Mañana dawns

collapse

I COULD HAVE told them a year ago, perhaps two, this would happen. But they waited until it did. Good that nobody died.

Over many months, during our morning walks, it was like watching that finale in Sam Peckinpah’s The Wild Bunch: slow-motion mayhem.

Finally, the roof perished completely. Collapse!

This end of our neighborhood plaza possibly dates from the 16th century. Lordy knows how long that roof had rested there. But then it decided on a total siesta. Adiós and goodbye.

They’ve been working on it for a few weeks now, slowly at first but picking up speed, and before long it will look as it did way back when Cortés walked around the middle of Mexico.

Or not long after.

15 thoughts on “Mañana dawns”

  1. My parents retired to central rural Wisconsin. Driving my mother around this area, we might see aged homes and barns in disrepair and she would always say, “they’re going back to nature” – your photo has sparked a pleasant memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Perry: Thanks for the positive feedback, and I like the way your mother thinks. However, I don’t want my neighborhood plaza to go back to nature before I do, so renovations are good.

      Like

  2. We like to go to the Hotel Frances in Guadalajara. It was built in 1610, and I think their elevator was put in shortly thereafter. It is one of those old fashioned contraptions with a gate that slides across the front. When it gets stuck, the bartender comes from behind the bar with a hammer and bangs on something in the elevator, and it starts again. When I finally pass on to glory, it will probably be in the Hotel France elevator.

    Like

    1. Bonnie: I have not been in Guadalajara in over a decade in spite of our being closer to it than we are to Mexico City where we often go. I’ve been in the lobby of the Hotel Frances. Thanks for reminding me. Maybe we’ll get off in that direction before too many more years. I’d like to stay in that hotel.

      Like

      1. The Frances was used for some of the scenes in the movie, “Savage Justice” with Charles Bronson. A picture of a scene from the movie is posted in the dangerous elevator. Another picture near the bar shows Charles Bronson with the bartender’s father ( the first elevator repairman). Stealing a quote from Gertrude Stein, the USA is my home, but Guadalajara is my home town. I love it. We are going tomorrow, for the weekend, to see the Charros baseball team play (the Mexican Pacific League) and are staying close to the stadium – in the Aloft. But when we have guests, we always go to the Frances for the ambience, the mariachis in the evenings and the close proximity to the historic zone.

        Like

        1. Bonnie: I just read in the Francés website that there’s a disco in the hotel. That alone would run me off. I remember with horror a long night I spent decades ago with Wife #2 in a hotel in Chihuahua. There was a disco there too. The noise lasted all night long. I now steer clear of hotels with discos or hotels that are even near discos. Such is life, a challenge.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. There is a disco, but it is next door to the hotel and stops promptly at 11 pm. You don’t hear it before 11pm unless you are on that side of building and right next to it. I actually did put my brother there when he came to visit on gay pride weekend (okay, that was a mistake on my part but the rooms were cheap). But, the disco was not a problem for us. You can always ask to be on the side away from the disco if you are worried. The place we are staying tonight also has a disco, but we asked to be high enough so we do not hear it. If you would enable the posting of pictures, I would post one from our window, on the 15th floor.

            Like

            1. Bonnie: Sounds like you dodged the disco fairly well, which is good. If I know in advance there is a disco in the same block as a hotel, I go elsewhere. And colonial hotels are infamously noisy anyway due to the construction techniques of those distant times.

              As for enabling photos here, it appears it’s just not possible. You can put the URL of a video in the comments, and the video appears. I believe I have attempted to do the same with online photos, but it did not work. I think Disqus can do that, but this is WordPress’s own comment system.

              I bet Kim G. knows how to get photos in comments here. He’s sharp that way.

              So, your brother is gay?

              Like

  3. Mañana finally comes, hahaha…. yes, eventually things can no longer be put off. Of course they could have saved and reused a lot more roof tiles had they preemptively repaired, but that of course wouldn’t go with the mañana mentality.

    So what was under that roof? Though it has been years since I’ve wandered the plaza in your “‘burb,” I seem to recall that all of the buildings were locked up and silent, even the church which I would very much have liked to see inside.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where about the only thing in danger of imminent collapse is our interest in further home maintenance.

    Like

    1. Kim: Those spaces below were mostly unused. One, perhaps two, were used on rare occasion for some municipal thing or another.

      As for the church, it’s open often enough. You just came by at the wrong moment. There’s also a little museum next to the church which is worth a brief visit too. We are simple people here in the neighborhood.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So who owns the buildings around the plaza? It seems a little odd that they sit unused, with no abarrotes or taco stands, or tortilla makers, or any of the businesses you’d think might make it there.

        Like

        1. Kim: On that side that collapsed, it would be the local government. The opposite side has the church, the museum and an abandoned, collapsed building, which may be part of the church grounds. The church owns the church, of course. The museum is of the government too, I imagine. The other two sides are privately owned. There are small businesses and some homes.

          Like

Comments are closed.