Amazon punto com

Amazon-logoCAPITALIST BEHEMOTH Amazon.com opened its Mexican operation just a few weeks ago, and I have received my first order, a camera and two avocado holders.

I am very happy about Amazon coming to Mexico. It’s about time. They went to China first: Amazon 点,圆点 com. Damnable.

The Amazon Mexico website looks like the Gringo version except for being written in Spanish and having prices in pesos, which is how it should be.

My primary interest in Amazon is for my Kindle. I’ve purchased books from the Gringo Amazon for years, seamlessly and effortlessly.

I checked the Mexican version and pleasantly discovered over a million books available in English. It appears to be about the same pile available on the Gringo version. There is one glitch that will keep me from switching entirely to the Mexican website. No magazine subscriptions.

I salute Jeff Bezos and welcome him to Mexico, a country that improves daily. We have superhighways, snazzy shopping malls, low taxes, a growing economy, liberty, and our citizens are not at one another’s throats screaming racism, homophobia, sexism, till our burros wander home.

We do not care a hoot about being multicultural or diverse.

Quite the contrary.

And we carry voter ID cards, laminated with our mugshots because we don’t want anybody to vote who’s not a genuine Mexican.

And now we have Amazon. We’ve totally arrived.

* * * *

(Related matter: My lovely new photo site, Eyes of the Moon, has changed format and grown, and I haven’t even figured out the new camera yet.)

(Unrelated matter: Please go here and lend a hand. I did. It will improve your karma. It all got started because she was trying to rescue a hummingbird.)

22 thoughts on “Amazon punto com”

  1. For magazine subscriptions take a look at the Next Issue app on your iPad. For $15 a month you get access to over 200 magazines online. You have to use a VPN like Hide My Ass to register from MX. Not sure if it will work on your computer as I use it on my iPad.

    Like

    1. Wes: iPad? Ain’t got no steenking iPad. True, I considered it a while back, but it did not happen. Probably won’t. As for magazines, I only subscribe to one — National Review — and it comes cheaply from the Gringo Amazon, so it’s not a problem. I just will not be switching totally to the Mexican Amazon anytime in the near future, but that’s no problem at all. I have accounts on both Amazons using different email addresses.

      Like

  2. What’s the advantage of ordering and downloading Kindle books from AmazonMex than from AmazonUS? It’s all zeroes and ones, anyway.
    Oh, with the first, you can pay in pesos.

    And I’m puzzled as to how avocado holders are used. Please let me know.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: No advantage that I know of. I just prefer keeping my business and money on this side of the border when possible. And I prefer paying in pesos. Since I have no U.S. bank account nor credit cards, just two Mexican bank accounts and accompanying credit cards, when I buy something on the Gringo Amazon I pay in dollars with my Mexican credit card. The charge then flies back over the border, morphing into pesos in the process. Aside from the principle involved, due to the
      current exchange rate I pay more in pesos than I would have about a year ago.

      Regarding the avocado holders, click on the link to them on the post, and you’ll know everything I know, which is nothing just yet because I have not used it. Looks to be just a flat, smooth surface that completely covers the open avocado face. I guess that keeps it from turning brown rapidly in the fridge.

      Like

        1. Ms. Shoes: Wrestling with plastic wrap is a pain in the kazoo, plus I’m hoping this gizmo will work better. Even with plastic wrap, more than 24 hours in the fridge leaves it brown. We’ll see. Ain’t used it just yet.

          Like

          1. Seriously?!? You can’t eat an entire avocado at a sitting?

            When I first heard about amazon.com.mx, I saw the avocado holders and wondered, Who the heck would buy such a thing?!? Thanks for answering my question.

            Saludos,

            Kim G
            Boston, MA
            Where the pathetic quality of the avocados is one of the annoying things about living here.

            Like

            1. Kim: Almost all of our avocado eating is done as part of our nightly salad. I make that salad, and I have standards. My salads are superlative because of the keen balance of ingredients. Too little avocado is not good. Too much is not good either. Just right is the goal. I prefer medium-sized avocados to attain this high standard. If the avocado is enormous, and sometimes I find myself looking at an enormous avocado, I slice it in half. One half goes into the salads, a quarter each, and the other half is saved in the fridge for the next night’s salad.

              And that, mi amigo, is how it all plays out.

