One great day

view
This morning’s scene from my rocker.

HERE I SIT on a rocker. It’s around 10 a.m., and I’ve already watered the veranda potted plants and the hanging ones too. I’ve cleaned the glass-top table on the Jesus Patio, and I’ve changed the yucky birdbath water.

At 11 we’ll be having second breakfast — either oatmeal or cereal — and then I’ll don old pants, take off my socks, slip my tootsies into ancient Crocs and circle the yard perimeter with my new Stihl weedeater.

When that’s done, I’ll shower and dress myself up. Later, I’ll make lunch, which will be fish burgers, wild rice, sauteed veggies and lentil soup from a can. I’m no elitist.

After lunch, we usually watch a show on Netflix before heading downtown. My child bride to her sister to gossip and me to a sidewalk table with café and my Kindle. I’m currently reading a bio of Ronald Reagan by H.W. Brands.

Tonight will find us in our soft chairs watching two more shows on Netflix while supping on big salads that I create myself. We don’t have real jobs, of course.

This routine is so grueling that we felt we deserved a vacation, so next week we’ll be heading to Colima and Comala for a few days. I’ve never been there. I want to see the volcano.

Now, on to politics: The California Democrat primary takes place Tuesday, and Bernie might beat Hillary, which would be an hilarity. And then the Brexit vote comes on the 23rd, and I’m rooting for a British departure.

It’s a lovely day, but it will rain later.

Thanks for stopping by.

14 thoughts on “One great day”

  1. Drive past Comala to la Yerbabuena, higher up the volcano. Then keep going up the road until it dead ends at an agricultural operation of some sort. Nice views on the way. The temp will be cooler. The volcano may put on a show for you.

    Like

    1. Clete: Thanks. I made a note of that. Higher altitudes are always good because they leave heat behind. As for a volcano show, I’m a bit ambivalent about that. Volcanoes make me nervous, even more so after I saw a documentary a year or so back on what happened at Pompeii. Those things can blow fast, and it can get ugly. I would not live in that area of Colima completely for that reason. Living in Puebla, a place I really like, would be off-limits for me also, due to Popo.

      Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: Just found your comment resting quietly in the spam pile. I resurrected it. Don’t know why it was there. Maybe because you used the word estivate which nobody in the world knows.

      But I looked it up and, no, I did not estivate there last year or any year for that matter.

      Like

  2. I liked Colima city. We were there for a few days in January, 199?. It was hot.
    There are some nifty museums of pre-Hispanic pottery and the like. Nothing gastronomic stands out in my memory, other than a somewhat incongruous Oaxacan (!) restaurant called Ah Que Nanishe. We had little or no experience with Oaxacan cuisine at that time, but we enjoyed Ah Que Nanishe. http://tinyurl.com/hq8m3e9

    We’ll be spending a few days in Guadalajara later this month, celebrating our 48th wedding anniversary. We have never spent any time in GDL, just passing through the exurbs and a night or two in Tonalá, if that counts.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Don Cuevas: Thanks for the restaurant tip. Might give it a go. Off to Guadalajara, eh? I’m always surprised at myself because I too have spent virtually no time in Guadalajara. Couple of overnights while going to and from the airport 16 years ago, and that’s it. Haven’t set foot there since. Keep meaning to.

      Congrats on sticking it out for 48 years. I never managed to do that, and never will unless they keep me on a respirator at the Mummy Museum in Guanajuato.

      Like

        1. Don Cuevas: Well, congrats to her. I’m sure it’s required incredible patience on her end. Huge, epic, well, you know …

          The Hotel Morales looks like a great place. I’d never heard of it. We’ll be at the Wydham on the periférico of Colima.

          http://goo.gl/wYOZNy

          Like

Comments are closed.