Time for lime

MAY IS THE warmest month of the year here, some might even call it hot, depending on where you’re standing.

In the evenings, upstairs at the Hacienda where, alas, live the Samsung Smart TV and the computers, it can get unpleasant in the late afternoon and early evening.

It’s even been known to chase us downstairs prematurely when we’re trying to relax with Netflix.

And, of course, we have no air-conditioning because 99 percent of the time, it’s not necessary.

Most of downstairs, however, never gets hot due to the high ceiling in the living room. In the bedroom, which has a somewhat lower ceiling, it gets a bit stuffy at times.

We have a ceiling fan in the bedroom, the sole ceiling fan at the Hacienda if you don’t count the fan in the ceiling of my child bride’s pastry kitchen, which stands apart.

May is our worst month. There is the “heat,” the dust, the dead grass in the  yard. May is just a period that one must endure  in order to enjoy the other 11 months.

One way we endure May is by making limeade.

The first limeades of 2017 were made this morning, a little tardy this year due to this May’s being somewhat less stuffy than the average. We’ve been lucking out.

That’s our limeade station in the photo. One nice limeade requires three limes, three tablespoons of barroom sweetener, water and ice. That’s it. Stir and serve.

Those limes are called lemons down here, limones. What the Gringos call lemons are rarely seen. The yellow things.

Doesn’t matter. Limes do the trick. Every May. Until it starts raining daily in early June.

Then you don’t hanker for limeade anymore.

34 thoughts on “Time for lime”

  1. I hate May! And dislike April and the first two weeks of June. I have a water-intensive garden, and I’m out there every day. I love my garden but so enjoy my vacation come mid-June. My computer and bedroom are upstairs and, needless to say, “hot.” My roads are dirt, dust! Plus the smoke of the field burning, life isn’t wonderful until the rains, but they make it all worth the bitching and angst.

    Like

    1. Peggy: I imagine it’s worse there than here because, as far as I know, you’re at a lower altitude, though likely not all that much lower.

      Yep, these are not the good times, and they come every year, and we must endure. Could be far worse, weather-wise. You could be living in New Orleans as I did for 18 sweaty years. Of course, there you’re surrounded by AC all the time, and the resultant sky-high electricity bills.

      Hang in there. Make some limeade.

      Like

      1. And I’m an Arizona gal! But it is a dry heat … hah! It is a hot heat! Been here 15 years now and still look forward to my “vacation” beginning with the rains. It is then I enjoy the fruits of my labors.

        Like

        1. Peggy: I’ve only been in Arizona once. Loved it. But don’t discount that dry heat/wet heat thing. It is not a myth. Arizona with its dry heat is surely hot, but if you want to suffer, go to New Orleans in August. It’s like living in a sauna. Hell on earth, almost literally.

          Like

  2. Is there low enough humidity in your area for a water evaporative cooler to work? I lived in Denver in the ’70s, and they cooled well.

    Like

    1. Carlos: To answer your question, I have no idea. The humidity here has never struck me as excessive at all. Of course, I’m used to New Orleans and Houston. But we have an oscillating fan that sits on the floor upstairs, and it usually makes the room acceptable enough in the evenings. The rest of the time, it’s not all that bad, worse for my wife than for me. And, as I mentioned, this is a relatively brief percentage of the year anyway.

      Like

  3. The minute I stepped out of the airport at CDMX to get into a taxi, the heat slapped me up one side of the face and down the other, just like IAH heat used to when I’d arrive from MLM. And it would only get worse once I arrived back in Morelia. I’m thinking that I should’ve never left Colombia, where it rained every day, or never left Morelia, because the transition from the cool altitudes to home has never been more arduous. Or else this year really is hotter than the last.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: So you’re back from Colombia. Safe and sound and intact. Qué bueno.

      Actually, from my way of thinking, so far this year it’s been less “hot” than most previous months of May. I’m not complaining.

      I put “hot” in quotes because to anyone who’s lived in New Orleans or even Houston, this local “hot” is laughably not.

      Now go make a nice limeade.

      Like

      1. One of the purposes of the trip to Colombia was to pick up a year’s supply of Lipton Yellow Label, which isn’t available in the US or Mexico. It’s a relatively inexpensive tea, but nothing tastes better.

        And I am grateful that Michoacan’s heat is not accompanied by humidity.

        Like

        1. Ms. Shoes: I had never heard of Lipton Yellow Label, so I looked it up online. Guess what? It’s available on eBay and Amazon, both the U.S. and Mexican versions. No need to visit Colombia.

          Like

          1. Tancho: Yep, I already pointed that out in an earlier comment. It’s also available on eBay. Both Amazons have it, U.S. and Mexican, although it’s very pricey on Mexico’s Amazon.

            Don’t know why this comment of yours went to moderation. We live in an imperfect world.

            Like

  4. Limeade sounds good. I usually make myself a large glass with ice, no sweetener for bedtime and through the night. One of our daytime drinks is the cucumber agua fresca, refreshing and very healthy. There’s always soda water which I go through liters of it a week.
    Heat? in the midst of all the trees and the added elevation, that has been the least of my problem.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Unsweetened limeade?! My mouth puckers at the very thought.

      If by soda water you mean soft drinks, I never touch them. Seems kind of pointless to not add sweetener to your limeade, and then gulp down gallons of soft drinks.

      As for trees and elevation … always good things.

