The Indian way

color version

OH, I KNOW they’re not really Indians. They don’t ride horses, and they don’t shoot bows and arrows. They don’t scalp people either, or bury captives up to their necks in the sand near a bed of angry ants and an empty honey pot.*

These people are Huicholes, indigenous (there, that’s more like it!) people from the Mexican State of Nayarit, though I’m told this couple hails from elsewhere.

Huicholes are known for their incredible artwork with tiny, colored beads. We have a number of their beautiful pieces hanging on the walls of our Hacienda.

Every year when the Day of the Dead arrives, this couple comes to town. They sell their lovely wares on the sidewalks of the big plaza downtown.

Saturday they set up shop near me as I sat with an espresso, keeping my child bride company while she hawked her pastries from a big basket, something she does most weekends.

Luckily, I had my camera with me.

color woman

color hat

* It’s the Comanches that do such horrible stuff. And they don’t want to be called indigenous either. Or redskins.

11 thoughts on “The Indian way”

  1. Have to find that coffee shop during our upcoming trip SOB and bring my camera. Who knows, maybe Señor Zapata will pass by? Our child brides can chat. Gather Patricia had no adverse impact on you since you are posting.

    Like

    1. Hi, Steve: No adverse effects from Patricia. We’re too far away from the coast. After spending most of my life in hurricane-prone zones, I pointedly avoided that with my new locale.

      Yes, bring your camera.

      Like

  2. Huicholes are putting their trademark beads on high-fashion goods. I don’t know where they are marketed but I think the stuff is gorgeous. How it wears is another issue. I talked to an Inuit in Alaska at a culture center doing beadwork with needle and thread. I asked her if she knew about the Huicholes beadwork and she said “no.” I wished I had had my iPad with some of the pictures I’ve posted of Huichol beadwork. Both types are tedious but very different in skill sets.

    Like

    1. Carole: High-fashion goods? Lordy, what is this world coming to? I guess money appeals to everyone, ¿no?

      I imagine that few Huicholes have heard of Eskimos — oops, Inuits — either.

      Like

  3. I grew up in the midst of the dying culture of the Houma Indians. Quite frankly, they were considered subhuman by most white folks. No one celebrated diversity back in my youth, so I don’t have anything to show for my friendship with fellow classmates of obvious Native American heritage. My dad dug up a few arrowheads for me in his daddy’s pastures, but we threw them away at the end of the day. Like I said, my tribe considered that tribe to be worse than being black, which was pretty bad in those days. It’s a wonder they didn’t change the name of the town after they drove the Houmas out of Houma to remote areas along the Gulf on barrier islands and near bays that were outlets to the Gulf. I am heartened that some tribes have survived on this continent.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Andrés. I’m going to put you on staff as a researcher. Unfortunately, it is an unpaid position that you do out of love.

      The Huicholes like peyote, which means they are my kind of people.

      Like

Comments are closed.