Photo promo

camPEOPLE WHO’VE not visited my sister sites on Tumblr lately will be shocked and amazed at their recent entries.

The Eyes of the Moon collects black-and-white photos of, mostly, my town. You’ll find shots of hippies, nuns, indigenous folks, ancient churches and buildings, Colonial rooftops, beautiful women, cute kids, and so on.

In colorful contrast is Satellite Moon where you’ll find stuff like Hacienda videos and Jerry Lee Lewis and even Phobe Buffay singing Smelly Cat. And short yarns and revelations.

And no politics!

21 thoughts on “Photo promo”

  1. The Eyes of the Moon reminds me of John Steinbeck’s “The Forgotten Village.” Every thing changes, but every thing stays the same.

    Like

  2. You have a knack for taking great photo shots. Keep it up, then make a collection and sell it on Amazon.

    That camera you have in your blog story was one of my first real pro cameras. It was a fantastic camera that was very popular in its day. The original price back then was about $500 which would be lots of money nowadays. Sadly, we have gone away from film. I miss the whole process, albeit time-consuming. I would love to have my Rolleiflex back. Just to handle it again.

    Like

    1. Tancho: You’re referring, of course, to the little camera “mug shot” on the post. I picked that photo simply because it looked like an interesting camera. Unlike you, I don’t wish for the good ole days of film. Digital photography is so much easier, quicker, convenient, you name it.

      Like

    2. I’m sure you could get one on eBay for a song. Film cameras are worth nothing these days, though I note SOB that people are still using them.

      Like

  3. I know you told us about your Tumblr site before, but I never got there. Today, I finally signed up for Tumblr, and am blown away by your photography. I’ve been missing out! So glad you posted this promo!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve enjoyed checking out all of your extracurricular sites even prior to this “promo”. The Slickpic photo gallery is also very good. I like the Hacienda pics. Except perhaps for the cocina. A bit much for my eyes having that backsplash extended everywhere. But as long as it works for you and the bride. 🙂

    Like

    1. Scott: Actually, that’s not a backsplash in the kitchen. It’s the entire kitchen. To the ceiling and all the way around. Both bathrooms are the same, total talavera tile, but different colors. It’s not subtle, is it? But it’s an old Mexican decor style, entire rooms, usually kitchens and baths.

      The kitchen was supposed to be yellow and black, but instead of yellow, they delivered what they call mustard. Since it’s the kitchen, I guess that fits. I preferred the yellow, but my wife likes the mustard, and I’ve gotten used to it after 12 years.

      It always surprises me that, apparently, so few people click on the links I have prominently displayed in the side columns. Oh, well. As they say, you can lead a horse to water, but you cannot make him drink.

      But you drank, which is good.

      Like

  5. The photos on “overtheriogrande” are lovely. But the navigation on the other site is a bit confusing. I checked it a couple of times, but each time, the “tiles” seemed to be arranged randomly, which made it hard to find the new stuff.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we only have energy for one blog, and barely one at that.

    Like

    1. Kim: That Satellite Moon site always has the newest item at the top left next to the box with my photo and description. It is kind of whoopsie-daisy, I know, but you can either look at the posts where they are — most are photos or videos — or click one and get it on the entire page. It’s not that complicated, and it’s colorful.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad to know that buffets are not “time-sensitive,” hahaha… (Just don’t tell the buffet owners; no sense in word getting out.) Saludos!

        Like

  6. I have visited Eyes before — and was impressed. But you really caught me this time with the baby casket. Poignant and practical. And that says a lot for the country we love.

    Like

Comments are closed.