The gals celebrate

MY MAN TED CRUZ went down in flames, of course, a tragedy. Perhaps if we’d shown a little more enthusiasm.

Trump people don’t lack enthusiasm, and two of the most enthusiastic, of course, are these ladies who go by the names of Diamond and Silk. We’ve invited them here before.

Now that the smoke has cleared, and it’s obvious that The Donald and Hillary will compete in November, I confess that my “flipping for Hillary” in April was a touch of lunacy.

Perhaps my coffee had not kicked in.

From this moment forth, I am enthusiastically boarding the Trump Train. Read The Thinking Man’s Guide to Donald Trump from the American Spectator magazine.

62 thoughts on “The gals celebrate”

  1. Doesn’t matter if you’re in the first car or the last car, the Trump Train will derail before it ever leaves the station. The fact is that he is a nominee for president is a sad statement on the intelligence and education of the American electorate.

    Like

    1. Charles: Trump has been grossly underestimated since he tossed his hat in the proverbial ring. Everyone who’s doubted him has been proven mistaken by a country mile. I strongly suspect he will be president.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Donald Trump will NEVER be president…you can take that to the bank on your misguided railroad…

        Like

        1. Never say never, Charles. I know the left end of the political spectrum thinks that. Remember that Huffpost declared it was going to cover Trump’s political campaign on its Entertainment pages when he declared his candidacy. I do not read Huffpost, but I suspect he does not grace their Entertainment pages any longer if he ever did.

          He has proven all left-wing predictions wrong from the get-go, so don’t make any heavy bets on your supposition that he won’t win in November. It likely will resemble my firm predictions that Weepy Barry would never be re-elected in 2012.

          Like

        2. Your and Larry down the comment line are utterly convinced Trump will not win. Your opinions reflect your news sources and political opinions, of course, and that makes sense. So do mine.

          There is a story from decades back. I think it was Pauline Kael, the New York Times film critic, who famously declared — I think it was during the 1980 presidential election — that Reagan could not possible win because none of her friends were voting for him.

          I am sure none of your Gringo friends are voting for Trump either.

          But Reagan won.

          Like

        3. Charles: You should not confuse what you want with what’s likely to happen. Everyone, everyone has underestimated Trump the entire way. Why is the US mainstream media suddenly right about Trump losing the general election?

          Hillary is vulnerable to him six ways to Sunday. As he says, he hasn’t even started on her. But he will take her apart. Frankly, I think Bernie Sanders would be a much tougher candidate for him to beat, but that seems unlikely to be the election.

          So get used to saying “President Trump.” It’s probably going to happen.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Would you reconsider Hillary if Bill were her VP? I hear some talk among well-connected Republicans that The Donald will choose Condoleezza Rice as VP.

    Like

    1. Carlos: My momentary insanity on the Hillary campaign was just that. Insanity. And momentary.

      I have not heard that about Rice. Interesting. Would be smart on Trump’s part, but from what I have read about Rice, I doubt she wants to return to politics. But who knows? Everything is nuts this year.

      Like

    2. While it likely would be a smart move from a vote-getting perspective, I would prefer someone different, someone with more cojones. I read Dick Cheney’s autobiography some months back — I’m a big fan of Cheney — and his portrayal of Rice indicates an overly cautious approach to foreign affairs. We’ve had too much of that in the past eight years, and it’s time to switch gears. Cheney’s take on Colin Powell is the same, pussy-footer. Maybe it’s a black thing, a thing that Weepy Barry exhibits in spades.

      Like

      1. You’re probably right on Powell and Rice. I have read Cheney’s book, “Days of Fire” and “Angler” which was supposed to be critical. I agree with you Cheney was one of our best Presidents.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Cheney was the main architect of everything that’s gone wrong in American foreign policy for the last sixteen years. He’d have been a complete disaster if he’d been the president. Bad enough as it was.

            Like

  3. I’m just happy to be here in these interesting times. Can’t wait to see how it turns out so I’ll just peek through the windows from time to time.

    Like

  4. Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
    And we’ll all stay free

    Praise the Lord and swing into position
    Can’t afford to be a politician
    Praise the Lord, we’re all between perdition
    And the deep blue sea

    Shouting, ‘Praise the Lord, we’re on a mighty mission
    All aboard, we ain’t a-goin’ fishin’
    Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition
    And we’ll all stay free’

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Come on, Felipe. How many of your readers know what that is? I only know because I used to defend drug offenders.

        Like

      2. “Praise the Lord and Pass the Ammunition” is an American patriotic song by Frank Loesser and published as sheet music in 1942. The song was a response to the attack on Pearl Harbor that marked United States involvement in World War II.

        The song describes a chaplain (“sky pilot”) being with some fighting men who are under attack from an enemy. He is asked to say a prayer for the men who were engaged in firing at the oncoming planes. The chaplain puts down his Bible, mans one of the ship’s gun turrets and begins firing back, saying, “Praise the Lord and pass the ammunition”.

        I support Trump’s war against the Clintons and the status quo.

        Like

        1. Andrés: I am familiar with the tune though I could have provided no more words than the title. As for Trump’s war against the Clintons and the status quo, I am firmly behind him.

          Like

    1. Larry: I would have vastly preferred Cruz, but I’m trying to keep an open mind now regarding Trump. Evil? Who knows? Let us pray not. He’d have to be pretty bad to be worse or even equal to Hillary. That’s my opinion.

