Busy, busy boy

table
Clean table, devoid of bird do-do on Friday.

FRIDAY MORNINGS are standard, and they are busy.

While my child bride is up to her neck in dough, sugar and strawberries out in her own kitchen by the big gate, preparing for the weekly pastry sale on the main plaza downtown, I have my own responsibilities.

I start with wiping off the glass-top table on the Jesus Patio. I swipe the web chairs while I’m at it. This is done most every morning, not just Fridays.

birdbath
Fresh water for our feathered friends on Friday.

The birdbath can be quite yucky because birds have no sense of personal hygiene, so I have to change the water and wipe clean that ceramic, which I purchased in Dolores Hidalgo.

veranda
Friday morning photo, not recycled.

The plants in the big pots in the veranda must be watered. I do that at least once a week, Friday, but sometimes twice. Some plants have been changed since last I posted this scene.

I sweep daily too. Well, nearly.

Surely, you’re wondering where I get the water to irrigate these plants, and that provides me the opportunity to do something I recall showing just once before.

* * * *

The Garden Patio

gardenpatio
Garden Patio at noon on Friday.

This is the Garden Patio, such a lovely name for the most butt-ugly part of the Hacienda. If you visit the Hacienda, you will not see it unless I lead you there.

Look at the top photo. The Garden Patio is behind that red wall on the left, and the only way to get there, aside from a gate to the back street, is through that narrow, arched opening.

This was a grassy area, more of the yard, after the Hacienda construction ended in 2003. I have since had everything added. The clay-tile roof, the concrete floor, the shelves.

Those two big, black trash bags await the garbage truck. One is yard garbage. The other is non-biodegradable kitchen trash. The white barrel on the left is for kitchen stuff. The big, black can to the right stores yard garbage.

I am too shiftless to compost. Sorry.

* * * *

Garbage truck

trash
Garbage truck back of the Hacienda on Friday.

Those two big, black bags ended up atop the garbage truck which arrived around 2 p.m. while we were eating fish burgers, sauteed vegetables and rice prepared by me.

* * * *

Weedeaters and me

I‘ve long had a love/hate relationship with weedeaters, and now I have a new one in the Garden Patio. Even though Weedeater is a brand name, I’ll be lowercasing it because Mexicans use the word to refer to all trimmers regardless of make.

eater
My Nazi trimmer.

Weedeaters, in my experience, are colossally temperamental. They are cranky to start and prone to stop running for no good reason whatsoever. They can be infuriating.

I’ve had a Truper weedeater and a Weedeater weedeater here at the Hacienda. I loathed them both. Two years ago, I switched to an electric, Sears weedeater, which runs fine but there’s that mile-long cord to contend with.

Last year I learned that Abel the Deadpan Neighbor who mows my lawn with my lawnmower has his own weedeater. He started doing the trimming too, but his weedeater is prone to frequent siestas, undesired timeouts.

In a moment of madness last week, I purchased a gas weedeater, a German Stihl. I then remembered I couldn’t let Abel use it because Mexicans abuse tools that aren’t theirs, so I hope Abel’s weedeater keeps siestas to a minimum.

Meanwhile, my Nazi Stihl will rest in the Garden Patio.

* * * *

Out thataway

All the yard gear in the Garden Patio was stored for years on the opposite end of the property, out by the front street wall and under a red-clay-tile roof there.

My child bride’s pastry kitchen now occupies that space. You can see her walking out there Friday morning in the following photo. She was unaware of the photographer.

willy
Friday was a fine, blue, cool day.

Speaking of plants, one of my favorites is multiplying madly as everything does here. They are the spikey ones you see below. I don’t know what they’re called, but they multiply like, well, like us Mexicans. Catholic plants. Good breeders.

plants
Mighty spike plants

So there you have it, Friday, a busy day, at least until 3 p.m. when all is done, lunch is eaten, dishes are washed because I don’t procrastinate with dishes.

And then it was off to downtown to sit on a sidewalk table with my Kindle and a café Americano negro.

Thanks for passing by.

24 thoughts on “Busy, busy boy”

    1. Señor Cotton: Quite a few of these “joys” I could live without, but it keeps me in fighting trim, I suppose. I just came in from using the Nazi weedeater for the first time. Had a little trouble getting it started, but I think I overprimed it, so my fault. It’s a learning process.

      Unlike you, I moved south with the specific intention of not just owning a house, but building one, and voilá. Dogs were never intended. I prefer wives to dogs.

      Like

  1. After killing around 20 of its predecessors, I’ve found that my Stihl weedeater is the most reliable. Still going after 5 years. Love the birdbath.

