15 thoughts on “The big enchilada”

  1. Great clip. You have reminded me I need to get to Mexico City to replace a waistcoat. My tailor calls. Rather, I need to call him. Reflexive verbs work so much better in Spanish.

    Like

    1. Don Cuevas: I’ve long found Vimeo videos to be pokey. I’m sure it has much to do with one’s internet connection. By the way, I’ll take this opportunity to plug my own Vimeo account:

      https://goo.gl/UDzr2M

      Have fun in the Big City. For some reason, my long-time aversion to visiting there has flipped, and now I look forward to visits again. Got no idea why that happened.

      Like

      1. Perhaps we’ll see you the next time you come. It’s a fabulous place, as the video shows.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        CDMX, México
        Where we still marvel at having run into you the last time you came.

        Like

        1. Kim: Yes, perhaps. Trouble is that I really resist making an appointment with someone — anyone — in that monstrous burg due to a number of factors, the traffic being one. We only get around by taxi these days. Got nothing to do with you personally. Of course, you did say you might be willing to travel north, or even to El Centro Historico. We’ll play it by ear. Plus, we have a little construction project for next visit. Gonna lay ceramic tile on the service patio. That’s gonna take a little time, and we cannot stay gone from the Hacienda during the rainy season more than one week. The grass goes berserk quickly. And, no, we don’t give keys to others. We’ll be back in August or September.

          Like

          1. For anyone reading who might be scratching his head, Kim and I found ourselves dining in the same restaurant in the same moment, which was totally unplanned. Not only that, but two tables apart.

            Like

        2. And, yes, the chances of two people accidentally entering the same restaurant in one of the largest cities in the world when they don’t even live in the same part of town (in my case, not “living” there at all) are less likely than being hit by lightning, I would guess. Very odd indeed.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Perhaps, Felipe, you appreciate the appreciation of your condo in Mexico City. It still reminds me of a giant ant colony.

    Mexico City was my first research project in school for my 10th-grade Spanish class in 1960. It was the original mistake on a lake, ruined by the conquistadors when they started draining the water which caused centuries of flooding.

    Like

    1. Andrés: The appreciation in value of the Mexico City digs is certainly nice, but that’s happening whether I’m physically present or not. So, my change of heart is due to something else, something I do not understand. Coincidentally, I’ve had a change of heart/attitude about quite a few things lately. Mexico City is just one element. Maybe I’m losing my mind.

      Like

      1. Or maybe you are just maturing? Taken in small doses, it may be enjoyable. They used to say “Un poquito de veneno no mata.” But we changed our minds at the funeral.
        We have high hopes of once again returning to the big enchilada, but I doubt it will happen.

        Like

        1. Señor Gill: If I get any more mature, they’ll have to call the hearse.

          So your chances of returning to Mexico City are like my chances of returning to the United States, which is to say zip.

          Like

      2. ” I’ve had a change of heart/attitude about quite a few things lately.”

        You mean you switched allegiance from Rafa Cruz to Hillary? Good going!

        Like

        1. Clete: That would not mean a change of heart or attitude. That would mean I’ve lost all capacity to reason and that decades of reading and education had slipped out through my ears like smoke gone sour.

          Like

Comments are closed.