      Like

      1. I think that Tancho is referring to agua mineral. Unsweetened carbonated water. I drink a lot of that also. Peñafiel brand. Costco has it in an 8 or 12 pack.

        Then there’s a “Ruso”, agua mineral with salt and possibly lime juice. That’s not for me.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

      2. Agua natural con gas solamente!

        I only squeeze one lime into the water. Drinking lemon or limes is very healthy! Nope, no sugar sodas for me. Unlike the normal locals who walk around all day carrying one of those 1.5-liter bottles. And they wonder why diabetes is rampant in Mexico.

        Like

    1. Señor Davies: Mexico City’s altitude is about the same as mine, but you have all those millions of people and seas of concrete which, I’m sure, raises the temperature. Enjoy your limeade.

      Like

  5. Señor Zapata, the setup looks to me like you’re 2/3rds of the way to a very acceptable margarita! A couple of gooduns, and pisssh! You really aren’t bothered about the heat! LOL!

    Like

  6. I did not realize that May was the hottest month down here. We booked our trip to the Yucatan thinking, well it’s after Semana Santa and school isn’t out yet so it should be relatively quiet. It was, but it was also very hot. You’re right about the humidity making a difference. In Merida it was 40 degrees with 30% humidity. Here on Isla it’s only 29 but much more humid and we’re sweating more. At least there’s an ocean to jump into and we have air cons at night, mainly to provide some white noise. We keep the temperature at 24-25. Heading back to Vancouver tomorrow and the best time of the year there. The rhododendrons will be in full bloom and the bulk of the tourists won’t have arrived yet … hopefully. Gotta love those Mexican limes. Stay cool, señor.

    Like

    1. Brent: Most people above the Rio Bravo think “Springtime! A great time to visit.” Actually, it’s the worst. Yes, May is the hottest month where I am, and apparently where you are too. I doubt it’s the hottest, however, in the deserts of northern Mexico. I cannot imagine they get daily rains all summer. Wouldn’t be a desert then, would it?

      For folks in the U.S. who read your comment, know that those temps are in Celsius because you’re a Canuck. While I have long since made the leap to meters and kilometers with little effort, I still cannot train my mind to equate temps in Celsius to actual mental recognition, i.e. connecting them to heat levels in my mind. For temps, I think I will ever be a Fahrenheit man.

      Bon voyage. Hope you had a nice Mexican vacation. Appears you did.

      Like

      1. We were trained in Farenheit, ounces and pounds, miles per hour, feet and inches as children. Then they pulled the rug out from under us when I was 11. They screwed up a whole generation. The thinking was that everyone was going metric, even the USA, but it never did. I’ve developed a feel for Celsius and kilometres per hour, but have no clue what I weigh or what it means!

        Incidentally, in the building trades we still use 2 by 4s and buy our plywood and gyprock in 4- by 8-foot sheets. Go figure.

        Like

        1. Brent: I imagine we’re not all that different in age. I remember those times, and the expectation that the U.S. would switch to metric. Of course, it never did. The U.S. marches to a different drummer.

          Like

  7. Felipe: We have the same weather conditions here in San Miguel. Today the temps are expected to rise to 93.

    We have a few redeeming features. Our one-story house sits atop a small hill (San Miguel itself is in a valley or a bowl), so it is fairly breezy. The guy who built us the house put a three- or four-inch layer of tezontle, a porous volcanic rock as an insulator before sealing the concrete slab on the roof with tiles. Excellent insulation, though it doesn’t help you any.

    Also we leave all the windows open until about nine to let some cool air blow into the house and then close everything including the blinds so the sun doesn’t beat down on us. At night we open the windows again. It works pretty well.

    Winters can be unpleasant because around January or February the place gets clammy and there’s no way of shaking that off.

    al

    Like

    1. Señor Lanier: Yep, that all sounds familiar. But I wouldn’t call January and February so much clammy here as just plain cold. At least in the mornings and evenings. The afternoons are fine.

      I am gobsmacked (one of my favorite words) to see another person (you) who understands suspensive hyphenation. Hardly anyone uses that correctly or even is aware of it. A Gold Star goes into your permanent record right now. These Gold Stars are not handed out casually.

      Like

  8. I use the Mexican version of ReaLemon called Mega Limón with a spoonful of Mascabado (brown/unrefined) sugar with water. It is very refreshing.

    I enjoy this time of year because I am no fan of the rainy season but I do take precautions and use a powerful fan when it gets uncomfortable and have placed reflective film on my west facing windows.

    Like

    1. Andrés: I haven’t seen ReaLemon since I moved to Mexico. I’ll keep an eye out for it. Looks like an easier way to make limeade. Or lemonade.

      I am a fan of the rainy season for no other reason than it cools things off significantly. Love that.

      Like

  9. Blimey! There’s no substitute for real Mexican limes, AKA Key Limes.

    Last week, I made a Key Lime Pie. The zesting, followed by the squeezing, seemed endless. But there was an end, and it was worth it. The pie didn’t survive long.

    Then I bought some very nice yellow lemons at Walmart, La Huerta, in “our capital city.” I made some lemon curd with some of them. Great, rich stuff. You can lay some on your scones as you wish. Mexican biscuits will do.

    With the “spent” hulls, I made some lemon syrup. Easy, but the recipe yielded less than expected. This morning I used some of the syrup in a piña colada agua fresca.

    http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2016/03/fresh-lemon-syrup-recipe.html

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

Comments improve karma.

