Laughable laureates

barry
Peace
bob
Literature

YOU’VE LIKELY heard about this already and laughed out loud, but I can’t let it pass without mention.

Whatever prestige a Nobel Prize once bestowed, and it was considerable, began to crumble when the committee handed Weepy Barry Obama the Peace Prize 15 minutes after his inauguration.

And now this: The prize for literature goes to — harmonica riff, please — Bob Dylan.

Both the Obama  prize and this one are yet more examples of the rot of Western Civilization that was born in the hippie era of the 1960s and continues today.

And I’m not the only one to see this. Scottish novelist Irvine Welsh, author of Trainspotting, said:

“I’m a Dylan fan, but this is an ill-conceived nostalgia award wrenched from the rancid prostates of senile, gibbering hippies.”

That observation alone deserves a Nobel Prize.

11 thoughts on “Laughable laureates”

  1. If you read the lyrics of his songs, you will find some deep and interesting social commentary. Just because the poetry and prose was set to music doesn’t reduce the effect that his work had, and continues to have on influencing how people think about each other. He has made a lot of statements in his lifetime, most of which sound a whole lot more intelligent than Donnie.

    Like

    1. Oh, Kris. Oh, Kris, are you a senile gibbering hippie? I pray not. Even when I was young, and Dylan was young too, and famous, and so many people were swooning over his “deep” compositions, I was thinking how sophomoric they were. I still think that.

      In brief, we’ll have to agree to disagree on this one.

      Like

      1. I never thought of Bob as a Nobel Prize winner, and I don’t know what consideration they use in the process of deciding who to nominate. The rationale that they stated when announcing the award said it was for literary contributions that he has made over the years. It’s the Nobel Prize for literature for God’s sake, not mapping the human genome.
        If I had heard he was nominated but didn’t win, I wouldn’t be disappointed, but he won, so I’m pleased.
        Some of his lyrics are deep and open to interpretation. Try reading some of them. I never swooned over them, and never thought of him as much of a singer, but I have to admire anyone who can play a guitar and a harmonica at the same time.
        I hereby allow you to have your own opinion on anything, but keep in mind that anytime I disagree, I am right.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I like Dylan too. But a Nobel Prize? Ah…no, he’s not that profound. There are other musicians that are as good or better.

    Like

    1. Judy: I like some of his tunes too. Back in the 1960s and ’70s, however, Dylan always gave me the mental image of people sitting in coffeehouses puffing on maryjane (and I have nothing against maryjane) and saying stuff like, you know, far out, and all dat stuff.

      Like

    1. Carole: You got that right. The Nobel Committee shot itself in the foot with that Obama silliness. Bob Dylan should come as no surprise. I hear Mickey Mouse is warming up in the bullpen.

      Like

  3. “Music begins to atrophy when it gets too far from dance. Poetry begins to atrophy when it gets too far from music.”

    Ezra Pound

    Like

  4. Dylan re-invents himself periodically just for kicks. I suspect he got a good laugh at this, as he did when all those people in the ’60s thought he was some kind of political leader.

    Like

    1. Ray: Well, I sure got a laugh out of this, a laugh of derision. He’s been re-invented as a Nobel laureate, and it wasn’t even him who did it. It was done by senile, gibbering hippies.

      Like

Comments are closed.