21 thoughts on “The high view”

    1. Jeff: I don’t know anything about fishing. This lake in the video is about 30 minutes away from here, and it’s supposed to be considerably cleaner than our nearby lake, so maybe.

      Like

  1. Zirahuen was on my short list of places to live in Mexico — before I bought the house in Barra de Navidad. Barco would have far preferred that lake to his swimming pool.

    Like

  2. We once ate Caldo de Charales — whole Minnows in broth— in a dockside restaurant at Zirahúen. The bees swarming about our heads and table were a freebie. Nor were we fond of the minnow soup.

    Zirahúen, the lake, is picturesque and beautiful. One Easter, we accompanied some neighbors and their very extended family to swim and eat a picnic lunch on the Zirahuen shore. The lead up to our arrival is too tedious to relate here. At that particular gravel beach, on that particular day, the waters near shore were roiled and muddy by frolicking families. As for the promised picnic, it seems that the air headed sister of our neighbor had gathered up a large bag of the dirty pots of the day before rather la comida. I had a very difficult time finding a snack or something or something at a stand.

    I now prefer to see beautiful Lake Z from our van window as we speed by on the autopista (toll highway)
    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Don Cuevas: Well, that’s what you get socializing with the locals. They socialize their way, and we socialize our way, and rarely the twain comfortably meets.

      I find it appalling that you eat the minnows. I would starve first.

      Like

      1. When they are freshly fried, with a bottle of Salsa Picante Valentina to douse them; plus sufficient cold beer to wash them down, the charales aren’t bad. But they are not at all part of my regular diet.

        And you? I understand that you are, or were a big fan of raw oysters on the half shell.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

          1. Cold beer makes all of it possible.
            (If you close your eyes as you eat them, you won’t notice the charales staring at you with pleading looks.)

            How do you feel about eating frog’s legs? Mariscos La Güera in Pátzcuaro usually does a good job on them.

            DC

            Like

              1. Frogs’ legs taste vaguely like chicken, but with a touch of fish.

                Felipe, you are a constant inspiration to me. I am drafting a post on my own blog that will compare and contrast these small aquatic origin creatures, their edibility, desirability and acceptability. (Especially the last. Why are some desirable and others repugnant?)

                What of “Patas de Mula”, a small, clam–like mollusk with a ridged top shell, and firm, meaty black flesh? Even the liquor is black.

                I was surprised how tasty they are, eaten raw. I’ll have some today at La Güera, as part of an Ensalada de Mariscos (seafood salad).

                Saludos,
                Don Cuevas

                Like

                1. Señor Cuevas: Yes, I am inspirational. Thanks for noticing.

                  As for why some things appeal to us and some things repeal us, I submit that it’s cultural. The effect is greater with some people than with others, of course. My mother would eat brains. I would not. I won’t eat frog legs, and you will. Clearly, my adventuresome spirit does not apply to what goes in my cakehole. My wife, on the other hand, will eat just about anything, and has, including insects.

                  Now how did we get off on this with a post about the aerial loveliness of our land?

                  Like

  3. Ah, another beautiful piece of Mexico. Thanks for the intro.
    I do believe I remember eating either fried or roasted Charales at Chapala. I think I also remember being not too fond of them.

    Like

  4. Amazing what photography can be done with a relatively inexpensive drone. We looked at property there, but unfortunately it was before the autopista or the rebuilt road from Santa Clara was done. It was about an hour over a horrible road to get there which was the deal-breaker. It it was now, I probably would have bought the property.

    Like

    1. Tancho: There are drones, and then there are drones. Some are relatively cheap and some are quite not. God knows what this crew was using.

      When I first moved here, the town of Zirahuén had the reputation of being anti-Gringo. They didn’t want us over there. That’s mellowed now, of course, and so has the drive. Some nice restaurants there too with spectacular views.

      Like

Comments are closed.