Voter card

New Image

I RENEWED my Mexican voter ID card. It’s laminated and has my color mugshot. My child bride did the same.

This is my first renewal. It was almost a decade back when I got the initial one. It was a simple process. We went today to a nicely appointed, modern office right off the main plaza.

There were few people waiting, two or three.

I had to show a proof of residence, so I took my latest light bill. And, yet again, I had to show paperwork proving I’m a made Mexican, if not a born one.

My wife just showed a birth certificate and light bill.

After displaying the required paperwork, I was told to step into the next room and have a seat. I waited less than five minutes till I was called to a window where I had to sign a few forms, leave fingerprints and have my photo taken.

All was done with high-tech gear.

Come back in two weeks and pick up the new card. Now, that wasn’t so bad, and it makes perfect sense, proving who you are, that you’re a citizen before getting to vote.

One can’t help but snicker at how the Democrat Party above the Rio Bravo screams discrimination at such a process. It’s an imposition on poor people, they yell. Yet somehow the poor people of Mexico do it just fine. And no gnashing of teeth.

Nobody feels put upon.

It’s a convenient card, used not just to vote, but it serves as a national ID, and you’re asked for it fairly often for this, that and the other. I flash it proudly.

It’s understandable that the Democrat Party up north wants to make voting as easy as possible because if it required much effort, the ignorant wouldn’t bother, and Democrat politicians rely on the ignorant to stay in power.

So I’m set to vote for another decade, assuming I last that long, and in a few months I’ll renew my Mexican passport, which will go smoothly too. And no gnashing of teeth.

* * * *

(The photo is not from my town. I forgot to take my camera. It’s an election office elsewhere in Mexico.)

26 thoughts on “Voter card”

  1. Good job, Felipe! Keep Mexico conservative at least until I can get back down there! When you get that fresh new passport in your hands you need to come visit us!

    Like

    1. Mike: Yep, now that Mexico has a functioning democracy with voter IDs, every vote like mine helps to keep the commies in their dark, dismal corners.

      As for a visit, who knows? Maybe one day.

      Like

  2. Yeah, I’ve got one also. It even has a hologram of the Mexican Republic on it. Just sitting here drinking a coco loco (With Gin) and watching the folks North of the border deteriorate.

    Like

  3. We had to re-register to vote when we moved a couple of months ago because we moved to a different county. Registered by mail, and will be able to vote by mail because we requested to vote that way. And this is for whatever party you mark on the registration, be it Democrat, Republican, Tea Party, or Independent. Pretty easy for everyone, ignorant or not so much.

    Like

    1. Angeline: Yes, that is easy, perhaps too easy. Not quite so easy down here, but still pretty easy. For the most part, you have to go to your neighborhood polling station, which in my case, is just a block and a half away. It goes pretty smoothly, and we have no hanging chads. It’s done with pencil and paper ballots. I enjoy voting here.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve often inflamed my Lib friends on the subject of immigration. I say that there is no need for Congress to slave away writing such a law. All they have to do is take the Mexican rules, translate them into English and, voila. When the Libs see what the Mexican law requires, they run screaming.

    Like

    1. Steve: Yes, Mexico doesn’t believe in open borders with the notable exception of giving foreigners from about anywhere a free ride atop a train from the southern border to the northern. At that point, we drop them off at the tunnel entrances to Texas, Arizona, New Mexico and California. And we wave adios.

      Like

      1. The train ride through the country was a horrific nightmare with thousands being killed by falling off or decapitated by low electric wires. Now, the US has pressured Mexican authorities to stop immigrants from the riding of trains. Authorities don’t have much man-power so the Mexican gangs have taken the lead of kidnapping, extorting and murdering Hondurans and other Latin Americans who attempt the Death Trains. You are living in a fool’s paradise, where Mexican banditos are renowned for calling the wannabe immigrants relatives on his/her cell phone, cutting off fingers and other body parts on the phone, then extorting money from the family. I guess open borders are nil, there.

        By the way, those gang members are likely not registered to vote in Utopia either.

        Like

        1. Laurie: The “death trains” exist 100 percent due to the U.S. open border. If the U.S. had effective border control — yes, it’s certainly possible — the hordes of people down south would not be pouring through Mexico. Let’s put the blame where it belongs. They go because they know the border is open to them.

          I’ll bet most gang members have voter cards. It’s simply a national ID that you get asked to show most everywhere. And they are easy to get.

          Like

            1. Señor Gill: I love the idea of their going home too.

              By the way, if you put the URL of a video in a comment on its own line, it appears in the comment itself. Easier.

              I did it. Take a look, if you wish.

              Like

    2. The immigration laws in Mexico are far more liberal than those of the USA. Felipe might want to remember the ease at which he fulfilled all of the requirements (requirements that are easily met) from when he first immigrated until he acquired nationality. That would also include the ease at which a foreigner can marry a Mexican citizen, far, far less complicated and time consuming than what Felipe would have had to have done to have married his child bride in the US.

      Like

      1. Alex: How right you are, mostly. It’s far easier to immigrate into Mexico legally than it is into the U.S. legally, and there’s an excellent reason for that. Few people want to move to Mexico, and hordes want to move to the U.S. It’s a supply-and-demand matter. The two situations are apples and oranges, not really comparable.

