Man who eats weeds

eater
Felipe strikes a pose.

IT APPEARS our rainy season is winding down. Perhaps it’s even ended though that is unlikely.

But the grass continues to grow.

While Abel the Deadpan Neighbor mows the lawn, I keep weedeater duties in my own hands because whenever I turn over weedeating to a local, the tool is abused.

In a post last May titled Busy, busy boy, I mentioned my travails with weedeaters, which are generally cussed machines. I had gone through a couple of brands till I got a Stihl.

It’s a German make, and I call it a Nazi machine. So far, I’m pretty happy with it, the happiest I’ve ever been with a weedeater. It starts quite easily, and it keeps going.

A weedeater that does that is above average.

After weedeating Wednesday, I called my child bride out of her pastry kitchen nearby and had her snap this photo. That’s La Señora Bones and her dead kid behind me.

I’m the live one in the grass-green shirt.

16 thoughts on “Man who eats weeds”

    1. Señor Calypso: Who you calling old man? I recall you’re right on my tail, so to speak. Yeah, this is a good weedeater as weedeaters go. Generally, they irritate me no end.

      I think your comment went to moderation because it appears you have a new email address. That will do it. I didn’t do it.

      Like

      1. Leaf blowers are far worse than weed eaters. THey make a helluva racket and push leaf debris and dust from one place to another.

        Our landlord neighbor and family call weedeaters “huiters.” I love that, especially since he huits* our vast acreage and I don’t have to do it.

        *The real local Spanish word for weed eating the yard is the verb, “chaponear”. I love that, too.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

        1. Don Cuevas: These are two distinct issues. Sure, the leaf blowers make more racket and, as you note, don’t do anything more than push leaves from Point A to Point B. I wonder how difficult they are to start and keep running, however. I’ve never used one. It’s the starting and running that makes weedeaters such a pain in the kazoo.

          For those who live above the Rio Bravo, yes, all line trimmers here are called “huiters,” no matter the brand. That’s the bastardized Spanish pronunciation of the word weedeaters.

          Chaponear is new to me. I’ll stick with weedeater, which I pronounce correctly, and the locals understand.

          Like

  1. La Señora Bones looks very content, she must be happy that the rainy season is over. Sadly, here in Mexico North it is just beginning

    Like

    1. Karlos: La Señora Bones welcomes the end of rain because the rain mildews her and, like all women, she cares deeply about her appearance.

      I wrote this post yesterday around noon. Later in the afternoon, it rained like you wouldn’t believe, so the rainy season still has some time left. Not much, I wager. This morning it’s clear and blue and deliciously cool.

      Like

  2. Stihl makes great chainsaws as well, just in case you decide to really make some noise on the mountaintop. Love the art. The Day of the Dead approaches, my friend.

    Like

    1. Ray: I’ve never used a chainsaw in my life and never will. They scare the bejezus out of me. And yes, the Day of the Dead will be upon us soon. Come on down. It’s interesting. Bring the redhead.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.