Oh, the suffering

wall
Ivy on the Alamo Wall is returning.

TODAY DAWNED marvelously and not for the first time.

It stormed and rained for most of yesterday, but this day has a different character, a smiley one.

I read a news story this morning about the poverty income level in the United States and, yet again, noticed that our income only slightly betters that number.

It is laughable.

I also scan news stories occasionally that report the necessary income to retire in the United States, always an incredible amount but likely realistic for up there.

If only more folks had the nerve to get out of Dodge.

cigar
A bumper crop of red-hot pokers.

The top photo shows the Alamo Wall and its condition today. I had Abel the Deadpan Yardman trim back the ivy some months ago and, like most Mexicans, he got carried away.

Extremism’s in the Latino blood.

My fault really since I know of this local trait. I told him to trim it, and then I vanished inside the house. Big mistake. When I went back outside, the wall was almost bald.

But it’s a renewable resource, requiring patience.

The second photo displays one of our red-hot poker plants. It’s called cigarro in Spanish. It’s going bonkers this summer.

plant
Veranda

We’ll be doing lunch today at a restaurant on the shore of a nearby lake, not our local lake but another, nicer one a few miles distant.

This life of poverty can grow on you.

Oh, the misery!

35 thoughts on “Oh, the suffering”

  1. I recall fondly the days of poverty I endured in Mexico. I averaged about $700 per month and lived a princely life. Of course, coffee being my only addiction helps with the overhead.

    Like

    1. Eric: I just went back to the website, and the story is gone now. But it was just a mention of the official poverty line in the U.S., nothing more. And that figure can be found easily online. I think it was about $22,500 annually.

      Like

  2. So tempting, but such a crap shoot for a single viejita and possible future needs for family. I’m so on the fence. If Trump wins, that will push me off the fence and over “the wall” ( I know your views, so don’t go there).

    Like

    1. Angeline: San Miguel has your name on it. Lots of single viejitas there, tons, and plenty of helping hands as a result.

      So you’ll join the long line over the border when Trump wins? That’s funny. Better get your bags packed! The train is just around the bend.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. If nothing else, I suspect a Trump victory will cause currency traders to panic (at least for a while) and sell the peso vigorously. It could be a great opportunity to scoop up pesos on the cheap. If it happens, that is.

      Like

  3. One day (in a few years) I hope to be able to leave Dodge for another life. Poor breathing would prevent me from living up as high an altitude as many of you do. And I don’t want to live on a coast either because of heat and humidity. Forty years in the South is about enough for me.

    For now, web exploring will have to suffice. So far, it has led me to some nice folk such as yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Scott: One hears about the effects of altitude and breathing. I never felt a single thing, not for a moment, and I’d lived at near sea level all my life.

      Fifty-three years in the South was more than enough for me.

      As for being nice folk, same to you, señor.

      Like

  4. I thank you for the suffering you endure to pave the way for NOBs adventurous enough to escape. A monk perhaps, in a commune of your own design, with a population of one.

    We didn’t find altitude bothered us there, but we had experienced living at the same elevation here. The things that affected us were the smoke from burning fields, neighbors’ burning garbage, even though there’s free pickup, and the dust. Besides that, as you’ve said, life there is easy, if you’ve got the temperament for it. So many folks can’t leave old habits behind, and go on the hustle, trying to make money.

    Like

    1. Kris: Altitude is supposed to have its effect, and I imagine it does with some people. However, I rarely see any complaints about it on internet forums related to Mexico living, and I have almost never heard anyone complain about it in person. In short, I think it’s overblown quite a bit.

      As for the burning fields, that’s only in the spring. Same goes for the dust, which would not have a chance here in the rainy season. Springtime is not the time to visit hereabouts if you have a choice. Other stuff like burning garbage probably is becoming less and less common. I used to burn dead leaves, but I rarely do anymore, even though I like the way it smells.

      As for leaving old habits behind, most people find that very difficult to do, especially as they age. I did it at 55. Would I do it now if I had not done it before? Likely not.

      Like

    2. Come to Mexico City. There’s neither burning fields, nor burning garbage. Of course we have our own air issues, but they are mostly limited to the spring.

      Like

          1. Kim: You are quite mistaken. Mexico City is where we go to air out the apartment, tidy up, dust, pay a few bills that cannot be paid online and generally to protect our investment that grows in value daily. The craziness is in Mexico City, not on our mountaintop. And noise blares everywhere in this nutty nation.

            Like

  5. I would like to say Obama drove me south. He didn’t. It is just a coincidence that I left Oregon when he entered the White House. But it is a good story that never fails to build up a head of steam amongst some people. I am simply happy to live out my new life motto: Yo soy sólo un pobre pensionista tratando de hacer su camino en este mundo cada vez más complejo.

    Like

    1. Okay, señor Presumido, we just habla el inglés hereabouts.

      As for being chased out of the United States by the Obama presidency, it makes far more sense than skedaddling due to The Donald.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Granted, my life here is a lot lower-end than in Boston (no cars, small apartment, no health insurance payments (gasp!)), but I am living here remarkably cheaply. And in la provincia, I’ve got to imagine that it’s MUCH cheaper. You live a pretty amazing lifestyle given that you claim to be just slightly over the US poverty line.

    Here you’re in tall cotton.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    CDMX, México
    Where we think it’s likely to get even cheaper post-election, at least for those with USD resources.

    Like

        1. Me? Chortle at San Miguel?
          I’m just of the opinion that most of the gringos here are in a bubble. SMA is probably bubble central, with Ajijic hot on its heels.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I actually lived in SMA for a bit and spent the great majority of my days in the company of Spanish speaking persons on most days…

            Like

            1. Mark: You were not a typical SMA type, of course. And you weren’t there very long either.

              Rumor has it that there are indeed actual Mexicans living in San Miguel. I’ve visited often, however, and have yet to see one. Maybe on the outskirts.

              Like

  7. I live in avocado country forty minutes down the autopista from Felipe, 2000 feet lower in elevation in a city of 300,000 where English is seldom spoken. I have COPD and it is easier to breathe here and prices are lower.

    Compared to Florida it is much cooler here but not near as cold as Felipe’s mountaintop. It is much cheaper to live here than in Florida. I consider myself an economic refugee.

    Like

Comments are closed.