Nomenclature

THERE’S LOTS of name-calling happening in the political sphere these days north of the Rio Bravo.

It’s something I avoid. Name-calling, that is. I avoid it because I am a Southern Boy, and my mama taught me to be nice.

leftYet a friend who votes Democratic — twice for Weepy Barry* —  says I call names. He believes this because I refer to him as collectivist and left-wing.

I intend no disrespect, just clarity of speech.

This is not name-calling. There exists a political divide as everyone knows. On the right side are conservatives, libertarians and the occasional Fascist. On the left are “liberals,” “progressives”** and the occasional Communist.

When I say someone is left-wing, leftist, etc., it is stating that the person in question is to the left of the political divide. I also favor the term collectivist when speaking of leftists.

Collectivist refers to the left’s embrace of collective action to solve problems. One of the primary differences between leftists and rightists is the left’s liking of collective solutions.

Rightists generally dislike collective solutions. We prefer freedom of choice.*** If you want to help someone individually, you do so. If you want to join a collective to solve problems, you are free to do so, but you are not coerced.

Leftists embrace coercive methods to promote collective solutions. Rightists abhor coercion. Obamacare is a classic case of coerced collective action to solve a problem.

rightRightists don’t get riled when called right-wingers or rightists. We embrace it as a badge of honor and clear thinking. We are, with some few exceptions, people who prefer freedom.

I will admit that the far edge of Rightism, like the far edge of Leftism, often embraces tyranny. Tyranny is dreadful, no matter if it’s brought to you by a Hitler or a Stalin.

Leftists don’t like being called leftists, and they often deny the label in spite of crystal-clear evidence that they are.

A few years ago, I accurately referred here to a friend as a left-winger. She quickly emailed to call me an a-hole, but she spelled it out. A-hole is a lovely example of name-calling.

Alas, she is now on comment-moderation status.

A-hole is name-calling. So is jackass, sumbitch, pendejo (Spanish name-calling), well, I could go on. You know true name-calling when you see it.

Leftist and rightist do not fall into the category of name-calling. They are accurate adjectives. Collectivism is the preferred political system of leftists. It is not name-calling either.

Check your Funk & Wagnalls.

And anyone who voted for Weepy Barry, the most leftist president in U.S. history, not once but twice, is clearly a leftist, which is not name-calling. It’s a political preference.

One should embrace one’s preferences, not deny them. In that spirit, I will be categorizing posts here in a new fashion. When they deal with politics, it will clearly state Right-Wing View above the headline. See above.

When it’s dealing with my Mexican world, you will see Mexican Life. If I ever post fiction again — which seems unlikely — you will see Fiction. Anything that does not fall into one of these three categories will be labeled The Odd Pot.

These categories appear just above the post headline.

* * * *

* Since Barack Hussein Obama recently shed tears during a speech about gun control, I will henceforth refer to him as Weepy Barry. He continues to embarrass his nation.

** I put these in quote marks because I do not believe they are accurate adjectives for today’s Democrat Party.

*** Yeah, I know. Not where abortion is involved. Rightists are imperfect people, as are all people.

(Note: Some voters claim to be “Independents.” I don’t buy it. In the severely separated political world of today, you cannot be a fence-sitter. Bill O’Reilly says he’s Independent, which is laughably ridiculous.)

19 thoughts on “Nomenclature”

  1. There are so many things to weep for that, as an opportunist, he chose one that most people know about. What about all those kids on the streets of Chicago. He clearly said that without so much as a quivering chin.

    Like

    1. Carole: The streets of Weepy Barry’s hometown, of course, run red with blood on a daily basis. Since Chicago, long a bastion of leftist government, has strict gun control, I just don’t understand how that could happen.

      It’s quite the mystery.

      Like

  2. Explain this to me please. I consider myself a liberal; in that I think people should be able to do pretty much whatever they want, as long as it isn’t harmful to others. By that, I mean financially, physically, and degrees of mental harm such as racism and bullying. I don’t include suspending an 8 yr. old from school because he has nail clippers in his pocket.

    I believe that a woman has the right to have an abortion. I don’t think it should be someone’s regular form of birth control, but it’s a personal decision for an individual to make. Yet, the religious right think that they should collectively decide that this medical procedure, legal in Canada and most of, if not all of the US, should not be allowed. You excluded this because it doesn’t fit into the model, I also think that Marijuana should be legalized, even though I don’t personally use it anymore, and that most other drugs should be decriminalized, and abusers should be treated, not jailed. I think that most of the ‘War on Drugs’ bunch are more likely to be on the right.

    I can come up with more examples, this is just a simplified explanation of why your saying that all liberals are standing under the same umbrella, cowering and waiting for the sky to fall on our heads, while being protected by the macho conservative with his Radio Flyer full of assault rifles, is crap.

    Saying that using adjectives is different than nouns is just being passive-aggressive, something that I was short-listed for to win a Nobel Prize. I know that you are also quite good at it, and that you enjoy goading some of your followers just to get a response. You can describe me with adjectives rather than call me nouns all day long. I know you are just looking for a response. You can call me most anything, but as left or liberal as I am, I sure don’t fall into your collectivist basket, and most of the people I know as liberals, at least in Canada, don’t.

    But at least you kept me occupied for half an hour. Thanks.

    Like

  3. While I’m in a ranting frame of mind, let me include that I am a believer in racial profiling, in Toronto, with a population of over 6 million, 85% of violent crime is committed by a small minority. Less than 5% of the population is black (not African-American, if I am white, they are black), and black men under age 30 are responsible for that 85% of crime. I’m sorry that innocent people fall under suspicion, but 65 yr. old Ukrainian women don’t do drive-by shootings. My feelings are the same for terrorism suspects; sorry for the inconvenience, but if you’re a middle eastern Muslim, you’re being X-rayed before you get on a plane, and sniffed by bomb detection dogs. Collectivist, I don’t think so, but I wish Trump hadn’t changed his mind about building a wall along the Canadian border, but I’m kind of glad that Cruz renounced his Canadian citizenship.

