The demon urge

BACK IN JULY, I posted Geezer Dreams in which I spoke of my desire to buy a new car and/or a motorcycle.

I need neither, but dreams are not made of needs but of desires. Putting aside the car idea was fairly easy. The motorcycle, well, that’s another matter altogether. It still haunts me.

Just this morning (!), I had deleted saved internet links of various motorcycles, and I’d swapped my internet screen saver from a bike to a Mexican flag, my old screen saver.

Just hours later, I saw the above video on the blog Surviving Yucatan, and it’s got me all roiled up again. Dang! Those old Chinese buzzards make me look like a babe in diapers.

Like a freaking pantywaist.

29 thoughts on “The demon urge”

  1. Check some statistics, my friend (Learned from my recent history as a driving instructor). In automobile crashes causing death, drivers under the age of 25 comprise about 35%. In the case of motorcycles, the figures are the same, but for drivers over 55.

    Amongst the reasons, besides those caused by the other driver, are slower reflexes, reduced strength, and the frequency of stroke and heart attack when you crash. If you want the wind in your hair, etc., buy a convertible.

    Do us a favor and keep writing.

    Like

    1. Kris: It is just those sorts of notions that have kept me foot-dragging, so to speak. A convertible would be sweet. In the mid-1970s, I had a VW Beetle convertible. It was soooo much fun. Left it with my first wife when we parted company. Alas, she rapidly ran it into the ground. I still grow weepy thinking about it.

      Like

  2. You will never know if you can still handle a bike until you try. Try to find a dealer with a rental program and give a whirl for a couple of weeks. I think it would be great for you and the wife to just jump on a bike and take off! Nice counterpoint to your everyday routine. Go for it.

    Like

    1. Dan: Oh, I can still drive a bike. I have no doubt even though I’ve not done it in over 20 years. It’s like riding a bicycle. You don’t forget.

      Though the video of the old Oriental guys was interesting, even inspiring, there is one yuge difference between me and them, and it’s not so much that they’re about a decade older than I am.

      They were just counting their days, treading water, bored, idle, waiting for the Grim Reaper. They had nothing to lose. I, on the other hand, am in the best epoch of my life. I’ve never had it so good. I’ve never felt so good. Why risk that? And there is a risk that one must balance against the gain. Much as it would be nice to think otherwise, the age does matter for the reasons Kris mentioned in an earlier comment.

      I can’t help but think of fellow blogger Steve Cotton who ran a zip line about five or six years ago, in his early 60s if my memory serves. He landed badly and broke his ankle, and it still gives him trouble today.

      A few months ago, my wife and I were in a national park, and there was a zip line. Thirty years ago, I would have not hesitated. It’s about the only Tom-fool thing I haven’t done. But I did not do it. I thought: Is it worth 60 seconds of thrill to perhaps break my ankle or worse when life is going so freaking good? Nah. I didn’t do it.

      So, I doubt I’ll do this either. Maybe I’ll hire a guy with a blowtorch to remove the roof of the Honda. Voilá! A convertible.

      Like

    2. Dan: I misspoke. Far fewer than 20-plus years have passed since my last bike-riding. Right after I got married this last time, about 13 years ago, I bought a little Jap 150 here. We only kept it about six months, and for the life of me I cannot remember why I sold it. It was fun.

      Like

      1. Well thought out. Going for one last ride is fine, probably no risk. Taking up biking is another thing altogether. If you aren’t concerned whether you live or die, Mexico is a good place to ride a bike. The typical Mexican driver has no license or insurance, and no clue as to right-of-way or consideration for other drivers. I had a friend who passed on hills and around corners. When I told him it distressed me, he said if it was his time to go, it was his time. He did, however, not drive like that with me in the car though, because he respected my concerns.

        Like

        1. Kris: The lunatic driving style of the locals is a large matter of concern. Also, the fact that it rains here EVERY DAY for five months is a discouraging factor. If I lived in Arizona, I think I would likely have a bike.

          Like

  3. My advice FWIW is to get a scooter. Like an Italika 150. I have had one for 8 years here. You wouldn’t believe the freedom in the open air. The ease in traffic. Yes, there are dangers, but there are trade-offs. Do it before it’s too late.

    Like

    1. Carlos: I’ve considered that. I’m quite tall, and scooters don’t fit me too well, usually. I was looking at some of Italika’s motorcycles last week after I reduced my expectations. I learned that Italika, which I’d never heard of before moving to Mexico, is the best-selling bike in Mexico. It’s made in Mexico, its primary market, but it’s also sold in a few other Latino nations. They don’t seem to make anything larger than a 250-cc motor even though some of the bikes are physically quite large.

      By the way, your comment went to moderation because there was a typo in your email address, so WordPress did not recognize you.

      Like

  4. My son just gave his touring bike away. I forget what kind it was but I am thankful that he had his motorcycle spree and became bored with it. It was a heavy one. He laid it over a couple of times and people had to help him set it back up!

    Like

    1. Carole: He gave it away? My, that was generous. My motorcycle “spree” lasted almost 30 years. It was quite a spree. I only seriously fell down once. I was rounding a corner on a Harley, and I hit an oil patch on the road surface. Dropped like a ton of sand. Luckily, I was going quite slow. No harm done. Well, to me at least.

      That I only dropped a bike once was a miracle considering the amount of time I drove drunk.

      Like

  5. I don’t ride as much as I used to. Last year I rode from Vancouver to Mazatlan and back. The ride down was the best ever, all secondary roads, the ride back, along the Oregon coast, the worst, 85-mile-an-hour winds, rain from Northern California all the way home. Bike went down twice. It is the big Harley touring bike, so, close to 1,000 lbs. I survived. This year, I will ship the bike to Tucson, and ride it in from there. I have put thousands of miles on a bike, there is really nothing like it, but, like they say, “know your limits, play within it.” I would never try to convince anyone to buy a bike. It is a lifestyle like no other. Back roads are the best. I too saw the Old Japanese bike video, and I understand.

    Like

  6. But “Demon Urge”. Maybe we should keep this post and the comments close by for when the urge reappears? Hits me about April each year.

    Like

    1. Ray: Well, that is certainly succinct.

      I was in a department store, of all places, in the state capital today, and I saw something I’d never seen before, a Benelli 300. I really liked it. Sleuthing reveals Benelli only started selling bikes in Mexico last year.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Blast from the past:

    I bought this Honda 150 after returning to New Orleans from Puerto Rico in the mid-1970s. It was purely for transportation. I did not have a car. And it was during the gas crisis when filling stations had lines around the block.

    Like

Comments are closed.