The green life

plant

THIS PLANT is about five inches across. It shares a brightly painted, oval, ceramic pot out on the ledge of the veranda with a few other gems of nature.

You see, I’m not just an internet polemicist, I’m an amateur gardener. Lucky for me, gardening here is mostly a matter of digging a hole and sticking something in that hole.

Then all you must do is stand back and wait. This is the sort of gardening I favor. Low effort.

This is ideal for me because I’m not merely an amateur gardener, I’m a lazy gardener. Sometimes it’s so easy that I commit errors in that I plant things I should not plant.

I know I’ve planted something I should not have planted — or quite often that my wife should not have planted because she horns into my territory now and then, creates problems and flees — when it turns into a major headache.

Over this winter, I have eliminated a great amount of greenery that should not have been planted at all. Being a lazy gardener, I get Abel the deadpan neighbor to do the hard part of chopping down and uprooting and toting away.

As reported previously, two of the three stands of banana trees have been eliminated. Not previously reported was a huge, climbing thing that was elbowing the fern on the Alamo Wall and creeping through the roof tiles of one carport.

An identical beast was in a far corner where I periodically had to chop it back to keep it from invading the neighbor’s farm shed. I favor neighborliness even if the neighbors do not.

The upshot of this year’s cutbacks is that there is more open space out in the yard. I wonder what I can fill it with?

15 thoughts on “The green life”

  1. Beautiful photo, Felipe! I vote you fill the empty space with tables, chairs and maybe a Madagascar palm or two. I bought one of those and it was lovely for about 7-8 years in my yard in Mexico. (And it did not propagate or spread.) I literally did NOTHING to it other than putting it in the ground. I also had a nice statue of the saint Francisco (San Francisco) that I was quite fond of too. Statues are always nice.

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    1. Mike: I Googled a photo. I like the looks of that, but I don’t want to put anything free-standing in the yard. That last sentence on the post was in jest. In any event, things that grow well on the sweltering coast, may not do so well here high in the mountains. I do like that palm, however.

      Like

  2. a cactus rose-how beautiful!!!! i too am an amateur gardener. i love plants and since we  haven’t been allowed to have pets in our complex, i have more plants than ever-they are my babies, taking the place of our furry friends.
     
    i plant a lot of different types of succulents, as you said, they’re easy to grow.  over the years i’ve made little arrangements to give away as birthday or christmas gifts and even sold them at a fundraiser. hey, maybe you can do that too. you can open up your own booth at one of the markets and sell away-next to you, the senora can sell her baked goods!  well, i guess not if you’re a lazy gardener! 
     
    take care felipe.
     
    teresa in nagoya
     

    Like

    1. teresa, i did an internet photo search of cactus rose and all manner of different things appeared. what i have resembles some of them but i’m not totally convinced that’s what it is. maybe.

      Like

      1. We have always called them ‘Hens and Chicks.’ It is fairly easy to grow stuff there though, maybe a little Poinsettia forest?

        Like

          1. The selection of statuary in the local region should make it easy for your discerning eye to find additions.

            Like

  3. How about a nice Emiliano Zapata statue out of cantera? Fitting both the region and the blog name. Politics aside.

    Like

Comments are closed.