Carnival leftovers

morn

SEE THOSE hanging flags? They were placed there for our Mardi Gras festivities —  in February.

Folks put them up, but nobody ever takes them down. Eventually, the lines break, and they fall, little by little over months. But the banners keep us ever in a party mood.

The photo was taken about 7:30 a.m. Monday. Though it’s mid-April, it was just above 50 degrees, bracing, especially for an old coot in a black T-shirt. There was a bit of morning fog.

I came back in from that terraza, developed the photo and deposited it here. The sun rose more, the flags grew more colorful, a train passed, and another day began.

Bagels were served, and birds sang.

16 thoughts on “Carnival leftovers”

  1. Nice photo. I like looking into the daily life of Felipe. It takes me away from mine for a brief time. Kind of a brief vacation. Keep ’em coming, Felipe!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mike. I’m here to serve. I’ve run quite a few versions of that shot before, but never with the flags, I don’t think. And it is what I see every morning in that direction, which is my favorite direction.

      I’ve been thinking a little more than usual lately about how fortunate I am. When I communicate directly with people above the border, something I don’t do very much, I detect disillusionment, disappointment, unhappiness. Often it’s an subtle undercurrent, but I do sense it.

      A friend visited from Texas recently, and we had lunch in San Miguel de Allende. He was only here four days. I, of course, mentioned how much I prefer living in Mexico, and he asked why. A number of things came to mind, but I answered very generally and accurately: It’s easier to live down here. And it is. There are so many things one can do here with considerably less effort than what’s increasingly required in the United States. And, of course, it’s way cheaper.

      Like

  2. Nice picture. It is interesting to talk to my NOB friends. All are very frustrated with the election and other things. Glad it is no longer our problem.

    Like

    1. Sadly, Patzman, what happens in the United States affects the entire world. We can dodge much of the cultural nonsense taking place up there right now, but it affects us anyway. Unless they get their house in order, it’s gonna be affecting us even more, I fear. And they show no sign of getting their house in order.

      Like

  3. The view from within the walls of your compound is spectacular.

    As for living NOB, it has become a bit tiring.

    Like

    1. Connie: Yep, spectacular it is, and I never weary of it. There’s a large window just above my computer screen that gives me a good bit of it while I sit here. Even more if I sit up straighter and lean forward.

      As for living in the U.S. of A. these days, my heart goes out to you. Even more so since I know how much better it is here.

      I often chuckle at my son-in-law’s telling my daughter shortly after I moved here 16 years ago that I would surely hightail it back to the U.S. within a year. That sure did not happen. Of course, he did not know me very well.

      Like

  4. I am already missing the ease of living SOB. Back to another world now (never mind that sigh you just heard).

    Interesting the decorations are triangular … everything I saw in the San Miguel area was square papel piquado. But, festive it is and sure to brighten one’s day.

    Like

Comments are closed.