Living easy

DSCF1487

LET’S LOOK at how, with a little luck and a bit of forethought, you can leave your old life behind and start anew.

Pay off those bills, chuck those worries, say adiós to the folks who are always annoying you, pack your bags, get on a plane and fly over the southern border.

You know you want to.

Here are some photos that illustrate what you can do with effort and a little cash, less than you might think.

First, there are flowers. The top photo was taken in our yard a couple of years ago. The rains are just getting started, and soon we´ll have this view again. The golden datura outside the bedroom window sent sweet smells to us just last night.

Only lunatics want to live on a Mexican beach because it’s often hot and buggy, a situation somewhat like those folks who always annoyed you. But the beach is great for a visit.

And then you head back to the cool mountains.

DSCF1370

This photo was taken a few years ago. That’s my child bride in a  pool in Zihuatanejo, just a 3.5-hour drive down an autopista from the Hacienda.

This is living easy, and you can do it too. I know you want to.

Pack your bags and wave adiós.

Do it before you die.

25 thoughts on “Living easy”

  1. Think about it. Do you really want all of us living cheek by jowl with you in Mexico. I think you are just recreating the problem you left behind.

    Like

    1. Señor Gill: I’m just messing with your minds. I know that nobody’s gonna take my sage advice. If they started to, I’d contribute to a wall to keep the Gringos out!

      Like

    1. Señor Cotton: It was a wall you easily scaled along with scads of other mentally challenged Gringos and Canucks. I’ve got a theory that the beaches appeal almost entirely to aging drunks who want to live in tank tops, shorts and flip-flops the rest of their lives.

      But you’re no drunk, an inexplicable anomaly.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tank tops, shorts, flip-flops, topless beaches, and tequila. Sounds like a great week-long vacation, but not year-long when the mosquitos, and moscas invade.

    Like

      1. I’ll take the shorts and flip-flops. I’ll leave the tank tops to the Canadians and the booze to the boozers.

        Like

          1. Yep, the Perla Tapatia. But I get tired of the chilly or sometimes cold weather in the winter and would much rather be at the beach during the winter months at least. Your experience at the beach, if my assumption is correct, is mostly Zihuatanejo. The Jalisco coast is a bit cooler than Guerrero. IMO if people think it is too hot on the Costalegre in the winter then they suffer from hypersensitivity to warm weather. Days of 27` and nights that can reach 16` are pretty much ideal and you can find that weather more than half the year at the beach in Jalisco or Nayarit.

            Like

            1. Clete: Yes, we go to Zihua almost exclusively even though we briefly visited Manzanillo recently during the Colima jaunt. We never do the beach in winter for the simple reason that hotel prices are far higher. Due to that habit, my take on the beaches is that they always are sweltering. I’ve also been — years ago — to La Manzanilla and to Guayabitos where my wife’s family has property downtown that has been taken over by squatters. It’s running through the legal system. I didn’t care for Guayabitos much. Canadians are fond of it.

              Like

  3. I escaped the heat of a Florida beach to move to Mexico. I have found my Shangri-La.

    Probably the biggest reason most people don’t retire in Mexico is that they don’t want to leave their kids and grandkids behind.

    The other reason they don’t leave is fear of the unknown. They don’t want the hassle of learning another language. They don’t want to leave all of their stuff behind. They are stuck in the mud of American exceptionalism.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All true, Andrés. As for not leaving their children behind, I bet most of the offspring would like to see the old coots move away. The exception would be that they’d lose free babysitting.

      Like

  4. Oh, how I envy those datura blossoms. My datura was so happy when we had drenching rains and rain-cooled air in April and May. It thought it was in Hawaii. I think it has sprouted a seed pod but I’m not sure.

    Like

    1. Carole: Datura is exceptionally easy to grow. For a cutting, just whack off a big piece from another plant — the wood is very soft — stick it in some water till some roots appear, and plant it in the ground. Ka-boom! Off it goes.

      It makes exceptionally beautiful flowers. But after about two days, they wither and fall to the ground in droves, making a big mess to pick up.

      Like

  5. Life is less stressful down here, and I love to visit the beach especially when you can get up early ( around 7 ) have a cafecito on the beach, no one else is around, the birds, the tropical vegetation , the waves crashing on the beach, etc. But then around 10 you are forced to go into an ac’ed room until the sun goes down. But a lot of people love to be in that sweat environment, so who am I to talk?

    I love my mountains, especially since in 3.5 hours we can enjoy the beach without having to suffer the rest of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tancho: We are of one mind on this, of course. And the proximity of the beach makes it ideal where we live. We can get there quickly, enjoy what there is to enjoy, and then we can beat feet back here to Heaven.

      Like

  6. I went to school in Houston and managed to adapt to the climate there, which is remarkably similar to that of a Mexican beach. But after 20 years in Boston, I’m now a little heat-phobic.

    Here in Mexico City, the climate couldn’t be any more perfect, seldom below 50°F and seldom above 85°. Mostly it’s in the mid 60’s to mid 70’s. And we’ve even been having clean air lately.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    CDMX, México
    Where we do have a bit of a mosquito problem, though.

    Like

    1. Kim: The climate where you are is pretty much the same as the climate where I am, which is to say quite fine.

      As for the mosquitoes, have you tried those little Raid things that you plug into a wall outlet? They work great.

      Like

      1. I have not tried the little Raid things, though I did put screen on the windows. I’m a little uncomfortable about living in a poison mist.

        By the way, how can Mexico City be a similar climate if you’re always talking about “freezing your ass off?” It’s got to be warmer here, at least in the winter.

        Like

        1. Kim: Here and there are almost the same altitude. And I’ve been about equally freezing my ass off in both places. I would think, however, that it tends to be a bit warmer in Mexico City due to the gadzillion people and the endless tons of concrete.

          I too had qualms about the little Raid things, but they work great, and I have not died yet. Anyway, we all know that corporations would not do anything bad just to make a buck.

          Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been driving to Houston every weekend of late, which gives me lots of time to daydream about leaving and heading for your mountain. I should arrange an exploratory visit, so as to set things in motion. Escape. It’s a constant drumbeat in my head.

    Like

    1. Peter: I know those flowers are hallucinogenic. They are also poisonous, so you’re taking a risk using them. If you touch the flowers and then rub your eyes you risk having your eyes dilated for about three days too. Not comfy, I hear.

      Nonetheless, your description was very, very good.

      Like

Comments are closed.