Hula hoop girls

hula

SITTING ON the big plaza eating a cupcake I purchased from the bakery just back of the concrete bench where I was perched, I watched the hula hoop girls yesterday.

Girls just wanna have fun.

Purple banners are going up around the plaza in preparation for Semana Santa, Holy Week, which is a big deal around here, almost as big — or HUGE, as  Donald Trump would say –as Los Muertos, the Day of the Dead.

silencio

There are a number of religious processions downtown during Holy Week, and my favorite is the Procession of Silence, which passes by silently, as advertised. That’s it in the photo, another year, and, yes, they dress up like Klansmen.

But we’ll be missing that parade this year because part of next week will find us in the Gringo-infested town of San Miguel de Allende. I’ll be visiting the consular office to renew my U.S. passport, a passport I don’t anticipate ever needing again, but it’s a habit I cannot seem to break.

We’ll be staying downtown at the Hotel Quinta Loreto. It will be our first stay at that hotel.

While Friday will be spent renewing the passport, on Saturday we’ll be visiting with an old friend whom I’ve not seen in 15 years, the psychologist who stitched my heart back together after my last divorce in the mid-1990s.

He’s visiting San Miguel for only four days, his first trip there. He lives in Austin, Texas.

But that is next week. This week — today, actually — we’re having a birthday party at the Hacienda. Our nephew, the lad once known as the Little Vaquero — turns 13. It seems like only yesterday that he was brought home from the hospital with those huge ears that look quite normal now.

And there you have it: hula hoop girls, Holy Week, San Miguel de Allende and the birthday party.

It’s just one thing after another.

16 thoughts on “Hula hoop girls”

  1. I arrived in Michoacan seven years ago during Semana Santa in late March. It was the best move I ever made. Semana Santa is my anniversary week and my favorite week of the year, due in part to the largest craft fair in Mexico held in my community.

    Like

    1. Andrés: Yes, we are fortunate to live hereabouts although your town is too warm for my tastes. To each his own. My coming south also was the best move of my life. As for your crafts fair, I have seen it. It is a very good one. Happy anniversary.

      Like

  2. Getting closer to your neighborhood. In San Louis Potosi now. SMA after Easter and then back your way sometime. I’ll warn you so I can buy you a coffee.

    Like

  3. I always enjoy your description of the highland traditions. We are free of most of them. Of course, ours is not an old settled area. None of the buildings in Melaque are older than I am. Even the church. The Mexican government’s attempt in the 1960s to create a national tradition out of the regional Day of the Dead celebration just did not take root here. As for semana santa, this is a beach town where people come to get away from tradition. And they do.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: I requested one, but was told to just show up. I’ll show up when the office opens at 9:30 a.m. I already have the form printed and filled out, and the photo in hand.

      Like

    1. Ray: You’re way too young to remember the Big Bopper, but I guess you can read, right? I remember him well and his two musical buddies who died in the plane. That was quite a shock to us teenagers at the time. Just as I remember where I was when the news arrived that Kennedy was shot, I also remember exactly where I was when the news arrived about the Big Bopper, Richie Valens and, of course, Buddy Holly.

      As for hula hoops, I imagine you don’t see them much anymore north of the Rio Bravo. Everybody is tuned into their cell phones all day long, I’m guessing.

      Like

      1. Of course I know the song, which was covered later by Jerry Lee Lewis. The Big Bopper won a coin toss to get on that flight. Do you know who lost (but actually won)? No Google, amigo.

        Like

  4. I’ve been told by my newest best friend here in CDMX that Semana Santa is a great time to be in town as all the traffic dies down, you can actually get into popular restaurants, and the whole city grows peaceful. This will be my first Semana Santa in CDMX ever, as F and I always used to use the time to travel somewhere exotic, like your fair burg.

    So I’ll soon see what it’s like to be a Capitalino during holy week.

    By the way, in my post about the silent procession in San Luis Potosí, I wrote an explanation for the “klansmen” hoods that are worn. They’re called capirotes, in case you want to search for it.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    CDMX, México
    Where nothing is silent.

    Like

    1. Kim: While traffic will calm down there, I bet, don’t think it’s going to be all peaceful and such. As for the Klansmen hoods worn here, it’s sort of like the swastika, which had an ancient religious history long before the Nazis ruined the symbol forever. Same for the KKK get-ups, people have been dressing like that for religious ceremonies for a long time.

      It’s all quite interesting, I think.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.