Down the mountain

cafe
Are we in Paris?

WE DRIVE down the mountain every week to the state capital, mostly for shopping at Costco and Superama.

And to grab a lunch.

We rarely go directly into the center of town because traffic is snarly, and free parking is hard to find.

Yesterday, while my child bride was doing chores, I drove downtown for a look-see. That array of sidewalk tables sits across from a music conservatory called Las Rosas.

The Roses.

When I lived in the capital for seven months in 2000, I occasionally ate here. At the time there was only one establishment on this end, and another on the far end.

Those in the middle were not there.

cops
Cops, cops, cops.

Mexicans are fond of protesting in the streets and highways. More often than not, it’s teachers who want guaranteed jobs and the right to bequeath those jobs to unqualified relatives at retirement. Teachers also loath competence tests.

To counter these malcontents, police often take to the streets en masse. That’s what you see in the second photo. They were just standing there in body armor and shields.

I saw no impending strife nearby, so …

Being a cop must be very boring at times.

church
Scads of churches.

Sidewalk restaurants, cops and churches. The state capital is full of churches. That’s one just above. I snapped the photo while sitting on a bench in a plaza of yet another church directly behind me. Churches galore.

We sit at sidewalk eateries. We want guaranteed jobs. And we kneel and pray everywhere. All of those things happen in quantity down the mountain in the state capital.

It’s only 40 minutes away.

Thirty minutes if you really haul butt.

15 thoughts on “Down the mountain”

    1. Señor Cotton: So, one out of three. It’s a good place to visit, but I’m not sure I would want to live there. It is, however, a far more appealing place than it was 17 years ago. While still living in Texas, and just before heading south, I read a description of the city as being like the American Midwest, and it was not intended as a compliment. The city has improved a million times over since then. I like it. Still a hassle to go directly downtown, unfortunately. Wasn’t too bad yesterday.

      Like

        1. Don Cuevas: Yep, don’t know what the cop situation was about. There where I took the photo was just one spot where there were mobs of cops. There were a number of others.

          Like

  1. I can tell that the outside tables are not in Paris, simply because in Paris you would not be able to see past a few of the tables because of all the cigarette smoke emanating from all the tables. Not sure when Europeans are going to get with the nonsmoking program. I am pretty sure that the frogs are going to keep puffing away just for spite.

    In all our years here, I would guess that we have only been to the centro area of Morelia no more than a dozen times. Between the traffic and the lack of easy parking, we frequent as many stores and shops as we can on the periphery.

    The wife likes Liverpool and with Bed, Bath and Beyond now open, that’s about all she needs, while I wait patently in the car reading my Kindle.

    Like

      1. I really enjoying walking around centro. But I am not certain my idea of buying an old stone home there and refurbishing it would have turned out to be the dream I had supposed.

        The big shopping center on the hill is first class. I wish I had a Best Buy nearby.

        Like

        1. Paseo Altozano shopping center (up on the hill) should provide shuttle transportation for the lame and the aged. It’s just too big for my taste.

          And try finding a restroom when you need one. Last time, I walked a few blocks distance, and the cinema let me use their restroom.

          DC

          Like

          1. Don Cuevas: It is not only very big, you will freeze your tail off there in winter. Bathrooms? Sears on one end has it. Liverpool on the other. Starbucks in the middle. As you note, the movie theater. Just have to be alert.

            Like

            1. And don’t forget that Sanborns has the cleanest bathrooms of all. There are public bathrooms located throughout the mall, but they’re not real obvious. There is one directly across from the capilla. I bet you didn’t know that there was a chapel located in the mall.

              Like

  2. Morelia is the best place to live, genuinely a Goldilocks kind of town. And if you’re lucky enough (and smart enough) to live in one of the south side colonias, or even Tenencia Santa Maria, it’s even better. Where I live, you can go from a village-like atmosphere where everyone knows your name to Paseo Altozano and Costco in minutes. Going to Centro is reserved for special occasions, so I don’t go there that often. When the Perfect Doberman Morgenstern was young, we used to go to Centro every Sunday morning for the ciclovia, and it’s a different Centro than you’ll see the rest of the week. Living in Centro would be just too confining.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: I’ll give you one thing: The city has improved a thousand percent since I briefly lived there. I would even consider moving back, but that ain’t gonna happen. Too dug in here on the mountaintop.

      And you do live in the best part of town. Pure luck on your part.

      Like

Comments are closed.