Little comas

THE HUMAN body does strange things.

For instance, we spend a third of our lives in a coma, a state of suspended animation. We have a soft place to lie down for this, and we put on comfy clothing, or we just strip naked.

I refer to our need for sleep, of course.

I sleep like the proverbial log, normally. It helps to not have something worrying you. Have you noticed that worries magnify magnificently at night? A trifling concern in daytime becomes a monster worry after the lights go out.

And then when you wake in the morning, that same worry shrinks to its proper proportion, easily resolved.

My child bride worries about everything, so she doesn’t sleep as soundly as I do. She has a mob of relatives, all of whom have big-time issues, being Mexican and all, and she worries about every one of those relatives, nonstop.

I don’t worry about her relatives at all, and I only have two on my side. My daughter who lives in a field of clover, and my nutty sister whom I have not heard from in three years.

You’d think I might worry about that latter, but I do not. Quite the contrary. It gives me peace of mind.

Unlike lots of aging men, I don’t get up repeatedly at night to take a whiz. Just once, usually. Sometimes not even that. My svelte body  works well — he said, as he knocks on wood, the desk I had made by carpenters years back.

This happened just once last night, about 4 a.m. Waking up at night here is interesting. There are sounds. Last night, I heard a burro bray and there were the unsettled chickens that overnight in the neighbors’ apple tree.

croissantIt’s also said we require less sleep as we age. I haven’t found that to be true. I get a good seven or eight hours as always.

Maybe my nights pass smoothly because I have a beautiful babe next to me, even if she is fretting over relatives.

Our comas end with bagels and Philadelphia cream cheese or, on special occasions, croissants and orange marmalade.

It’s a great way to return from the world of the comatose.

7 thoughts on “Little comas”

  1. You are a fortunate man in many respects.

    I am not a good sleeper unless heavily sedated, and even then sometimes not. I can GO to sleep, just can’t STAY asleep. Either way I hardly ever miss a sunrise — thin eyelids like Hemingway.

    Like

  2. That no-worry part is important. The mezza-noche whiz has its upsides with the nighttime sounds; and sometimes sights even though it’s dim under the street lights. Some find the tranquility in a field of clover, some in other places. Whatever works! Que tengas una buena noche.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It doesn’t happen often, but what goes on under the street lights late at night – well let me just say it’s entertaining. Whiz done and back to bed. Whiz win. I like that .

        Liked by 1 person

  3. No worries is certainly important though other things can certainly factor in, especially as we age. Tinnitus in one ear is one for me, as well as general muscle/joint aches. I’m not going to risk any surgery for the former and I try to limit medicines for the latter. Natural remedies such as wine have varying results. 😉

    Like

    1. Scott: Natural remedies like wine indeed. Alas, that is not an option for me. Dodging surgery if possible is smart, I think.

      I take no regular meds whatsoever. Zip. I don’t know what’s going on with me, but I hope it holds out for a good time longer.

      It’s probably the child bride.

      Like

Comments are closed.