              Like

  3. Have you heard of the Gutenberg project -gutenberg.org? There you can find thousands of books, formatted for Kindle, that you can download at no cost. If you are interested in books about Mexico, they offer a nice selection. Also, librivox has audio books available for download, if you enjoy listening to books. These are also available at no cost. I am glad to see Amazon come to Mexico. The only thing I worry about is how items are shipped. We used to own a shipping store in the USA and sending anything into Mexico was very risky and none of the shippers would honor insurance for items broken or lost in Mexico. Only a very few items ever made it to the destination without being opened and pilfered and many were lost forever when the big shippers turned the packages destined for areas outside of major cities to independent delivery services. Though you had a tracking number, once the package entered Mexico it became impossible to track. How was your package delivered?

    Like

    1. Bonnie: Yes, I know of the Gutenberg Project. Never used it due to not feeling a need to. Yes, they are free, but I’m quite happy with the Gringo Amazon service. I looked at the Gutenberg Project once and didn’t much care for it. I don’t remember why. As for audio books, they don’t interest me at all. I used to use them when I was driving long distances in Texas. That was good, but given the choice I’d rather read.

      As for shipping in Mexico, things have changed a lot from the Olden Days. DHL works fine, for instance. I have used it a number of times. I have used MexPost, the express arm of Correos de Mexico various times, successfully. Correos de Mexico offers online tracking for things you send via MexPost or even things you send by Registered Mail, which is waaay cheaper than MexPost. Here’s the website for that:

      http://goo.gl/ozF5C

      You can follow the route of your package or letter there, but if you’re sending something above the border, it only tracks it to the Mexico City airport before it gets put on a plane.

      Lots of Gringos, I read online, bitch and moan about the Mexican postal system in general, but I have always found it quite reliable. Slow, but reliable. I’m referring to the regular mail, not MexPost or Registered, which is faster and still reliable. Gringos living here, however, while professing their eternal love of all things Mexican often bitch and moan about the details of Mexican life. Ironic.

      My package from Amazon was sent by Estafeta, the biggest Mexican express shipper, or at least I think it is. It offers online tracking too. I ordered my stuff last Saturday, and was told by Amazon it would go out Tuesday and I would have it no later than Friday. It actually went out Monday, and it was in my hands yesterday afternoon, Wednesday.

      Like

    2. Bonnie: There is one annoying aspect to receiving stuff by express services. Nobody that I have encountered, neither the international biggies like DHL and FedEx or the little independents, leaves a note at your door if they come and do not find you home. You simply do not know they were there. This can be repeated three or so times until they send your stuff back where it came from. Since banks mail renewal credit and debit cards in this way, never by regular mail, this can be a very big annoyance.

      Due to this bad habit, the address I put on the Amazon package was not my home but my sister-in-law’s coffee shop downtown. When I discovered the package was coming by Estafeta, which has an office here, I went to them and asked if they could hold it in the office instead of delivering it to the coffee shop, a place with a rather, uh, free-wheeling atmosphere. I figured there was maybe a 50-50 chance they would actually do that, but they did.

      In the future, I’ll use my home address.

      Like

    3. Bonnie — I recently had three packages shipped from Amazon up north. All three arrived here just as advertised. The first came by DHL to my post box. The other two came by UPS (and a local courier). Even though they had only my postal address, they delivered to my house. I have no idea how that happened. In every case, it was about 10 days from the United States to my hands. And I had full tracking all of he way. Amazon knows how to run a business. I have not tried the Amazon Mexico shipping. My purchases have been DVDs.

      Like

  4. Things are looking up in Mexico. That’s good for me in the future when we move back to retire.

    Have a lovely day, Felipe. Hugs to the lovely señora!

    Like

    1. Hola, Mike. The changes I have seen in the 15 years I’ve been here are incredible. Since you have a good ways to go still, I imagine Mexico will be entirely on top of the world by then. It will be nice. You will love it.

      Hugs to all of you too.

      Like

  5. OK. We are expecting some snazzy photos now.

    By the way, please stop using Picasa. It strips photos of their color profile information which means that the colors of the photos look funky on your website. Try GIMP(free, open source photo editing) or the Photoshop Elements that almost surely came with your camera.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we’ve been thinking of sending you something on color management.

    Like

      1. “Color” will still be an issue, even in black and white, if you want your photos to look the same on other peoples’ computers as on your own. In any case, you need something that preserves the photo’s color profile info.

        Like

Comments are closed.