    Like

    1. Larry: That is heartening news about the Stihl, thanks.

      I’ve had a birdbath out on the corner of the Jesus Patio almost since we moved in here, but for most of those years it was a dull, clay-colored bowl. A couple of years ago I bought this ceramic one in Dolores Hidalgo, came home, took down the old one, which had been wildly popular, and installed the new. Nobody came. Days passed, then a couple of weeks. It sat there full and lonely, but gradually the fowl warmed up to it, and now it’s as popular — and far more attractive — as the old, brown bowl had been. You have to be patient with birds. They’re slow to catch on.

      Like

      1. I have built a rather large koi pond in my backyard. (Actually it is a swimming pool now reincarnated.) I frequently have an unwanted avian visitor, a rather large heron, who seems to think my pond is his/her personal feeding bowl. I chase him away with angry shouts. Wise bird that he is, he flies to the nearest tree and awaits my disappearance. Only to repeat the cycle. Other than that particular heron, I enjoy Hawai’i’s birds (many endemic only to Hawai’i). I remember your previous birdbath. In fact I seem to remember pictures with birds cavorting there. I’m pleased they’ve adapted to the new one. I too find it more attractive.

        Like

  2. The “mighty spike plants” have often been called “mother-in-law tongues” NOB. I have had in the past both the plants and the mother-in-law. I have neither in my life now. Life is good now!

    Like

    1. Patzman: My first two wives came with mothers-in-law, and they were okay folks. Never had any real complaint.

      But my current, third and final wife came with no mother-in-law. Did come with lots of other relatives, however, to put it mildly.

      Like

    2. patzman beat me with the name of the plant and having recently read about it, but forgotten the name, i looked it up. its scientific name (or should i say botanical?) is sansevieria trifasciata-a lot easier to remember “mother-in-law tongue”.
      your patio is so beautiful! love all those plants.

      teresa

      Like

      1. teresa, oh, yeah, sansevieria trifasciata is a whole lot easier to remember than mother-in-law tongue for sure. of course, i’ll have forgotten them both by mañana.

        yep, the veranda is lovely. mostly my doing. thanks for noticing.

        Like

        1. well, i guess i missed a comma since of course i meant “mother-in-law tongue” is easier to remember. i’m glad you commented-i’m feeling a bit emotional and reading your response made me laugh.

          as for sleep, you are lucky-my hubby sleeps real well too. i need pills to sleep 6 hours. don’t like taking them but without them, i just can’t stay asleep.

          Like

  3. Can’t go wrong with a Stihl. They make the world’s best chainsaw too. Not that a Mexican would ever need a chainsaw, cartels being the exception.

    Like

  4. I like Echo power tools. Nevertheless, the best thing you can do for string trimmers, chainsaws and lawn mowers is ethanol-free fuel. Makes a world of difference. Your veranda is pure eye candy. Well done!

    Like

    1. Old Bent: I’m not well versed in power tools, so I’ve never heard of the Echo brand. Don’t recall ever seeing it down here. As for ethanol-free fuel, never seen that here either. Did you mean to write ethanol instead of ethanol-free?

      Like

      1. Gasoline absent any ethanol. Only a few stations bother to put in storage for it. Some folks like it better in older model cars. Small equipment engines can become gummed up if gas with ethanol sits in the lines for a few months.

        Like

  5. I have a Stihl snow/leaf blower and a Stihl chain saw and an Echo (weedeater) trimmer. The behavior of all these tools seemed to change from erratic starting and running to easy starting and smooth running when I decided to spend the extra money for the premix stabilized fuel sold in about a liter can from Stihl. Even if you can find non-oxygenated fuel with zero ethanol, the fuel inevitably ages and causes problems with gumming up the valves, spark plug, carb, etc., etc. I found it best to spend the extra dollar to avoid headaches from bad behavior of the tools and expensive service repair bills.

    By the way, just went outside to check on something. The moon is hazy and the air smells like smoke, all due to forest fire 1,000 miles away. Amazing.

    Like

    1. Kris: Thanks a bunch for the tip on the premixed fuel. There is a Stihl outlet here in town, which is where I bought mine. They did not mention any premixed fuel when I purchased the tool. They just threw in a pack of the little bottles of oil to mix with the gas. I’m a little doubtful they have it, but I’ll ask. I hope.

      Take care with your Canadian air, and I’m soooo thankful I have no need of a snowblower. I’ve never lived in snow in my life, except briefly in an Air Force tech school in Illinois. Didn’t like it even a little bit.

      Like

  6. If I want my potted geraniums, gardenias, and hibiscus to bloom I need to water daily when the temps go over 80 degrees. The UV light is 30% stronger in the mountains.

    Like

Comments are closed.