The long table

kitchenBW

SEE THAT CHAIR down there, just opposite? That’s my chair, and it’s where I sit when I eat a morning bagel or an afternoon pozole. The King’s Chair, and I’m the King.

The Queen sits to my right. The Princess and her Prince by marriage live in Georgia and have yet to visit the castle.

Perhaps one day.

Nobody sits at this table for the evening meal, which at the Hacienda is always a green salad with diced chicken on top. I make that, and we go upstairs and watch something on Mexican Netflix, a great service.

We have side-by-side recliners separated by a tiny table.

But this is a view I rarely see, which is why I photographed it. What I always see is what’s behind the photographer’s back. That would be me at this moment.

There’s a big window to the left, and another behind, both of which provide great outdoor views.

But it’s uplifting to view life from a different perspective now and then. I think so, and I want to stay uplifted.

6 thoughts on “The long table”

  1. Many years ago, Sra. Cuevas and I made Mu Shu pork in that very kitchen, and it was eaten at that table by the King and Queen of the Castle and ourselves, of course.

    (I consider myself the Despot of the Kitchen, a theme upon which I may soon expand upon in my blog.)

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

Comments are closed.