The other anniversary

2003
Just after moving in, 2003. Sidewalks were added a year later.
2016
Photo taken yesterday, 2016.

I RECENTLY WROTE of our 14th wedding anniversary in a post titled The Age of Dust. But another annual milestone passed about the same time, the Hacienda’s 13th birthday.

cakeThese events touch on two things I am very proud of: my wife and my home.

Call me old-fashioned.

We got married in April of 2002. Within four months, we had purchased the double lot in an outlying, hardscrabble neighborhood of our mountaintop town, and begun construction based on plans we drew on graph paper.

The work, done by three craftsmen and a helper, lasted nine months. I shot scads of photos, all of which were lost when my computer hard drive committed suicide. Dang!

Thirteen years now, and the place has developed a patina.

And so have I. And that reminds me of another thing I’m proud of, in addition to my wife and home:

I haven’t dropped dead yet.

17 thoughts on “The other anniversary”

  1. The house is looking superb, Felipe. Ours goes on the market today in Bucerias. Maybe we’ll look for one closer to your neck of the woods!

    Have a great weekend, my friend!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mike, and buena suerte with the sale of your place. As for an eventual replacement, you know I think the cool mountains are a far better option than the bug-infested, sweaty beaches.

      It’s the weekend? I never notice. All my days are Saturdays.

      Like

  2. I would say that you are a lucky guy, but I don’t think it is luck. I think it is destiny. Stunning casa, wife and life. Felicidades.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Connie: It’s hard — for me at least — to know how and why good fortune happens. I’ll just settle for being appreciative, which I most certainly am. It came late in life, but it came big-time.

      Better late than never.

      Like

  3. Not dropping dead is a good thing. Especially in your case.

    Felicidades,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where “drop dead” is only good when combined with “gorgeous.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your hacienda is beautiful. Congratulations! In what state of Mexico do you reside? My husband and I were planning retirement in Baja California, but the crime and drug cartels have discouraged us from moving to Mexico. Hopefully, conditions will improve. All the best to you and your lovely wife.

    Like

    1. Babette: We live in Michoacán. As for retiring to Mexico, it’s a superlative idea. You couldn’t drag me back over the border with a full team of burros. Most of the country is quite safe, if you don’t count how the locals drive, often like lunatics. I feel safer here than I ever did in Houston, which is where I lived for the 15 years before moving to Mexico. The hysteria you read on the U.S. media and that which the U.S. State Department puts out is totally overblown and silly.

      That said, just a couple of days ago, I saw some study of the most “dangerous” states in Mexico. Four were tied for first place: 1. Guerrero, Sinaloa and both Baja Norte and Baja Sur, which surprised me. So perhaps Baja is not your best choice. I wouldn’t recommend any beach zones of Mexico anyway due to the oppressive heat and bugs. Much nicer in the middle of the country. Prettier too.

      Like

      1. Felipe: Thanks so much for the information. Back in the early 1980s, my husband and I lived in Guadalajara, Jalisco, for approximately four years. My husband is from Uruapan, Michoacán, and thanks to his employer at the time, we were able to travel around the country though we never had the opportunity to see Oaxaca or the Yucatán peninsula. I will be sure to share your perspective with my husband.

        Like

        1. Babette: My wife was born in Uruapan too. Perhaps we are all related. After your previous comment, I was scratching my head because your name looked familiar. Then I recall I made some connection recently on your Google-Plus page. And that you were born in Cuba.

          Don’t be scared off from Mexico. It’s a great place and, unlike the United States these days, it’s a nation on its way upward. The United States? Well, I’m not optimistic, sadly.

          Like

        2. P.S.: I’ve yet to see Oaxaca too. There have lots of social problems, and I would hesitate to move there, but it’s said to be quite lovely. Been in the Yucatán just once. Quite boringly flat, plus a searing heat. Querétaro is very nice, a great option. Puebla too, but its proximity to the Volcano Popo would give me pause, especially after seeing a documentary some months back about what happened at Pompeii.

          Like

Comments are closed.