Home Sweet Home

house

THIS HOUSE sits directly across the street, and its upper reaches are clearly visible from our upstairs terraza, which is where I was standing as I snapped this shot.

It’s been sitting there, unpainted, unfinished, for years. I imagine it’s someone’s retirement home, down the line. Building homes, very slowly, bit by bit, is common in Mexico. Often the cash is being sent by illegals in the United States.

But I don’t think that’s the situation here. About two years ago, there was a snazzy sedan parked outside, and I spotted a middle-aged couple on the roof, looking our way. I waved, and they waved back. New neighbors, someday.

Maybe they work in Guadalajara or Mexico City.

Prior to that, for a year or so, construction was under way over there. It reached the point you see here, and stopped. Nothing has happened since, a couple of years now.

When it’s finished and painted, it will join the Hacienda as one of the nicest homes in our hardscrabble neighborhood.

Home Sweet Home — for them.

Recently, I learned of another Home Sweet Home, but it is being sold. It belongs to a cyber-amiga named Debi and her husband, Tom. They are selling their house in downtown Mérida in order to return to the United States.

You encounter this on occasion. Gringos or Canucks who move to Mexico but discover it’s too much for them, the changes.

What’s unusual in Debi and Tom’s case is the long time they’ve lived here. Most people, I believe, see the error of their ways rather rapidly, within a year or two — or even months. Debi and Tom have lived in Mexico almost a decade.

If you’re looking to move to Mexico, their Mérida home would be a nice choice. They even have a low-mileage, Mexican-plated 2002 Chevy Corsa that appears to come with the deal.

But returning to the United States after a decade in Mexico is an inexplicable move as I see it. A team of wild, angry burros could not drag me back across the Rio Bravo.

debi
Back yard with pool at Debi’s house.

 

4 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home”

    1. Christine: It does get hot there, but plenty of people like that, obviously, because there are lots of Gringos and Canucks who have settled in Mérida. Like you, I am not one of those people. I spent my entire adult life before I moved to Mexico sweating in the southeastern U.S., especially New Orleans which must be experienced to believe in summertime. I did not want more of that. And I’ve been quite comfortable here on the mountaintop ever since.

      From what Debi has said, it’s Tom who wants to go back. She doesn’t. Now there’s a dilemma for you.

      Like

      1. I saw Debi’s house in Mérida on her well designed website, and it looks very nice. But we are quite content here in the Michoacán mountains. We are staying here. Except that this time of year, we could use some of that Yucatán warmth.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

        1. Don Cuevas: Yes, after yesterday’s cold rain here all day, a little Yucatan warmth would have been nice. With luck, things will dry up here today, or so says the forecast.

          Like

Comments are closed.