LOL, R.I.P.

I WAS PLEASED to read today that LOL  is dying out.

I was educated too, learning a new word: emoji.

light-brown-thumbs-up-signBeing neither young nor modish, I am ignorant of some elements of modern communication, and I do not care.

I have never typed LOL, not once, and never will. I have never used an emoji either, and doubt that I ever will. I prefer clear, traditional written communication. I think you should too, but that’s your business.

If you were unaware of the growing fuddy-duddy element of using LOL, you have been informed. Apparently, haha is preferred.

And here’s more: Women use LOL and emojis more than men. This is not surprising because women also use multiple exclamation points more than men. I know this from personal observation.

Women get so emotional!!!!!

While I have your attention, let’s look at another abomination that I’ve mentioned before. Even though I have pointed out this travesty, people continue to do it. Please stop it. Right now!

It is putting a string of dots between sentences. Here is an example ……………… Can you see how ridiculous this looks? ………….. If not, there is no hope for you ……….. Many people do this. Have you no standards?

What is the purpose of this hurling of dots?

A sentence ends with one period. Then there’s a space. The following sentence starts with a capital letter. Dem’s de rules, amigos.

There is a thing called the ellipsis. It has a specific use, and it consists of three periods, not 856. Study it a moment, please.

That’s all for now, boys and girls. Miss Grundy is though with the lesson. Go out and play, but be back in your desks in an hour.

Haha!

* * * *

(Note: That thumbs-up thing is an emoji. FYI.)

48 thoughts on “LOL, R.I.P.”

  1. I have never used lol. I have used ha ha. Some women are very emotional. My oldest sister is dramatic, mysterious and highly comedic. She uses lol and loves, loves, loves to text me with frequent emoji images. It’s okay as it fits her personality. My other sister rarely laughs. She smiles, but I suspect they are snide little ways of showing her newly polished teeth. I am a happy in-between. I don’t resort to lol, lmao, rofl, etc. However, I can laugh and smile in real life not just in the virtual world which is increasingly where many first world people chose to live.

    Like

      1. I’ll make a counter-offer. You can keep your sister. I will send my white-toothed marvel of a sister via Amazon anytime you think you can accept delivery. I’ll pay for expedited shipping. She will require frequent dentist visits as well as tranquilizers, sedatives and sleeping pills for the rest of the hours that she is not at the beauty salon, manicurist, or dentist. A bit high-strung, I would say. NO returns.

        Like

          1. Kim: I thought of you when I wrote the post. You are, of course, an egregious LOLer. Don’t think I do not notice these things. Know now that further use of it labels you as an old-school fuddy-duddy, to which I can only say LOL.

            Hehe.

            Like

  2. I have some FB friends who are a group of about five sisters (not mine) and they constantly post remarks which seem to require rotflmao, lol, and etc., etc. I’m glad my personal contact with them is infrequent and I don’t feel compelled to respond to that stuff!!!!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the lesson Felipe………….I can see that leaving comments in the form that I have been doing…………is unacceptable to you. LOL 🙂 :-)……..So, you won’t be getting my 2 cents no mas !!!!!!!!!!!!!! jajajajaja

    Like

    1. Keep the comments coming, Jeff. You are far from the most egregious offender. But it does not really matter a lot because I edit all those pinche dots out of comments here. Perhaps you have not noticed but the Moon comments are invariably quite lovely and proper. I edit them. Never for content, but I put them right, so to speak. I make people look good. I should send out invoices. I fix all those nutty dots and capital words in mysterious places, run-on words, goofy punctuation, you name it. Thirty years as a newspaper editor have made me this way, and I cannot control myself.

      But I think those floods of dots drive me nuts more than any other thing.

      There’s a popular blogger in San Miguel whom I read. Were she to eliminate dots from her posts, they would shrink by 50 percent. Never fails to make me roll my eyeballs. But she’s still fun to read.

      Like

      1. Of course, I was just kidding. However, Miss Grundy’s BPH condition may be acting up a bit today.

        Seriously, you use the word “pinche” above. In south Texas I heard the phrase “pinche Gringo(s)” quite a bit from the Hispanic population, and it didn’t sound like a compliment. I can’t find a definition that makes sense in my translator. Is this just slang or what? Enlighten me, please señor.

        Like

        1. Jeff: As near as I can make out, pinche is kinda like we use damn. That damn idiot. Ese pinche pendejo, etc. And, again like damn, tone is the key. You can say it like you really mean it and risk a punch in the nose, or you can say it in jest.

          I use pinche relentlessly, but only around the house. I call my 12-year-old nephew a pinche pendejo fairly often but with a smile. It amuses him and me.

          You should not use it with someone you do not know really well, however.

