10 thoughts on “Frequently asked stuff”

  1. “What are your vices?

    I have no vices. I used to smoke and drink, but I quit smoking in the early 1990s, and I became a teetotaler in 1996. I am now perfect and have been known to walk on water.”

    You are one amazing right-wing nutjob. My blogging hero!

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Is it easier to walk on salt water or fresh? In ‘our home and native land’ (not yours), it’s easy to walk on water in months when the days are short.
        Rock on!

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I was going to make a comment of a similar nature, but you’ve beaten me to it.

          However, I’ll add that walking on salt water is inherently harder, but possible when the winter gets very cold.

          Like

  2. Felipe:

    Congrats on a “FAQ” page. Do people really ask that a lot?

    But given my generally contrary (though polite) nature, I’ll throw a couple of comments back, since you seem to crave attention online as much as you avoid it in person.

    The “generally safer in Mexico” thought is quaint, but completely unsupportable by any data tracked by any organization that is thought to do a good job of it. And of course “safe” can have many aspects. You are *FAR* more likely to be killed in a car crash here than NOB, for example. Or from some other accident. Though I’m not generally a fan of the nanny state, it does indeed keep people safer.

    All that said, I’d definitely say that Mexico is safe enough, i.e., you can go years (as you and I both have) with nary a single problem.

    As for the importance of politics, you surely knew I wasn’t going to be able to let this one lie, didn’t you? I’ll reiterate a constant theme of mine, namely that it’s policy that’s important. Politics is when people do stupid (mostly) or clever (occasionally) things to gain electoral advantage. Like Mitch McConnell flatly stating that he’ll just ignore the constitution and not even consider a new Supreme Court nominee. That’s politics vs something like a flat tax, which is actual policy. (Assuming such an idea could ever be implemented; which it can’t.)

    Hope you’re enjoying life back in “God’s country;” things couldn’t be dandier here in “sin city.”

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    CDMX, México
    Where we TOTALLY agree on the cultural divide thing.

    Like

    1. Kim: To answer your first question, back when I wrote The Zapata Tales, yes, I got lots of questions, mostly via email. However, the experience with The Unseen Moon has been far different. I rarely get questions, so the FAQ is mostly for fun. The Unseen Moon — as was The Zapata Tales — is primarily for fun anyway, something that flies over the head of most readers who take me seriously. I am an entertainer more than anything.

      As for its being safer in Mexico than in the U.S., you can wave your “statistics” around all day, but I’m sticking with my stance, one I imagine I could support with “statistics” too if I dug around online for a bit.

      You are quite correct, however, that one is not safer on the highway here. That is an exception.

      As for politics and your “policy” obsession, I regard policy as an element of politics, a subset, if you will. Of course, it is quite important. Politics, to me, is the entire subject, and it’s a very important subject indeed, one that is ignored at our peril.

      As for ignoring the Constitution and not considering any Supreme Court nominations from the lame duck Weepy Barry, hey, that sounds fine and dandy to me.

      Yes, we are of one mind on the cultural divide thing and the impossibility of overcoming it. I submit that the impossibility is greater for you than for me because you are so irreparably Gringo, mi amiguito. Yes, you are.

      Like

      1. Obama’s not a lame duck until after the election in November. And given that he soundly beat his Republican opponents over two presidential elections suggests that indeed the people have spoken and the Republican senate might do well to listen.

        As for me being “irreparably” Gringo, I’m not sure being Gringo is something that requires “repair.”

        Saludos!

        Like

        1. Kim: In my book, Weepy Barry is a lame duck right now. And as for his winning the last two presidential elections, that just demonstrates the utter cluelessness of the American voter. I’m not a big fan of democracy anyway, as I’ve often stated.

          And, no, being a Gringo is not something that requires repair down here — as if such a thing is possible — but some of us are more set in their Gringo attitudes than others. Perhaps more constant time down here will soften you up a bit, enabling you to “go with the flow” and abandon logic. Who knows?

          Like

          1. Well, the entire Senate is a lame duck too, then, right? And the constant reelection of hacks like Mitch McConnell “just demonstrates the utter cluelessness of the American voter.” See? It’s just as persuasive an argument if you switch the names, isn’t it? So now you agree with me, right? Haha…

            As for going with the flow, that’s what I’m doing, even if I write comments on blogs suggesting I think it’d be a more prosperous country if they used chainsaws and leafblowers instead of machetes and brooms here.

            ¡Saludos y buen día!

            Like

Comments are closed.