Mountain autumn

far

SAY WHAT you will about spring. Fall is the best time. Of course, this depends on where you are.

If you live somewhere with sweltering summers, then spring is just an introduction to suffering. Autumn would be the door to pain closing behind you. Time to rejoice.

Most of my life was spent in zones with sweltering summers, so I’m an autumnal man. Falling leaves and shades of brown put a lively spring to my faltering steps.

If you can vision such a thing.

Eating a bagel this morning, I looked out the huge window to the right and noticed falling, yellow leaves from the peach tree. Ah, I thought, the feel and look of fall.

It’s cool out too.

Winter here is not too bad if you don’t mind coats and scarves inside the house in the morning, and I don’t mind.

new-image

Here I am drinking hot coffee on a winter morning years ago. My child bride knitted that wool scarf for me.

Another sweet aspect to fall here is that it stops raining. November is our best month. It’s not raining, and everything is still green, not the dusty brown of springtime.

November also brings the Day of the Dead.

But we’re not in November yet. It’s something I look forward to and, in the meantime, I eat my bagels, look out the window and smile at the leaves falling from the peach tree.

As I type this, there is lively music from the neighborhood plaza. It’s been going full-tilt boogy since dawn. I have no clue what we’re celebrating. Perhaps the falling leaves.

More likely some long-gone saint.

* * * *

(Note: That top photo was a zoom test on my new camera. I was a long way off. That arch and the carport roof are inside the Hacienda walls, and I was half a block away.)

12 thoughts on “Mountain autumn”

  1. As I sit here reading your post the A/C is running. Good Old Houston weather. I so love colder weather but somehow seem to think it has to be coming here soon. I enjoy all the photographs and think of what life must be like in a faraway country

    Like

  2. Pat: All those years I spent in Houston and New Orleans, sweating my butt off, I dreamed of one day living in a different sort of world, weather-wise. And now I do, and I declare it wonderful.

    As for living in a faraway country, those countries come in different flavors. Canada is a faraway country, but Mexico — even though it’s closer to Houston — is a realllllly faraway country.

    And life here is good. I recommend it. Highly.

    Like

  3. You actually are fortunate in that you didn’t have to sever deep emotional ties to people in your home country. I couldn’t leave here any more except for short vacays. I live 100 miles in two different directions from kids and grandkids and it’s too far to answer many urgent requests for overnighters for babysitting. We turned loose of our Canada summer place last year. It sold in a flash because of the sweet setting on a lake. We miss it terribly but turning loose was a good thing to get closer to family mostly full time.

    Like

    1. Carole: In this you are correct. I wish my family ties above the border were better than they are, but they are not. Some elements of life don’t turn out as one would wish.

      I don’t even have grandchildren. Never will either.

      Like

  4. We’ve had a couple of mornings in the lower 60’s here in Dixie. The days are still in the mid-80’s (still too hot for me). We are in the midst of a severe drought — looks like the Fall colors will go straight to brown.

    Distance photography is interesting. The photographer that shot my son’s wedding pictures would line everyone up, then take the photo from 40-50 yards away. They were incredibly sharp.

    Like

    1. Ray: Mid-80s is too hot for me too, and we don’t often get that high here. As for droughts, we don’t suffer them either because it’s hard to get dry when it rains every single solitary day for five months. I wonder why it does that here and not where you are.

      By the way, it’s Way Down South in Dixie in the U.S., but in Mexico, we call your area Way Up North in Dixie. How about that?

      Like

  5. I haven’t enjoyed winter in Canada since I quit skiing, but I enjoy the rest of the seasons. Living in Puerto Escondido had its moments, but after 3 years we couldn’t take it anymore and moved to your area. We suffered a little with the cold nights and eventually the smoke from various sources became too much and we came back to Canada. Escape for Jan.-March keeps it bearable.
    Too much heat and too many tourists are a bad combination when you choose a place to live.

    Like

    1. Kris: I question the sanity of anyone who would voluntarily live on a sweltering Mexican coast. As for life here on the mountaintop, the only smoke I notice is the occasional burning of farm fields in spring. Never has bothered me. As for our cold nights, that’s why the Goddess invented blankets, closed windows and sweaters.

      Like

      1. We had quilts and a dog for the nights, and used one of those portable electric/propane heaters for about half an hour in the morning. After that, it warmed up pretty quickly.

        Get yourself ready for the influx of New-age Hippies for Day of the Dead.

        Like

  6. Looking at that photograph, for a moment I thought you had converted to being an Hasidic member of Fatah. Now, that would be fusion in action. But I know you would only claim one of the two — and I would call you a wise man for it.

    Like

Comments are closed.