t answer the doorbell either unless we’re expecting someone. Of course, our gate is about a block from the house, which justifies not answering any ole buzz.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The current Pope is busy condemning capitalism and corporate greed. That sounds like an excellent reason to withhold contributions to his church.

    It is not my faith, but that of my wife. She hasn’t been to church except for weddings, funerals and jamaicas for about fifty years. Yet, she has the fridge adorned with probably fifty Our Lady of Guadalupe magnets. And then there are all of the others all around the house. And then there are the candles. It is a miracle we haven’t burned up.

    Who is the patron saint of burnt houses? Well, it turns out there is one. It is Santa Filomena. She is a Sicilian saint. Make her a promise and don’t keep it, and your house is toast.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Señor Gill: You’re a funny fellow. My second wife was a “recovering Catholic” as if one can ever really recover from that, which I doubt. My current wife’s father was extremely anti-Catholic, so it did not really take root in my wife, but she still reflects the surrounding culture at times.

      Of course, there is a patron saint of burnt houses. They have a saint for every little thing.

      Like

      1. I knew my wife for 11 years before we got married. Her family insisted that we marry in the Catholic faith. When she approached the priest about marrying, he insisted that we attend some classes. She told him that I was not Catholic, and that was not going to happen.

        Then he informed her that the wedding wouldn’t be in the church. She then mentioned a father so and so who was known in the south Phoenix community as “the wino priest.” For a hundred dollars, he would marry a cat and a dog. Guess what, we got married in the church.

        I am sure my father-in-law made a very significant donation to the appropriate individual. We have been back to the church twice. Once for my mother-in-law’s funeral, and then again for my father-in-law’s funeral.

        Like

        1. Señor Gill: My favorite nephew’s First Communion happened rather late in his life due to his mother’s foot-dragging. So many Cokes to drink, so many cigarettes to smoke. Her first idea was that I be his Godfather for that, something in which you actually have to get involved with the church unlike my recent Godfathering for his elementary school graduation (pure show), but my not being a Catholic ended that notion at first. She then found her own “wino priest” here in town who was quite willing, for a price, to overlook my not being a Catholic.

          But the post ended up going to someone else, for which I was thankful.

          Like

  3. Not only do Mexican Catholics have an edge up on Protestants (we of the palapa-building sect) in architecture, they even put European Catholics to shame when it comes to gussying up the interiors of their churches. “Too much” is a concept that never enters the mind. Comparing the interior of a French Catholic church and a Mexican church would lead an reasonable person to conclude they are two entirely different religions. And, in many ways, they are.

    Like

  4. Hello Felipe: In many of your postings you allude to the “Goddess” that you worship. Could you give details on who this is please?
    Thanks, Jeff

    Like

    1. Sure, Jeff. Some people say God. I say Goddess because I find the feminine more interesting. My Goddess has no Holy Book and has not founded any religion. She just is, and she’s the basis of everything there is, and she is beyond our conscious understanding. Thus, no book because you cannot write about something that cannot be described. She’s out there and in here, everywhere, which means I’m pretty much a Pantheist.

      Hope this was helpful.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. A couple of years ago my husband made the mistake of chatting to a couple of JW’s about his years in Venezula. Some common ground was shared. Fast forward to the day I told hubby I would no longer lie that he was not home, he would have to tell his pals to stop appearing at our door every single Saturday at the crack of dawn, even at our garage sale. Very persistant people.
    My background is Catholic and hubby is Dutch reform, I laughed out loud with your blog, your observations are great.
    Enjoy your mountaintop.

    Like

    1. Shelagh: Very persistent people indeed. The last time I mentioned the Witnesses here, one of their number gently protested in a comment. I don’t recall what I said to her, but I would have certainly suggested that they quit ringing doorbells.

      Glad I gave you some chuckles.

      Like

      1. A surefire way to keep the JW’s away is to post a small sign by your doorbell with 3 words: ” Jesús es Jehová”. They scurry like rats running for the darkness when the barn door opens.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. You sure do provide a laugh or two with your posts. And I really do like your photos. Did you know that if you hover the mouse over the photo in your post it in “pinnable” to Pinterest? I somehow don’t think you have a page there, but I shall go look because I pinned today’s photo to my Mexico board.

    Like

    1. Angeline: I’m here to serve, and chuckles are a part of that.

      I do have a Pinterest account, but I don’t think there is anything on it. I use it to look at photos on rare occasion. Mostly, I look at WWII photos and motorcycles. I suspect the fact that I have an account there is why the icon is on photos here, which I too have noticed.

      Like

    2. On second thought, I suspect the reason you see a Pinterest icon on my photos is because you have an account there. I see the same thing because I have an account there. That’s my theory.

      Like

  7. Catholic architecture in Latin America is a reflection of the conquest and colonial legacy. Pope Francis even apologized for the church’s “grave sins” during colonialism against indigenous peoples. He is more of a politician than pope.

    Like

    1. Andrés: Francis is a nincompoop. This entire matter of conquests, be it churchmen or normal soldiers, mercenaries or tribesmen (Apaches on horseback), has been going on since the dawn of time, and it’s always a nasty business for the overrun. It’s what the human race does. It will never be otherwise.

      People are ignorant of history.

      Like

      1. History is nothing but old propaganda. It can be twisted and distorted to justify current political needs. It is called revisionism.

        Like

        1. Señor Gill: While that may be true in some circumstances, other history is cold fact. Lincoln was shot by John Wilkes Booth. The Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor on Dec. 7, 1941. The British and the Americans fought at Bunker Hill. I could go on and on.

          Like

          1. Ask people what party was formed to end slavery, and almost none will say the Republican. What caused the Civil War? The answer will almost always be slavery. What happened to the issue of states’ rights?

            Like

Comments are closed.