          Like

  4. Since you are a full-fledged Mexican, don’t forget the Mexican version of lol,
    they are real big on jejeje……….

    Like

  5. It’s such fun to irritate and piss people off. 🙂 You should never have told us. Personally, I like needlessly “putting words in quotation marks”, but you didn’t mention that one.
    I have found the more I learn, talk and write in Spanish the more trouble I have remembering the correct spelling of words in English and Spanish. You don’t seem to have that problem or maybe you’re just an avid spellchecker.

    Like

    1. Bev: I never use spellcheckers. As for what you read hereabouts, I re-read it about 1,000 times and I still miss some stuff. Not much though, I think. One is one’s own worst proofreader, of course.

      Yes, there is the issue of “putting words needlessly in quote marks.” Many people do this because they think it gives emphasis, especially Mexicans in Spanish, and it does give emphasis, but not in a good way.

      I get a kick out of seeing Mexicans use apostrophes, which do not exist in Spanish. They kidnap apostrophes from English, of course. They often use them to form plurals incorrectly.

      I almost never speak English anymore. Sometimes I’ll forget an English word when speaking, but I rarely do that when writing English. I write Spanish fairly well, but I never read books in Spanish. Never. I think I write Spanish better than most Mexicans, but that’s not saying much. The educational system here could use some work.

      Due to being more than a little unsocial, I speak almost 100 percent with my wife. I can always understand her except when she tosses in some new word or phrase, which happens on occasion. But I can have trouble understanding other Mexicans even though I can say what I want to say to them with no problem. The less educated the Mexican, the more trouble I have understanding him or her.

      Like

      1. I think I write Spanish better than most Mexicans, but that’s not saying much.

        haha.

        I’ll second that. Do you ever read the comments sections of Mexican newspapers? The writing is appalling, even more so when you realize the comments are written by people who actually read newspapers.

        Frankly, I find it kind of embarrassing to be a foreigner and in a position to correct peoples’ writing.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        Boston, MA
        Where, due to spell-check, we’ve lost our once nearly flawless sense of spelling.

        Like

        1. Kim: I do not read the comments section of Mexican newspapers. I almost never read Mexican newspapers at all. As you and I have noted in the past, they are difficult to understand due to the uncommon, la-dee-dah Spanish they feel compelled to use. I wish they would stop that immediately!

          I wrote earlier that I never use spellcheckers. That’s not quite true. WordPress automatically underlines questionable words in red, and I take advantage of that.

          As for your declining spelling talents, know that studies have shown that the ability to spell and IQ are not related, or so they say. It’s a talent one has — or not.

          P.S. I make far more spelling errors in comments here than I do in the posts. But I almost always go back and fix them. Alas, the original comments go out to everybody who checks to receive them, and they rarely see the corrected version. It’s an imperfect world in which we live.

          Like

      2. I find that the best way to edit is to read the final draft aloud. Sometimes you think you have written something that sounds pretty good until you read it aloud and discover you have repeated yourself or that the wording is not quite right.

        I also do not like meaningless symbols, punctuation used incorrectly, or horrible sisters.

        We spent the afternoon at a picnic with sweet children who spoke no English, but we managed to communicate just fine – hot dogs, baked beans, nachos, cupcakes and baseball seem to be an international language.

        Like

        1. Bonnie: You mean real baked beans like you find above the border? I have never seen them here. I adore baked beans. Where in the world did you find baked beans? Beans, yes. Baked beans, otra cosa.

          If you made them, all bets are off. Too much effort for me.

          Like

          1. A friend made them – Boston Baked Beans. They were delicious! We, and two other couples, threw a picnic for the boys who live at the orphanage. There is a beautiful park in Chapala with giant shade trees, concrete picnic tables under large pavilions and plenty of places to play. These kids are so good, calm and respectful that it is a pleasure to be around them. We had a piñata at the end of the day and two of the little boys gathered their candy, then went over to some children who had been watching from a distance and shared from their bags.

            Liked by 1 person

  6. Now the question is do you think in English or Spanish? What language do you dream in?

    Also, there are a lot of words that one hears in daily use that never seem to get into print. Ejuela, ay carajo, esquincle, rona, mugre come to mind just off the top of my head. And then there are the cuss words. I won’t even go there.

    Like

    1. Señor Gill: I think in Spanish frequently, and I talk to myself in Spanish frequently, probably more than in English. I have dreamed in Spanish, but I do not know how often.

      As for those words you mention, I don’t know ejuela, and it’s not in two dictionaries I checked. As for rona, do you mean roña? Perhaps you don’t have a Spanish keyboard. I see that roña means rust, but we use óxido. It means a few other things too, especially nastiness firmly connected to something. As for esquincle, it’s not in my translator either, but I know what it means, a little kid. You are right. Even though it’s a fairly common word, I have never seen it written. Oops, I found it in another dictionary. It’s spelled escuincle. You were close. Mugre — dirt, grime — is very common in speech. Yet again, you are right, rarely written that I have seen. An escuincle can be covered in mugre.

