The capital city

BEING A VERY part-time resident of Mexico City, this video snatched my interest.

A recent international study claims the Mexican capital has the worst traffic in the world. I believe it. For years, when we visited from the mountaintop, I drove.

But not anymore. Now it’s 100%  public transportation.

The video, however, has nothing to do with traffic jams. It’s an artist’s take on his monster city.

We’ve been visiting our condo there regularly since 2007 when the last tenants departed, and we’ll be going again next month for a week or so. Send prayers.

14 thoughts on “The capital city”

  1. Beautiful city! I hope they solve their water, pollution and sewage problems soon. We need to return, so that we can visit the museums again.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Beautiful city? Parts are. Other parts are butt-ugly.

      As for solving their water, pollution and sewage problems soon, that ain’t gonna happen. The city does manage to keep its head above water, so to speak, more often than not. It copes. Put a gadzillion Latinos in one spot, and you’ve got a problem that will go on forever. Sad but true.

      Like

  2. My son is in our capital city (national.) . Attending a group meeting of cyber security brainiacs and I can’t wait to debrief him when he gets back.

    Like

  3. Great video! Thanks for posting. I spent a lot of time in Mexico City when I was growing up; the last summer I was there was in 1968. I can only imagine how it is now.

    Like

    1. Angeline: The Tlatelolco massacre of students in Mexico City took place in October of 1968. I imagine you were elsewhere.

      The city has changed quite a bit in the last half century. More people for one. You should visit again.

      Like

      1. I had been working for the Olympic Cultural Committee that summer, and had left to go back home to finish up my last year of university in September. I do need to go back. Have a bit of family there and a good friend.

        Like

    1. Don Cuevas: I saw that a few days back when it first came out. Someone else pointed me to it. I got lots of chuckles reading the piece and its endless citing of climate change as the cause. That’s leftist hooey. The real reason the city is sinking and leaning is because it’s built on an ancient lake bed plus that the colonial buildings downtown that the Spaniards constructed sit on inadequate foundations, sometimes no true foundations at all. It ain’t rocket science, and it ain’t global warming.

      Speaking of which, I am also still chuckling over the much-ballyhooed news story of a couple of years back when a research ship headed to the Antarctic to study “global warming.” The ship got trapped by ice, and the crew and scientists had to be rescued by helicopter. Needless to say, they discovered far more freezing than warming. It was irony up to the ship’s gunwales.

      Like

      1. No amount of good foundations are going to save you if the ground recedes 200 feet. Mexico City’s water problem isn’t global warming, though. It’s massive mismanagement. It’s pumping all of the rainfall out of the city while sucking the aquifer dry. Those are the problems. If they simply billed people enough to support the water system, encouraged conservation, and made even the most minor attempt to collect the plentiful rainwater, there’d be no problem.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        Redding, CA
        Where, interestingly enough, we just posted a blog entry on the very subject of water.

        Like

  4. The video was interesting. I find Mexico City endlessly fascinating. And I have no trouble believing that it has the worst traffic in the world. Sure, Boston can compete in spots, but for sheer acreage of traffic jams, Mexico City has probably all of them beat.

    That’s the best reason to live close to where you want to hang out, because getting from point A to point B can be painful.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Redding, CA
    Where more than a couple dozen cars on a road constitute a “traffic jam.”

    Like

      1. That’s the same reason I pay up to live in an interesting part of town. I just don’t want the hassle of getting there by any way other than foot.

        Like

Comments are closed.