The sombrero

girl1

COWBOY HATS improve all women. An ordinary woman becomes beautiful beneath a cowboy hat. Beautiful women become spectacular. Debra Winger in Urban Cowboy is a classic example.

wingerA Mexican sombrero is a cowboy hat from another country, but the effect is the same as you can clearly see up top.

The woman in the sombrero is astride a horse. She was in the street yesterday during our Independence Day festivities. As you can see in the photo below, she also has very long hair, another thing that improves an ordinary woman but makes a beautiful woman spectacular.

A woman astride a horse also wins additional points.

new

25 thoughts on “The sombrero”

    1. Right. I am mesmerized by the men on horseback in the parades. But what is even better is that after the parades the vaqueros gather by the lake for a contest between their dancing horses. They pass around a bottle of tequila, a band plays and the horses take turns dancing in the street. It is one of the coolest things I have ever seen. Plus, I just love the display of masculinity – the men in their vaquero outfits, who command their horses and can even make them dance and the tequila that flows freely. I have to admit, I am also impressed by the women riding side saddle, in long dresses and high heeled boots.

      Like

      1. Bonnie: You, and Ms. Shoes before you, demonstrate the fact that what impresses us in this matter depends on whether our pair hangs down south or hangs farther north.

        Men and women are different, no matter what Women’s Studies Departments claim these days.

        Like

  1. Great B&W effect Felipe. Would using a flash have improved (brightened up) the darker area around the subjects nose and eyes? Your thoughts please.

    Like

    1. Jeff: Yep, I like those photos too, quite a bit. As for using flash, some people say that using flash in broad daylight outdoors does something positive. Maybe it does. I tend to think they are imagining things. I was about 25-30 feet away from the horsewoman. That a flash would have effected the photo strikes me as ridiculous.

      I gussied up the photo a bit, not much, with Fotor, my photo program. It was color originally. Fotor has various B&W options, and other stuff. And it’s free.

      Like

  2. And the fact that she is a Latina gains her extra points! Lovely photo, Felipe. I would LOVE to see more subject matter such as this! Hubba hubba.

    Have a great afternoon, Felipe. VIVE Mexico!

    Mike

    Like

    1. Mike: Yep, Latinas are about as good as it gets. You and I both chose well. However, I fear yours may, in time, be corrupted to a degree by her exposure to Gringa culture. You better get back down here ASAP before it’s too late.

      Viva Mexico indeed.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Angeline. I noticed that light too. I’m not sure if it’s natural or that Fotor did it. I tend toward the latter interpretation. In any event, the subject matter had the most to do with making the photos great.

      Like

  3. No “like” button any more? I really don’t have much to say about this post, except that Jeff is barking up the wrong tree with his flash question, haha.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where cowboy hats bring up unpleasant memories of oppressive FFA types in high school.

    Like

    1. Kim: The “like” button is still in place. Not sure why it doesn’t show up on your screen. But you are right. I’m not much of a high-tech camera guy, plus I have little inclination to do any homework. My talents lie in subject matter and cropping. The finer points I leave to others.

      Oppressive FFA types? You’re funny. Well, at least those days are long behind you.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jeff: Kim has, in the past, attempted to lead me into the 21st century as far as photography technology is concerned. While he, no doubt, is correct, I am a reluctant student because (1) I am lazy and (2) I’m perfectly happy with the photos I already put out.

        Kim interpreted your mention of using a daytime flash to be a suggestion. He had suggested that to me too some weeks ago.

        Like

      2. I have sent Felipe endless suggestions about camera books, software, and technique, but he claims he’s too “laid back” to bother with it. In short, he’s got a great eye, but doesn’t focus much on technique (as opposed to composition). So the idea of asking him about fill-in flash struck me as humorous.

        Like

  4. Felipe,
    I don’t think she needed the hat for improvement. The cho cho lips were enough over the top of her otherwise practically perfect beauty. Perhaps the long hair – flying to the winds, sans hat – would have made an improvement. On the other hand it is pretty hard to improve on perfection. Just the humble opinion of an old man who has been a connoisseur of shape, form and disposition of beautiful (and not so beautiful) women for longer than I can remember.

    Like

    1. Larry: Cho cho lips indeed. A Google search turned up some odd definitions of that, all in Spanish.

      But, of course, she’s a looker with or without sombrero, but the point is that sombreros — or cowboy hats north of the Rio Bravo — improve on perfection. And that’s always a good thing.

      Like

Comments are closed.