        As for marrying a foreigner in the U.S. I imagine it’s simpler there due to marriage being done in local jurisdictions. The federal government has nothing to do with it. I would guess that marrying a foreigner in the U.S. is no more complicated than marrying a citizen. In Mexico, the federal government insists on a role. I had to get permission from the immigration people to marry my Mexicana, and I had to pay a fee of some size. I forget exactly how much, but it went to Tio Sam, not to the judge or City Hall.

        Becoming a citizen, on the other hand, was a ridiculously simple piece of cake, especially when I did it. Nowadays, you have to jump through a few hoops, recite a few things, etc. But when I did it, it was no more complicated than my previous annual renewal of the visa. There seems to have been, for whatever reason, a window of opportunity between about 2001 and 2006 when becoming a Mexican citizen was simply a matter of asking for it. And you got it. I lucked out.

        And it’s one of the smartest moves of my life.

        Like

        1. Let me clarify (especially since we are discussing immigration) the rules regarding a U.S. citizen marrying a foreign citizen with the intent of residing in the U.S. For example, if you had intended to marry your child bride with the idea of her living with you legally in the U.S. you would have needed to procure a special visa for her to enter and reside in the U.S.

          Years ago, long before 9/11, I went through the process of applying for a “fiancee visa” for my soon-to-be bride. It took some six months for the paperwork and interviews, etc. And she could not be present in the U.S. during this time. Once we had satisfied the U.S. federal government’s requirements, she was issued her fiancee visa which meant she had six months to enter the U.S. and then 90 days once in the country to marry and report to U.S. immigration, where she was interviewed in order to prove our blessed matrimony was not a farce, or what they referred to a a “marriage of convenience.” Only then was she issued a Resident Alien Card.

          Now this was a long time ago. These days it is even more difficult, takes far longer and much more expensive. One of the more onerous conditions is a trip to the U.S. Consulate in none other than the lovely border city of Ciudad Juarez for an interview prior to issuance of the desired fiancee visa.

          Dealing with Immigration here is, as they say in colloquial español, pan comido.

          Like

          1. Ahhh, I was not thinking of that sort of marrying a foreigner. I was just thinking of marrying someone in the U.S. who was born in another country, but was in the U.S. legally, as I was in Mexico legally when I married my Mexicana.

            The situation you mention is totally different, of course. Yes, the U.S. does make that complicated.

            I guess the idea of settling in the U.S. when the far superior option of Mexico awaits just below the border did not enter my feeble mind.

            It was fairly simple to get married here.

            Like

            1. Actually we never lived in the US. When we planning on getting married those oh, so long years ago it was a BIG hassle for a foreigner to get married to a Mexican. Everything was centralized and that meant spending several weeks in the DF getting the run around from Gobernacion trying to get the necessary permit. Things have changed tremendously since those days (1970s).

              Recent arrivals such as yourself and many others on these blogs haven’t got a clue of how easier it is these days when dealing with the government. Prior to the Zedillo adminstration, with the pressures that were being placed on the PRI at that time, bureaucrats ruled. Even the slightest tramite with the government was about enjoyable as a root canal.

              Like

  5. You write, Yet somehow the poor people of Mexico do it just fine. And no gnashing of teeth.

    Do you have any statistics whatsoever to back up that claim? What percentage of poor Mexicans have a credencial de elector?

    Also, corruption of all kinds is rampant in Mexico. Not so much NOB. Shouldn't different societies have different rules that fit their particular circumstances?

    NOB, conservatives have made a lot of noise about so-called voter fraud, but have not been able to provide any statistics whatsoever to indicate that it's a problem at all, e.g., something that would change the outcome of an election. In fact, from everything I've read, it is a *very* rare phenomenon. Instead, the voter ID movement is all about voter suppression. Whether poor, uneducated people should get IDs, or whether it's easy or not, doesn't this voter ID push undermine democracy? Perhaps we should bring back literacy tests too? Can't name 40 state capitals? Don't vote!

    Should we govern based on fact and evidence? Or should we govern based on who screams the loudest?

    I fear we are leaning toward the latter.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where only the electricity company knows for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim: I have no idea what percentage of Mexicans have the voter ID/national identity card, but it seems very common. And getting one is not difficult, and it’s free. And I’ve never heard a single soul whine that it’s unfair.

      I think proving you’re a citizen to vote is a no-brainer. Most nations require it, but not all, and some have wiggle room of one sort of another. Personally, I think all voters should be citizens, no matter the country.

      Literacy test to vote? I’m all for it. And some other requirements too. Universal suffrage is a very bad idea.

      But then my idea of an ideal government is an enlightened monarchy, so I’m not the best fellow to ask. If only enlightened monarchies were sustainable past one generation of royalty.

      Like

    2. Kim: I thought about you today while I was in the bank paying a car-insurance bill with my debit card at one of the windows. The cashier asked for the voter card as ID. That’s typical, and why I wager most Mexicans have one. It’s more a national ID than a voter card, and we Mexicans are asked to flash it for scads of things we do.

      Unlike in the U.S., nobody aside from traffic cops ever asks to see your driver’s license. Never. It’s always the voter card, and if you want to get things done smoothly, you need one.

      Like

      1. That makes sense, as many (most?) Mexicans don’t own a car. And thanks to Salinas de Gortari for the credencial de elector, or the PRI never would have lost its iron grip on the country. Saludos!

        Like

  6. Way too much trouble to get registered to vote NOB.

    The whole system is flawed. They make you have an ID to buy booze, to drive, to get unemployment, Social Security, library books, but to vote it’s too much of a hassle. Besides, if you had an ID, thousands of dead Chicagoans would cease to vote.

    Like

Comments are closed.