The coffee view

cafe

I WAKE UP early, go pour coffee from the machine that’s already got it waiting. I break off a touch of Bimbo toast and go upstairs to read the news and some gossip. This season it’ll still be dark outside.

dawg

As time passes, the day outside the window over the computer screen starts to lighten, turning from dead of night to dawn as the sun brightens the mountaintops. I finish the coffee and the touch of toast.

horseSometimes I stand and walk out onto the terraza to get a feel for things. I’ll check the thermometer that’s nailed to the exterior wooden frame of the screen door. This time of year, it’ll be the high 50s. Sweet!

I take a look around, always liking what I see, the neighborhood.

Next door, of course, I see the horse in his makeshift barn. The street out back is where a house sits with its permanent dog up top. I doubt he’s ever felt tierra firma. He’s the stereotypical Mexican roof dog.

hotel

The horse and the dog are off to the right and behind. To the left is the sex motel, which is the building with the windows. The closer section is the corner of our upstairs terraza, here where I am standing.

Appears all of one piece, but it’s not.

The day is dawning foggy, as many mornings do these days. It will blow off in a couple of hours, and clear, sunny skies will emerge.

Until it rains this afternoon.

It’s a great place to live.

23 thoughts on “The coffee view”

  1. Your mornings start out rather nicely; and your terraza views only add to the peacefulness that your photos transmit. I love those Mexican rooftop dogs.

    Like

    1. Angeline: All my mornings get off to a great start, and then it continues through the rest of the day.

      As for roof dogs, they are an interesting cultural phenomenon, but it’s not one of our better aspects. Most of the beasts are left abandoned up there with a food bowl in the blazing sun, the torrential rains, you name it. Mexico is not kind to animals.

      As far as I can understand the roof dog thing, they are supposed to act as burglar alarms, barking their fool heads off at the slightest provocation.

      Like

      1. My ex, “F,” lived next door to a roof dog. From his third-floor apartment, we could look down on the poor thing, an aging German Shepherd. Somewhat arthritic, this unfortunate dog had probably never seen terra firma. Even from the third floor, it was obvious that his toenails badly needed trimming. And his owners spent little to no time with him, so he was up there all alone all day and night long. I felt sorry for him, but when in Mexico, one has to do as the Mexicans do.

        So I did nothing.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        Boston, MA
        Where you could probably get arrested for treating an animal like that.

        Like

        1. Kim, Everyone lives next door to a roofdog or has one on the roof. As for your saying nothing, nothing at all would have changed had you complained. Dem’s de facts.

          Like

  2. Early morning is my favorite time of day. As I walk out the kitchen door facing the canyon with a cup of hot steaming coffee, I hear a few dogs, but mostly car traffic and the blast of the train whistle coming from your hood.

    Those sounds bring back memories of growing up in the City where, on early Saturday mornings, I could hear the sounds of freight trains from the wharf areas of the City. Interesting, how those sounds fetch so many fond memories.

    The crisp cool mornings with lots of dew will continue up here another month or two, and the fireplaces will need to be stoked in the morning.

    I see that you are enjoying your new camera, great pix!

    Like

    1. Tancho: If you hear our train passing up where you live, you should hear it here, just a block away. But we’ve grown accustomed to it and like it.

      Yep, using the new camera. The only thing it notably does better than the little Kodak is the zoom. The dog, for instance, was a block away.

      Like

  3. Ahhh, once again, well done, Felipe. B&W images at their finest!

    I’m still looking but have an interest in a couple of Fuji FinePix digital cameras in the $1,400 peso price range. I was highly pleased with my previous Fuji E550 and used it just about daily until it laid down on me with the lens stuck in the out position. One feature I enjoyed on that camera was a view finder which is hard to find on the lower-end digital cameras these days.

    As to the roof dogs, there are hundreds in our little town. Some are on roofs three stories up. We often wonder if they ever slip and fall in wet or windy weather. No fun for dogs or cats living in our neck of the woods.

    Like

    1. Jeff: if you’re in Mexico and near a biggish city, you can probably get your camera fixed. If I were you (and happy with the camera) I’d give that a shot.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Jeff: Thanks. As for the Fuji Finepix, I too have owned a couple of the low-end models. Loved them.

      As for roof dogs, they are a part of our world. Not much we can do about that.

      Like

  4. I would prefer Ivo’s artisan bread over Bimbo. Just my preference I guess. Or maybe it’s a collectivist thing with you more conservative folks preferring air bread.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Larry: You are comparing apples and oranges. Of course, Ivo’s is far superior. But to take the edge off the dawn coffee assault on the empty tummy, we keep ready-made toast on hand and just break off a piece.

      Like

  5. Felipe: You owe it to yourself to read this link (http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/11376-no-knead-bread) and then explain/translate it for la Guapa Señora.

    If you do that, you will eat fabulous toasted artisan bread to the end of your days. And she might find herself with a new line of business.

    And yes, it works with Mexican flour. I bought a bag, brought it home, and tried it here.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where it’s too hot to bake bread right now.

    Like

    1. When in Mexico, I bake that bread all the time. It is so easy and tasty. Here, where I have a good mixer, I use another supposed “no knead” recipe which tastes better if you knead it for the first mix. Leave it out overnight to get a semi-sourdough flavor, or keep it in the refrigerator for a couple of days for an even better taste. In Felipe’s case, he has his cafécito very near Ivo’s bakery (assuming Ivo is still in business).

      Like

Comments are closed.