      As for the cuss words, I think it’s best to leave them in peace, and I most always do. I leave them in peace in Spanish because one can get in hot water easily with the natives. I leave them in peace in English most always due to personal preference.

      Like

      1. Rona (ronya) is used here for when one can roll up balls of dirt off of the skin. Not a very pleasant thought. Another word in the same vein, socroso.

        I was eating with a friend from Costa Rica, and I asked the waiter “Hay una silla para escuincles?” We had a kid with us. My friend had never heard of that word. I guess it is a Mexican-only word.

        Like

        1. “Escuintle” comes from the Mexican Hairless Dog, used as food by the Aztecs. I have seen one live, in the flesh. They are distinctive, to say the least.
          WikiPedia says:
          The Xoloitzcuintle (/zoʊloʊ.iːtsˈkwiːntli/ zoh-loh-eets-kweent-lee), or Xolo for short, is a hairless breed of dog, found in toy, miniature and standard sizes.The Xolo also comes in a coated variety and all three sizes can be born to a single litter. It is also known as Mexican hairless dog in English speaking countries, and is one of several breeds of hairless dog.

          In Nahuatl, from which its English name originates, its name is xōlōitzcuintli [ʃoːloːit͡sˈkʷint͡ɬi] (singular)[1] and xōlōitzcuintin [ʃoːloːit͡sˈkʷintin] (plural).[1] The name xōlōitzcuintli comes from the god Xolotl and itzcuīntli [it͡skʷiːnt͡ɬi], meaning dog in Nahuatl.[1]

          Saludos,
          Don Cuevas

          Like

          1. These hairless dogs are famous in Colima, where statues of them have been found in the shaft tombs at the ruins located there. There is a large statue of two of these fat hairless dogs embracing ( the older telling the younger the secrets of life, so we were told) in the middle of a roundabout between Colima and Comala. They do still exist in Mexico, though I believe they are rare. (Not rare, as in delicious served rare, but rare as in uncommon.)

            Like

        2. Señor Gill: Escuincle is in the dictionary of the Real Academía Española, but it says it’s Mexican, so you’re right. As for socroso, it’s not in either of my sources. I suspect it’s another spelling issue.

          Like

  7. You say you have never typed LOL, not once, and never will, yet including your title, I see it at least 5 times in your article!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry couldn’t help myself…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, Cat, you fail to make the important distinction. When I wrote that I have never typed it, I meant, of course, I’ve never used it as it is used by the hoi polloi. As I used it in the post and in the comments, it was the subject matter, quite different.

      But you know that and just want to rattle my can, and that’s fine. LOL, er, I mean, haha.

      Like

  8. Just so you know where I am coming from, I got rid of my cell 5 years ago, because I do NOT like texting nor all the LOLs LMFAOs etc. If someone wants to “speak” with me I will gladly answer my house phone.

    On the other hand, my son who lives in Detroit sent me an iPad so I can communicate with my 8-year-old granddaughter who has an iPod touch. Her usual form of communicating is texting me an array of mac emojis. She does send me pictures occasionally and actually types a word or two once in a while, so that makes it all worthwhile to text emojis back and forth with her for now.

    Like

    1. Cat: Alas, I have no grandchildren and never will have. I do sent brief texts on my very basic cell phone (no camera, no internet) now and then, mostly to my wife. They usually say something like: Where are you?

      Like

      1. Socroso may be just another Indian word that crept into our language. I even tried to spell it with a Z, but no luck. Chicano Spanish has adopted a lot of terms from God only knows where. Yet we use them. There is the term “wey” meaning slow or stupid. Now just where did that come from? “No seas wey.”
        One day it hit me that it is from buey. Don’t be an ox. Ask a Chicano what is an ox in Spanish, and they probably wouldn’t know. We don’t have oxen in Chicanolandia. But they use the word wey.
        Do you write in Spanish? Garrison Keillor said that one is never as witty as they are in their native language. But B. Traven wrote originally in German, but later in English and Spanish.

        Like

        1. Señor Gill: Wey is common among the young, mostly. I’ve never seen it written, but assumed it was written guey. I doubt it is wey.

          Yeah, I write Spanish fairly well, but Garrison Keillor is correct.

          Like

  9. I read the news that LOL was dying out with somewhat mixed emotions. Frankly, it’s easier to type LOL than to type haha, which can also sound more sarcastic than LOL. And for those confined to regular texts or tweets, LOL saves a letter over haha.

    That said, I rather like the choices available in Spanish — jajaja or jejeje, or even jijiji, though the latter strikes me as a little “girly,” something that was confirmed by a Mexican friend.

    Still, though I’ve typed a few “hahas” since I read the article, I’m coming around to the idea that as a burgeoning old fart, I shouldn’t let younger peoples’ ideas of what’s trendy affect my own too much. So I may soldier on with LOL as a mark of being part of the pioneering generation of computer users.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we think you should read “Eats, Shoots, and Leaves,” if you haven’t already.

    Like

Comments are closed.