The old cholo

cholo

IT WAS PRETTY cold downtown the other day, but more than anything it was windy, which made it seem colder still.

Your never-humble correspondent struck a pose to share because I’m a sharing sort of fellow.

Sometimes it’s good to get personal.

People who live above the Rio Bravo tend to think that Mexico is about beaches, sun, margaritas, rayon shirts and Bermuda shorts, but it’s like that only in some places.

And those are not good places to live, just to visit.

This, plus a couple more, were added to my photo exhibit.

11 thoughts on “The old cholo”

  1. The weather has been screwed up because of El Niño which sometimes causes catastrophic weather conditions. Ciudad Juarez has seen at least 30 centimeters of snow this week. Some municipalities in Sonora have reported temperatures dropping as low as 32 degrees. Freezing weather is a penalty for living on a mountain top.

    Like

    1. Andrés: It often freezes overnight here in winter, and that’s a good thing. It keeps the Gringos away, at least the sissy ones. I do not regard it as a penalty, but a blessing. Oddly, on occasion we’ll pass an entire winter without a freeze. If memory serves, it did that just last year.

      Having spent my first 55 years sweating in overly balmy zones of the United States, the weather on my mountaintop is a blessing.

      Keep in mind that we have no central heating system, proving that I am no sissy.

      Like

    1. Mike: Yeah, I’m holding up pretty good, all things considered. Thanks for the invite. I’ve never been in Colorado. Alas, the chances of that happening are pretty slim. The chances of my ever setting foot in the U.S. at all are pretty slim.

      Like

  2. You just need a specially-lowered, ’63 Impala to go with that hoodie and you are all set.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where your “winter” weather sounds like a refreshing break from the real thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim: While I get your drift about the 1963 Impala, I’d far prefer a 1948 Packard Super Eight Victoria Convertible. I’d likely look less cholo, but I’d have a broader smile on my face.

      Like

      1. Interesting car. Original list price was $3,250, the equivalent of about $32,000 today, about the price of a mid-segment car. Of course contemporary cars have tons of features that the Packard didn’t, as they are far more complex.

        Like

          1. Since I’m from California where cars seem to live forever, I’ve seen both on the road. In the 80’s I used to occasionally see an ancient lady driving a somewhat-less-ancient Packard around Redwood City from time to time. She appeared to have maintained it well (likely was the original owner) and probably felt like it met her needs just fine the way it was. My guess is that she is no longer with us, but her Packard is likely a prized possession in someone else’s garage.

            Like

Comments are closed.