A waning day

YOU MAY have noticed that there is a new banner photo at the top of The Moon. Here’s the entire shot.

Again.

For a few years there was part of a typewriter up there. I thought it appropriate, but I wearied of it.

Typewriters were my weapon during 30 years in the newspaper business. I started in 1969 with a black-iron Remington, or maybe it was a Royal. Then there were IBM Selectrics and, later, computer keyboards came along.

The new photo is mine. I shot it a few months ago in the late afternoon as sun was setting downtown.

I was standing on the main plaza. Our mountaintop town is a nice place to live, and it’s a far spell from Houston.

But Houston likely has more Mexicans.

27 thoughts on “A waning day”

  1. I do enjoy the humor hidden between the lines. Living in Houston I think you’re correct.

    On a lighter scale, my newspaper days were at a small-town newspaper and a high-school job in display advertising.

    Like

    1. Pat: We have about 80,000 Mexicans here. Surely, Houston surpassed that long ago. There were likely more than 80,000 when I left lo these many years ago.

      Like

  2. Casa Leal is a tempting place to stay. It’s pricey and has only stairs to get to the top floor. No elevadora. We prefer ground level accommodations away from street noise. But we’ve eaten at their restaurant which doesn’t seem to be busy any time of day. I have wondered how it retains its looks on what appears to be not much revenue. We’ve walked up the hill to a taco place inside a doorway with no sign and it opens when they feel like opening evenings. But worth the wait. Good food.

    Your nice banner pic appears to be an embiggened one of the one on this column today.

    Like

    1. Carole: Read the first paragraph again. The banner is indeed an embiggened version, though of a smaller area, of the photo in the text.

      That hotel is fairly new, about a year or so. The restaurant below is owned by the same folks who own the wildly popular restaurant La Surtidora on the opposite side of the plaza. The menus are similar but not identical. You are correct that the restaurant connected to the hotel rarely seems to have customers. I don’t know why. It’s pretty good grub, and you don’t have to fight the mob scene of La Surtidora. It’s called La Compañia, or something like that, and it’s been there for ages, unlike the hotel.

      As for that taco joint, I don’t know to what you refer. If it’s open only in the evenings, that would explain it because we’re at home in the evenings about 99.99 percent of the time.

      Like

    1. Angeline: Yes, it’s primarily the light that makes that photo. I lucked up.

      Those words up there have nothing to do with the pastry shop. And you inspired me to do what I should already have done: Look up the definition of plegaria, a word I did not know. The first definition is prayer, so I’m thinking it means the corner (rincón) of prayer. I’ve never seen anyone praying there, so I’m not sure what that’s all about.

      As for the pastry shop, I often buy a chocolate muffin there (3.5 pesos!) to accompany my hot café on the plaza.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was lazy and let you look up that word for me, I’m not familiar with it either. Any word with rincón I associate with a bar or cafe/restaurant. Panaderías are a favorite place for me when I’m anywhere in Mexico. Cuernos and conchas for the win.

        Like

      1. A slight typo changed the whole meaning. “Look up the definition of pelegaria, a word I did not know.” It went from a prayer to a fight.

        Like

        1. Ahhhhhh, Señor Gill, I had not noticed that typo of mine till you mentioned it. I have corrected it in my original comment. However, there is no such word as pelegaria. My Spanish-English dictionary does not have it, and my wife does not recognize it. I think I invented that word on the spot. Pelear, of course, means to fight. That’s what you’re thinking of.

          Like

  3. Great photo, nice new banner for the blog page.

    We’ve tried La Compañia a couple of times, and each time we vow not to return. For some reason they just don’t seem to get their act together. Last visit, we ordered a couple of items from the menu and walked out after they told us they were out of both items. Go figure.

    Interesting how the newspaper business has changed in the last couple of decades. Facebook, the Hearst Publishing empire of this age, is a good comparison. Another reason I don’t like change.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Thanks on the photo.

      As for La Compañia, they can be dicey. After not eating there for years, literally, we ate there twice not too long ago. It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t particularly good either. At least they had what we ordered.

      As for change, I like it, sometimes. Depends.

      Like

  4. Enjoyed reading all of the comments. I am trying to learn some Spanish. I had not previously come across the word, plegarias. Also, had not yet learned rincon. So, this morning I am doubly blessed to have added two new words to my vocabulary. Well, that this if I can remember them!

    Like

      1. Felipe,

        The plan is to learn/memorize enough words and phrases to be minimally functional upon arrival south of the border. Then, the real learning begins. I’m sure I’ll never become fluent. However, I do want to be able to carry on some amount of conversation with my neighbors and friends in their native language.

        Time will tell if my plan is successful or not.

        Regards,
        Troy

        Like

        1. Troy: Learning to communicate yourself is one part, the relatively easy part. The hard part is understanding others. Some folks speak clearly, and they can be understood completely or almost. Others, less so. And some speak so badly and/or quickly that they’re virtually unintelligible.

          I’m referring to my own experience. But it is an interesting and challenging undertaking. I wish you well.

          Like

  5. Speaking of your newspaper days, I’ve been thinking it would be interesting if you wrote a piece about the influence of politics and/or the angle of what was written in your day. To me, the mainstream media these days seems to be more of a propaganda operation for the leftward-leaning status quo rather than any independent reporting of issues concerning the Republic.

    I’d be curious to know what your own experiences were, whether your papers had a distinct bias, and whether you think it’s much worse now.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Redding, CA
    Where one still reads too much news and suffers the consequences.

    Like

    1. Kim: It is immeasurably worse now. My newspaper career was spent mostly at the two New Orleans papers and, the final 15 years, at the Houston Chronicle. All were politically conservative. It used to amuse me when people remarked to me that we slanted the news. We did no such thing. Not once in the 30 years I did that job was I ever “encouraged” to put a spin on something. Never.

      We’re in a whole different universe now. The specifics of what happens in media outlets I do not know, of course, but the outcome is plain to see, isn’t it? Most news sources these days are flagrant mouthpieces for the Democrat Party or even worse.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. To your point of never slanting the news, do you think the people at NBC/ABC/CBS, etc., believe they are slanting the news? I’d bet they don’t think so. Instead it seems to be more a case of confirmation bias and group think.

        By the way, if you haven’t seen it, look up Dave Rubin’s interview of Tim Pool on YouTube. It includes a fantastic discussion of media bias and how it occurs.

        Like

          1. You’d think with all the fascination with “diversity,” that they’d focus on adding some conservative/Republican staff. But apparently a racially diverse group think is preferable.

            Like

            1. Kim: Surely, you know that the Stalinist left’s blabber about diversity is nothing more than that, blabber. Well, it applies to racial and gender diversity, but it surely does not apply to diversity of ideas, which is the most important diversity of all.

              Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.