People and places

sitting

TAKING A WALK around downtown Tuesday with my Canon and my Kindle in my little black, faux leather, man bag, I snapped these two photos.

Above are well-fed señoras sitting on a sidewalk killing time. Below is one of the most photographed scenes in our city, something constructed during Spanish Colonial days.

(Note: A slightly different version of the two women, plus other stunning, black & white, photos can be found, as always, on my photography site, Eyes of the Moon.)

spain

7 thoughts on “People and places”

    1. PS: The Purépecha women are almost invariably fat, even the younger ones. Once, after mentioning this detail on another post years ago, a woman emailed me in perfect English to say she was Purépecha and she took offense at my pointing out their almost uniform obesity. She said it was not so. I think she was dreaming. I await the day I see a slim Purépecha woman. The guys are not fat, just the women.

      Purépechas have their own language. I imagine most also speak Spanish. I imagine English is rare for them.

      Like

  1. Some of my mother’s family worked at trading posts here in the southwest. They could tell a woman’s tribe, clan and home place by their dresses. Now they all seem to belong to the Kmart tribe.

    My mother and her church friends used to make dolls for Christmas presents for the little Indian girls. They would work all year on that project.

    The dolls’ dresses had to reflect the correct tribe. Can’t give a Hopi girl a Navajo doll.

    Like

    1. Señor Gill: The women of the indigenous folks hereabouts, Purépechas, are recognizable by their long, pleated skirts. I can’t quite make out the skirts on the two women in the photo, but their blouses are pleated, so I’m guessing they are Purépechas. Their menfolk look like any other Mexican.

      Kmart Tribe. I like that. We have no KMarts here, but we do have Walmarts, and I’ve seen Purépechas wandering the aisles.

      Like

Comments are closed.