Call of the Vatican

church
Taken with my “new” used cell phone. Do forgive the quality.

BEING IN A Mexican family occasionally entails social obligations, mostly regarding the Catholic Church or, as my mama would have said, the Catlick Church.

I’ve been asked numerous times over the years to be a godfather to babies. I’ve always dodged that duty, mostly due to not being Catholic, an easy out.

No matter. Occasionally, I have to make an appearance on the Vatican Trail, and recently I did that when a nephew passed some sort of Catholic threshold.

They have names like First Communion, Confirmation, Confession, Holy Blessing from On High, Walking on Knees. I confess they’re a jumble in my noggin’. They all entail indirectly coughing up some pesos for the Pope through his priestly minions who dress like medieval womenfolk.

Well, anyway, there I was, sitting in one of those Catholic pews with the little kneeling rail at my feet, which creates problems for my long legs, plus I do not kneel.

As the two priests droned on and on, the recorded music rose and fell, the incense burned — I liked that part — the people prayed, we stood, we sat, more droning, I took the photo above of the girl and her parents, sitting dead ahead.

Sitting to my left was my lovely child bride, to her left was her sister, to her left was the poor guy who’d been suckered into Godfatherhood, and then finally, abutting the aisle, was our kid decked out in farcical white, head to heel.

The little angel that he isn’t.

After an hour and 10 minutes, I couldn’t take it anymore, so I stood and left. I was hungry. I bought a couple of street cookies, sat on a steel bench outside the church door and waited.

Not long after, the priests ran out of ideas and ended the hoopla. My people came out. The kid looked the same.

But I did enjoy the incense.

11 thoughts on “Call of the Vatican”

    1. teresa, i keep my internet life apart from my mexican family life 99% of the time, visually speaking, which is why my lovely wife’s face rarely appears here. mine either except in the avatar. same for the kid.

      Like

    1. Ms. Bachelorette: That has a very saucy French sound. I love it. So, you were raised a Catlick. This brings lots into focus. As for being a recovered version, I am not sure that is possible. The Vatican’s brainwashing is very effective. It’s usually a brand for life. I pray you are an exception. I wish you well, er, Bridgette!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I also survived the political affiliation brainwashing by my parents, so I very well may be an exception on the religious front.

        I went to law school with a woman who actually licked her cats. But she was not Catlick.

        Like

  1. Five hundred years of indoctrination is the glue that helps Mexican families stay together.

    Diversity is not always such a good thing as our northern neighbors have discovered.

    Like

    1. Andres: I have long preached that diversity is a problem to be addressed in the kindest way possible. It is certainly not something to promote as the U.S. and western Europe are slowly — and painfully –learning.

      Like

  2. Ms. Shoes: When younger, the idea of a virgin spending the night held much appeal, but now I am married and happy even if she was not a virgin when we met. Neither was I.

    Like

  3. In many Catholic countries, the way of life of the non-believers and non-Catholics is somewhat difficult. One must make a lot of accommodations and allowances. We are of another faith, however, my mother went to Catholic school up until the third grade. Then the church and the government got into an argument over who had the right to lie to and steal from the people. Net result, the school was closed.

    Like

Comments are closed.