Downtown at dusk

shot

new

I’VE SPENT 34 years of my life in tourist towns. The first was New Orleans — 18 years — and now here on my colonial Mexican mountaintop — 16 years.

My heart goes out to people who pass their lives in Topeka or Barefoot Bottom, Georgia. Yes, there is such a place.

There are different styles of tourist towns. Some may not look like much themselves, but their location makes them tourist attractions. Beach locales are one example.

If you count beach locations as tourist towns, and I am, then we have to add my childhood decade in Florida to the aforementioned 34 years, making a total of 44 years.

But let’s stick to tourist towns that are tourist draws simply because they’re beautiful. And where I am right now certainly qualifies. Look at those photos.

Late yesterday afternoon, I was sitting on one of the cement benches that surround our plaza, just watching folks, enjoying the view, the cool breeze, stuff like that.

I had my camera in my man bag with my Kindle, so I whipped the camera out and took these photos.

I’m a sharing kind of guy. I hope you don’t live in Topeka or Barefoot Bottom, Georgia, either.

That would be so sad.

8 thoughts on “Downtown at dusk”

  1. I grew up in a large beach community in Florida which was widely referred to as the retirement capital of the nation. The critics referred to it as God’s waiting room. The Chamber of Commerce spent millions every year promoting tourism. Every winter the city was besieged with migratory seasonal snowbirds. They were typically retirees who wished to avoid the snow and cold temperatures of northern winters.

    I am now retired in a Mexican city one could call an anti-tourist town which suits me just fine. I am practically the only foreigner in town with the exception of a few Jehovah Witness missionaries. The critics claim the city is just not pretty.

    Like

    1. As you well know, Andrés, I’ve been in your town lots of times, and it ain’t pretty. I kind of like it though. It has a certain rakish charm, plus some really good seafood restaurants.

      Like

    1. Angeline: I don’t know how many towns have bakeries on the plaza. Perhaps quite a few. However, this one on our plaza is a relatively recent arrival. It’s only been there about two years or less. There is another one that’s a block off the plaza, and it’s been there as long as I can remember, probably before I arrived.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I’ve spent most of my life in tourist towns, San Francisco, Los Angeles, Boston. And it’s mostly good. After all, people don’t pay big bucks to fly to boring, ugly places and hang out for a week or two.

    However, in San Francisco, I used to work in the Embaradero Center, which had a semi-open-air shopping mall on the first two floors. So to get to my office, I’d have to take an escalator to the second floor where I’d then get an elevator to the 19th. Well, let’s just say that there are many tourists in San Fran who didn’t seem to have much experience with escalators. So many many mornings, I’d be on the escalator behind tourists who, when they got to the top of the escalator would simply stop in bewonderment at the mall before them. There was no way to avoid rudely pushing through them because they’d always stop short of the end of the handrails.

    In Boston, the problem is a little different. There, people ask directions, but they are NEVER prepared for the complexity of the answer. So go ahead, ask how to get to Fanueil Hall, but be prepared for this answer.
    OK, walk down Tremont, four blocks. But remember that at the second block you have to make a sharp right at the intersection in order to stay on Tremont. When you get to the five-street intersection, take the third left onto Marginal. Go two blocks, walk though the park, and then there’s this alley you have to cut through…. And they think we’re rude when we say, “Just get a map.”

    But generally such places are fun to live, so I have no regrets.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    DF, México
    Where we are now one of the annoying tourists.

    Like

  3. In some Mexico cities, each Colonia has its own little city with their own religious traditions, customs and style going way back to the 16th century. Each Colonia has its own reputation and annual celebrations. Some Mexican cities do not need tourism to survive and prosper.

    Like

    1. Andrés: My colonia actually was a separate town, but it’s been annexed into the bigger neighbor next door. We have our own plaza with our own church just like a real town.

      Like

Comments are closed.