Man versus beasts

Photo shot April 12, 2017. Almost high noon.

IT’S SPRINGTIME, and the two banes of my life are muscling up in the yard, threats sans mercy. Monster thorns.

On the left is what I imagine is the world’s biggest nopal tree. Perhaps I should notify Guinness. On the right is the bougainvillea that, of the four in the yard, I let fly out of control.*

It’s hardly the biggest in the world, however. Bigger ones abound in my town. They never, ever stop growing.

I inserted myself into the photo to provide perspective. I planted both the beasts when they were tiny tykes.

Click on the photo for a closer look. Yes, the grass is mostly brown due to our being in the dry season. All is dark and dusty. The sky is not dark. It’s blue and beautiful.

The house is off to the left. The pastry kitchen and Nissan carport are off to the right. The sex motel is behind that wall. It’s what appears to be a white stripe. Actually, it’s yellow.

* * * *

* The other three I keep firmly under my green thumb.

14 thoughts on “Man versus beasts”

    1. Mike: I suppose that, based on pure appearance, one could say that. But, boy, it’s a big bother. I’d prefer something different, but those things have grown too huge to bring them down easily.

      So I just stand back, watch and wonder.

      Like

  1. Gorgeous bougainvillea!! I keep watering with hopes of keeping everything alive around here. The aljibes are really low on water now and will probably have to order a couple of pipas before the rainy season … dang … was hoping to get through the dry season without doing that.

    Like

    1. Peggy: I never water that bougainvillea. Never. And look at it. I do water the nopal because I don’t want it to fall down. It’s a soft wood, and I’m ever wondering how long it will keep itself up.

      We have no water problem in my neighborhood. A good thing. Before I connected to the municipal water system, we relied entirely on tanker deliveries (pipas to those up north). That went on for about eight years.

      Like

      1. I don’t even have a bougainvillea … but do know they really like it hot and dry. We only get water several hours a day, so the need of aljibes is a must for me. But we haven’t received any water for a couple of days so the aljibes are way down. Didn’t notice until this morning. Hope the incoming pipes aren’t broken somewhere up the line … always something, whether good or bad, it’s something.

        Like

        1. Peggy: If you’re short on water, a bougainvillea is perfect for you. As I said, I never water mine. Never, never, never. Of course, the rainy season waters it. I wish it wouldn’t.

          But a bougainvillea that’s not controlled will fly out of control in a heartbeat.

          Like

  2. Took a close look at the nopal “tree” … definitely would NOT want to be the poor bugger you hire, with a 16″ chainsaw, standing neath the overhang, hacking at the trunk .., technicolour visions of a Wiley Coyote-type FAIL bounced across my imagination! LOL! Keep watering that puppy, mi amigo!

    Like

    1. Dan: It is a nasty piece of work indeed. I have no intention of doing anything to it until it falls one day. Maybe it will, maybe it won’t. Fall, that is. If it’s collapsed onto the ground, it will be easier to deal with. A chainsaw is not necessary. That thing is soft wood, and can be cut easily with sturdy clippers. Until then, I do water it regularly. I want to keep it happy. Problem is that when it’s happy, it keeps on growing. And growing. And growing.

      Like

    1. Angeline: Since the beginning, I’ve tried to keep it growing upward and not outward, so I’ve trimmed it horizontally but not vertically, which was impossible after a point. And now I still trim it horizontally, but I can only reach so far, which is why it starts outward just about where the top of my head is.

      Like

Comments improve karma.

