About the plaza

view2

JUST UNDER two blocks away, our neighborhood plaza is where we walk most every morning weekdays. Weekends are for other things.

Off one corner of the plaza, there’s the view above, showing the elevated railway track, the same that passes near our Hacienda down thataway to the left. All my life I lived in flatlands, wishing I lived in mountains, and now I do, and it’s wonderful.

We’re not the only folks to walk the plaza, however. There’s this old dude below. I very much admire his spunk because that’s an exercise walk he’s doing too, but with a walker. He inches along.

He needs knee replacements, on both sides, but he’ll never get them. We always say hi as we speed by, relatively speaking, lapping him many times over. Sometimes he rests on a steel bench. Other times he pauses and chats with others. He keeps his mustache well trimmed.

cripple

cripple2

9 thoughts on “About the plaza”

    1. Tancho: My mother had knee replacements when she was in her mid-60s. I recognize the symptoms. That is his problem.

      With some investigation, he may have access to some sort of help at public health facilities. Perhaps not. He also simply may be accepting fate (cultural issue) and/or not be aware of the opportunities and/or may fear he will end up worse than he is now. There are all manner of possibilities.

      I would put my money on the “accepting fate” option.

      Like

    2. Furthermore: My mother did both her knees simultaneously in the early 1980s. After the surgery, she said it was a good thing she did them both because if she’d just done one, planning to do the other later, as some people do, she would never have done the second because it was so excruciatingly painful. That was then.

      Flash forward 30 years, a woman I know here in town, Gringa from up north, received the same operation in the U.S., and she said it went fine. No hitches, mentioned no particular pain problem. Medical progress keeps happening.

      We live in wonderful medical times.

      Like

      1. A neighbor who I’d imagine is in his early 60’s had two knees replaced about 2 months ago. He gained an inch in height(!) and has been walking around the neighborhood to get back in shape. But he seems to be very happy and didn’t mention too much about pain.

        I admire your neighbor’s spunk too. I really have issues with people who just give up.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        Boston, MA
        Where knee injury is the main reason we prefer to bike, skate, swim, whatever, instead of running for exercise.

        Like

        1. Kim: My mother too ended up a little taller after her operations. And as for running for exercise, I think one should take care with the knees after a certain age. You don’t want to screw around with your knees.

          Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.