Sidewalk shot

SITTING WITH my sister-in-law, who was in a grumpy mood, on Saturday, I pulled the little Fujifilm camera from my man bag, and shot this photo for the fun of it.

Later, I doctored the photo just a hair, also just for the fun of it, and this is what I ended up with.

I don’t have a job, so I gotta pass the time some sort of way. I don’t care for orphans or feed (other) old people, so I have a good bit of free time on my hands.

I sat there for a couple of hours with a café Americano negro and a pecan muffin I purchased on the corner. When I went home my sister-in-law was still frowning. She gets that way.

It doesn’t really affect me.

11 thoughts on “Sidewalk shot”

    1. Ricardo: I do feed old people. I feed myself. That must count for something.

      I used to feed quite a few old people. I was a Meals on Wheels driver in Houston for a lengthy spell. Even got nailed once by a guy who ran a red light while I was making a delivery. Crunched my pickup real good.

      Like

  1. Felipe,

    My mother was the Meals on Wheels coordinator for many years when she worked in the kitchen at the local hospital where I grew up in Indiana. She always was looking for drivers. Thank you for serving your community in this way.

    Regards,
    Troy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Troy: It was fun and interesting. I did it for about a year in the late 1990s. My favorite recipient was a black woman in a ghetto. She was 99 years old. Even when I was not on my Meals on Wheels run, I would often drop by her house, and we would sit on the front porch together. Very few people visited her. She had some interesting stories, even violent ones, from her past. She apparently was quite the firecracker in her youth. She turned 100 during my time with her and died not long after in a hospital. I have a photo of her sitting in my Ford pickup one day when I took her out to a restaurant. I posted that photo on my previous website years ago.

      For her 100th birthday, I posted a note with her address on the Houston Chronicle’s bulletin board, asking for birthday cards. Many people sent them and even included cash. After she died, they were found in her home, unopened.

      Like

  2. Once you start volunteering in a charitable effort like Meals on Wheels, how do you quit? Like your SIL there must be frownie faces looking at you. I can’t decide whether to volunteer at a hospice close to the house. I have read a lot on end-of-life prospects and think I could handle it but I’m not sure. Only way to find out is to do it.

    Like

    1. Carole: It’s been so long now, two decades, that I do not recall why I quit. I guess some things in one’s life simply run their courses. I too considered hospice volunteering. There was one very near where I lived in Houston. But I never did. A Ronald McDonald House. A friend of mine, an old girlfriend, volunteers there right now. It would not be for the faint of heart.

      Like

  3. And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three; but the greatest of these is charity.
    1 Corinthians 13:13

    Since moving to Mexico I have chosen to be charitable with my friends.

    When a stranger comes begging at my door I give them 10 or 20 pesos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Andrés: A good quantity to hand out, señor. If someone comes begging at our door, they invariably find it unopened because we don’t answer the door unless we are expecting someone. I hand out change downtown, however, almost exclusively to old women. Men are on their own.

      Like

  4. Your sister-in-law is beautiful even when she frowns. Great picture. Those Mexican chairs that everyone NOB seem to love I find uncomfortable and one even caused me to get some stitches. Those nails don’t always stay seated.

    Rounding out out two-week bus trip around the Yucatan. Just arrived from Chetumal to Playa del Carmen today. Talk about black & white. I quite enjoy the different flavours from colonial to fishing village to gringoland. Like most countries the stereotypes just don’t cut it. Mexico is a kaleidoscope of cultures and lifestyles. I love it, warts & all!

    Like

    1. Brent: I assume you’re referring to the young babe sitting at the adjoining table. That’s not my sister-in-law. I don’t know who she is. My sister-in-law, who is considerably older than the one in the photo, was sulking off-camera to the left. As for the chair, equipales they are called, I am in total agreement. They look nice, but usually they’re abysmal to sit in, and you’re right about the nails too.

      I’ve only been in the Yucatan once, primarily in Mérida about three years ago. It’s too hot for me, and I was there in January. Also too lacking in mountains. Enjoy what’s left of your trip. We are indeed a good nation to visit!

      Like

      1. Yes we loved Merida but at 40 degrees I was melting. I agree about the scenery in the Yucatan…not much. The west coast of Mexico is much more beautiful. We’re on the west coast of Canada though so no lack of mountains to look at there.

        Like

Comments improve karma.