      Like

    1. Señor Cotton: So you are one of those who suspect Trump is a Trojan horse sent by Hillary … or something of that sort?

      I doubt Trump will pick Bernie, but this year anything goes.

      So we’re down to Hillary and The Donald. It’s time for you to man up and pick sides!

      Like

  5. The lesser of two evils is correct. It’s a sad state of affairs in America. The general election will be like a “Loser Leaves Town” match. With the entire population being the losers.

    Like

    1. Scott: I’m doing my dead-level best to think positively about Trump now, and I’m becoming more and more successful at it. But Trump is surely a lesser evil than Hillary even though I am convinced Hillary would be a great step up from Weepy Barry.

      Like

      1. Regrettably, I will be back stateside in November and will have little excuse for not doing my civic duty. I might even consider burning my ballot on the courthouse steps while nude. Protest is a civic duty too, don’t you agree. And besides the whole affair would be protected free speech.

        Like

        1. In all seriousness, take a look at Ben Sasse, the junior senator from Nebraska. If there ever was a white knight, here he is. There is talk about drafting him and dumping The Donald.

          Like

          1. Sasse questioned Trump’s commitment to the U.S. Constitution, in particular accusing him of attacking the First Amendment; he stated that Trump had refused to condemn the Ku Klux Klan and he suggested that Trump “thinks he’s running for King.”

            I suggest Ben Sasse is the one using Felipe’s pipe

            Like

        2. Carlos: While I feel your pain at having to set foot above the Rio Bravo, I encourage you to carry forth with your nude-protest plan. The women will love it.

          Like

    1. David: A third-party candidate on the right would just guarantee a Hillary win. Conversely, a third-party on the left (say, Bernie) would only guarantee a Trump win. Third-party races just insure the defeat of the candidate closest to one’s way of seeing things. In the United States so far, third-party runs are bad ideas.

      Like

  6. Just heard Steffie Stephanopolous, after his trip to Omaha today, say that the governor of the state of Nebraska has endorsed Trump. This after his family contributed a chunk of money to the “Dump Trump” campaign.

    Like

  7. Well, I was frankly appalled when you wrote the piece supporting Hillary. Not because I’m THAT opposed to Hillary. It just seemed like one of those “when hell freezes over” kind of moments.

    The funny thing about Trump is that all the objections I hear to Trump could be said about ANY other politician: he’s a narcissist (and Bill Clinton?!?!); he lies (anyone who you’ve ever heard of who’s in public office); he’s an extremist (depends on who you ask). Or they are kind of ridiculous like “no political experience,” (like all that sage political experience has kept the country from becoming completely fucked up?) Or “he can’t just order Congress around,” (Like he didn’t write an entire best-selling business book on negotiation?) And on and on and on.

    What I personally like about Trump is that: he isn’t owned by special interests; he’s willing to talk about unpleasant truths no one else wants to mention or hasn’t though of (NATO is obsolete, other members not carrying their weight); I think he’d likely scare the bejeezus out of the likes of the Iranians, Russians, N Koreans, and other bad guys; he might well scare Congress into some badly-needed action; and he’s not a religious nutcase. In fact, I don’t think he’s any more anti-abortion than absolutely necessary given the party he’s running in. And I truly don’t believe any of this “racist” crap either.

    So I’m keeping an open mind on Trump, sufficiently open mind that my liberal friends are kind of horrified.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    CDMX, México
    Where we see that Vicente Fox is warming up to Trump too.

    Like

    1. Kim: My lean toward Hillary was a brief moment of total madness. I am so embarrassed. If only I could turn back the clock, but I cannot.

      As for Trump being the target of that hoary, left-wing accusation of racism, stay tuned here tomorrow.

      As for Vicente Fox’s sorta apology to Trump, it has been amusingly absent from Mexican news reports. Plus, Fox went on to endorse Hillary. Fox, of course, should keep his tater trap out of the U.S. campaign entirely.

      That you are appalling your lefty friends with your Trump talk, keep it up! I am embarrassed again that you got on the Trump Train before I did.

      Like

      1. I’m not exactly committed to Trump, but am keeping a very open mind. And I’m also quite aware of how much the mainstream media is lying about him. It’s really rather disgraceful. And the fact is (and I hate to say it, but it appears to be the truth) the violence at his rallies seems to be perpetuated by left-wingers. For shame!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Kim: Of course, the violence at his rallies are 100 percent inspired by the leftists. Which is not to say that our side doesn’t punch back on occasion. I like that part.

          Like

          1. I abhor violence of all kinds. I think we need an open market of ideas, and Trump has as much right to express his ideas as anyone else. And it is absolutely illiberal to try to shut him down.

            Liked by 1 person

              1. Ghandi defeated the British Empire peaceably. Violence may sometimes be necessary, but it’s a lot less necessary than most think, and it should always be the ultimate last resort.

                Like

                1. You know, I was quite taken aback when I found out (written on your blog, no less!) that in fact you had another favorite queen. I was quite devastated that day. And now, you say it’s otherwise. What happens when Milo finds out you’ve switched alliances? Or are you just sweet-talking me now because I’m here chatting with you?

                  I don’t know what to think!

                  Like

Comments are closed.