    I think I’m done now.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Who knows, Felipe? I will be leaving my safe homeland for two months in the scary USA soon to be inundated with the U.S. version of politics, so I will have a better idea then, but to this point, there doesn’t seem to be a good one on either side. Pick the least harmful shouldn’t be the choice, but the negative approach that is being used in campaign strategies now makes it so un-considerable to the kind of person who should be running, that you get candidates that don’t have the skills required, you get people with thick skin and their skill is in raising money from companies that will profit from someone they can control.

        We are the ones to blame, we let it happen.

        Like

        1. Kris: Yet again, we agree. Totally on this one. Perhaps you’re a closet conservative, or maybe I’m one of those fence-sitters. Or perhaps neither really knows where he stands. One thing I ain’t is a collectivist.

          Have fun in the U.S. of A. The last time I was in that sad land was just a couple of months after Weepy Barry was inaugurated. I feel tainted, stained somehow. I wish I were able to say I had missed it altogether.

          Like

          1. Sadly for the future, but good for us, we lived in the best place to live (North America) when it was in the heyday of invention and freedom. My not-so-humble opinion is that greed put us where we are now. Sending manufacturing jobs away to save a few cents, bringing in migrant workers to do work that we’re too good for, and allowing people to make a career out of unemployment and welfare has gotten us into a situation that no politician has the guts to abolish. How can it improve without a shift in the fundamental expectations of the mass populace? Neither of the mainstream parties in the U.S., or those in Canada, are willing to address the problem that too many people want a free ride, and I have to admit that I can’t watch children suffer because their parents are lazy bums. Should have stayed in Mexico, I guess. Have to think about that one.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Kris: I do take issue with one thing you state — something that comes straight out of the collectivist playbook — jobs, manufacturing and otherwise, are not shipped overseas to “save a few cents.” When it’s done, it’s done for solid financial reasons that add up to considerably more than a few cents. Otherwise, it would not be done. Businesses are in business for one thing only, maximize profits. They are not charities. They do touchy-feely things on occasion for PR reasons.

              The U.S. has one of the highest — possibly THE highest — corporate tax rates in the world. This is quite counterproductive.

              Like

              1. I agree with you on most of that. North American workers priced themselves out of the market. Easy-to-obtain credit made folks think that they should live beyond their means. I knew a guy who quit school after grade 7, and got a factory job. I ran into him again 30 years later when I was working with a developer. The guy and his wife both worked in the factory, assembling telephones, making over $30 an hour, and were having a house built in a subdivision where my dentist lived, and were living the high life. A year later, those phones were being built in Asia. The company had been financing itself with the employee pension plan, and over 1,000 people were screwed. That happened to millions of people. I know that businesses are in business to make money. They had to pay the employees a high wage to keep them until they found a way out. You get my drift, everybody takes some responsibility … except me because I’ve never worked under a “collective” agreement and managed my own pension.

                What a lovely public discussion we’re having, Felipe, I should buy you an ice cream.

                Liked by 1 person

  4. Sadly, the name calling has been hoisted up to a completely new level thanks to this wonderful technology called the Internet. If you read any commentary to stories theses days what you see is wisdom from idiots believing they are truly anonymous.

    And as Forrest Gump stated, “That’s all have I have to say about that.”

    Like

    1. Scott: Comments on internet news stories are appalling, and it’s people from both ends of the political spectrum. We’ve come to expect that from the left, but my fellow conservatives, who should know better, are just as bad.

      Like

  5. Men are always so quick to support abortion on demand because they have a legal way to get rid of a child they do not want to support financially. They have no idea what having an abortion does to a woman, physically and mentally – nor do I think for a moment that they care. I wish men would shut up about “abortion rights” – like it is always strictly a woman’s decision about “her body” – how many women have been coerced into “getting rid” of their babies for the convenience of a man?

    The coercion is not necessarily from the right to not terminate a pregnancy – many, many times it is a man – the father – who does not want to face the consequences of his actions (a child). No one on the left – and no man – ever points this out. So, sometimes those right wingers are offering a sad, abandoned and scared woman a way out that does not involve terminating her pregnancy. A place to live and prenatal care and then adoption assistance if that is what she decides is best.

    Have you ever noticed how many of those in the Planned Parenthood hierarchy – those making the big bucks off of poor, young, scared women – are related to politicians? Government funded Planned Parenthood is a way to funnel big salaries to the (loser) children of politicians. So what if babies have to die and women’s lives have to be ruined if the daughter of Ann Richards (former governor of Texas) can have a big house in West Austin.

    Like

    1. Bonnie: To me, it’s a very complicated issue. Outlawing abortion, like the disastrous “War on Drugs”, only forces it underground. It still gets done, but in a more hazardous fashion. I support legalized abortion in the very early stages. As time passes, it gets into a very murky, moral area.

      I would argue with you that all women who get abortions, or who want to, are poor, young, scared women, or that they are somehow being forced into doing it by men. Some of the women are like that, of course. It’s impossible to know what percentage, however.

      When I was 20 and dating a fellow university student in New Orleans, she got pregnant. This was before Roe V. Wade. She lined up an illegal abortion appointment. I talked her out of it, and married her even though I was not in love with her. The marriage lasted five years.

      My daughter turns 50 in April. In the 16 years (this month!) I have lived in Mexico, she has never come to visit. No good deed goes unpunished.

      Like

Comments are closed.